We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Royale Blue Mountains

Save Saved
You added Palais Royale Blue Mountains to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Katoomba
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel was amazing very grand, we had a deluxe king room which was lovely, very large room. We also tried out the steam room but unfortunatley the jacuzzi wasnt working. The staff are extremelly friendly always willing to help.
Its in a great location not far from the Blue Mountiansand other attractions. It was very chilly at night but there are blankets and heating in the room.
I would recommend this hotel and would love to go back there!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystalhardy, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying and reviewing our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Palais Royale Boutique Hotel in Katoomba. We are glad that you appreciated the front office staff. They pride themselves on going beyond expectations to make our guests and visitors feel welcome and comfortable.

I am sorry to hear that the spa was not turned on for you. If you stay with us again, which we hope you do, then please advise the reception staff of any issues and they will happily attend to the problem if they are able to.

Thank you again for your kind review, and we hope that you visit us again in the near future.

Warm Regards

Carl
Public Relations - Palais Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    44
    21
    17
    3
See reviews for
13
68
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

must have been a gem in its hey day .Why do developers / interior designers redecorate such places with cheap "copper art" colonial style light fittings , awful cheap and nasty artwork and the fake Victorian furniture to create a bogan suburban look. With a minimum of expense but a bit of imagination this place could look great . Price was Ok and staff were excellent .Breakfast very ordinary when again a bit of imagination could have made it a feature of the place ....still it was handy to the great cafes in the main street!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrystalhardy, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and also for your review. We appreciate your feedback as this is a vital way for us to improve our hotel. The hotel was purchased under new management in February, 2012, and we are currently celebrating our 100th year anniversary as a guesthouse. Our goal is to make this hotel exceptional for our guests, even if this may take some time.

The hotel was refurbished in 1997 by the previous owner, who was a private owner and not a developer. This was done according to her vision of what the hotel should look like, and was done to closely match the decor of the hotel in the past. Since the new management have taken over, there has been minimal altercations to the decor by the family who now own it. With further constructive criticism alike yours, we will be able to invest and improve our hotel.

It is my personal opinion that the hotel has quite a charming decor, and this is a view that is often commented on by our guests. We are sorry that you do not share that opinion, and appreciate your input.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our front office staff and that you thought that we were in a convinient location. We hope that you can come and stay with us soon again.

Kind Regards

Carl
Public Relations - Palais Royale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

On the positive side the Palais Royale is a lovely old building with a beautiful foyer and lounge area. It is staffed by friendly, helpful staff, the rates we had were reasonable and breakfasts were fresh, hot and tasty. But the room we had was tired, cold and draughty. It was a cold weekend (outside temps low single digits) and the only heating was an inefficient and noisy air conditioner. The bed and pillows were hard and there were not electric blankets. Bathroom toiletries (shampoo, soap) were absolutely minimal and not replenished on the second day. In summary, we had a nice weekend break, the Palais Royale was reasonable but minimalist and not outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the kind words and constructive criticism which helps us improve the hotel for our guests.

We hope that you visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Palais Royale does have a beautiful federation styled setting. Unfortunately, we weren't very comfortable at this hotel. It was very cold, our room was smaller than it had appeared in the advertisement, and I was unlucky enough to have an expensive item of clothing go missing from the wardrobe in my room. The item was eventually sent back to me- 2 months later after numerous phone calls and complaints. I wasn't too happy with the owners claim that they found it in the laundry. I also had to pay the collection postage at the post office. My advice if you are staying at this hotel is to keep a close eye on your belongings, and not settle for a cold or draughty room without a working airconditioner or heat blanket.

Room Tip: make sure you get an air con, or heat blanket. Don't stay for more than one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. As per you item of clothing, I cannot comment as I was not there at that time. I am sorry for this inconvenience and I can assure you that this has not happened in my time here. As for the cold room, we have recently had the air conditioning comprehensively serviced and they are very warm now, and much more efficient.

Thank you for your feedback, as it makes it possible for us to address issues that we may not be aware of in order for us to address.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Palais Royale building has a lot of charm. The staff were polite & helpful. Where this place lets itself down is with the lack of extra attention to comfort for the guest. Cheap toiletries, lack of electric blankets in a cold climate, a gap under the door (letting in a cold draught) are some of the issues. The addition of a antique looking or perhaps retro table & chairs and benches to the front entrance instead of the cheap dark green plastic chairs would make a huge improvement. The noisy air-conditioner does not help sleep either. On a positive note our view from our room was marvellous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs overlooking Echo Point.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for the constructive feedback. We really appreciate this, as it helps us identify what our guests like. As for the air conditioning issue, that has now been resolved. Earlier this year they had a major service and are now running smoothly and efficiently.

We hope that you visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, NSW
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Palais Royale is under new management and is now run by a lovely family. The hotelier showed us to our room with his little daughter following behind and peeking around corners at us :) We were a bit fussy and wanted an upstairs room and were accommodated with no fuss at all.
The bed and pillows were comfortable! Hooray! Though our room faced out onto the road it was very quiet. The room was not huge but did have a cute little table by the bay windows. It had a lovely ensuite and the finishings (cornices, tiles etc) were lovely. I complimented them to the owners who said the previous owner had spent years restoring the hotel to its former glory. He did everything himself and has done a fantastic job!

The dining room is impressive and the breakfast was wonderful!! So much to choose from! We had come down late for breakfast on our second night there but the hotelier himself cooked us a fresh breakfast so the chef could go home! Freshly cooked bacon, eggs, beans, anything we wanted! We were very well looked after :)

I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon NSW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Staff were friendly but rooms were smaller than the photos would have you believe, sauna did not work, air con was very noisy and dried the air so much we ended up with sore throats, mould around bath, bathroom electical socket loose in wall, several lightglobes around the hotel needed replacing, no electric blankets, lots of other minor complaints. I would not recommend this hotel and we will certainly not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the stay. Since your review, the major issues in your review have been addressed. The air conditioning had a major treatment recently after your review, and the rooms are now in good condition when it comes to hygiene and safety. We appreciate your feedback, as things like electric blankets would be a great thing for us to have.

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palais Royale Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Royale Blue Mountains

Address: 230 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palais Royale Blue Mountains 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Palais Royale Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Royale Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Palais Royale Blue Mountains Katoomba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Royale Blue Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.