We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Royale Blue Mountains

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Royale Blue Mountains to your Saves list
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Wimbledon NSW
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Staff were friendly but rooms were smaller than the photos would have you believe, sauna did not work, air con was very noisy and dried the air so much we ended up with sore throats, mould around bath, bathroom electical socket loose in wall, several lightglobes around the hotel needed replacing, no electric blankets, lots of other minor complaints. I would not recommend this hotel and we will certainly not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the stay. Since your review, the major issues in your review have been addressed. The air conditioning had a major treatment recently after your review, and the rooms are now in good condition when it comes to hygiene and safety. We appreciate your feedback, as things like electric blankets would be a great thing for us to have.

Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    85
    56
    27
    7
See reviews for
35
133
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dapto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend with friends at the Palais Royale. The rooms where large and comfortable. The breakfast was very nice and enjoyable. The manager was very friendly and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you visit again soon.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

After reading several reviews we were concerned about booking to stay here but there was absolutely nothing to be concerned about. This is a great hotel. Wonderful art deco charm. Great lounge areas. Very clean and cosy rooms. Staff were very accommodating. There is a spa and sauna. Made for a wonderful weekend away. You can easily walk into the main street of katoomba and even to the carrington.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you visit us again soon.

Thank you for the kind review.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

New management but they need to learn a few things.
The room was nice but for almost $300 for a suite it was very dissapointing;
- The toiletries were in plastic satchets- cheap dingy motel style
- no heating in the bathroom
- no cappucino machine in the restaurant
- the fridge only had milk satchets (no fresh milk for instant coffee). No minibar
- breakfast was included but terrible. Bain Marie.We went elswehere for breakfast.
- fake gas fireplaces
- Television in the room was an old style portable tv and no foxtel
- the room was cold. We were told not to have the heating above 24 degrees as it blows cold air!
I can go on and on.
Its a pity as this place has so much potential. Over priced for what it was.

Room Tip: Go the cheapest room- the most expensive was dissapointing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We value your feedback in order for us to make the necessary changes to improve our guests experience.

In accordance with feedback like yours we have since had new LED flatscreen televisions installed, and we have had a major service on the entire air conditioning system so it is now functioning as it should.

It is our goal to provide accommodation that is flawless, and feedback like this allows for us to improve. Thank you, and we hope that you stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed over last weekend. We were very impressed with this hotel. Staff are very friendly and the interior is beautifully decorated. Our room was very spacious, clean and has all the essential amenities. The spa and sauna facilities were in good condition and working. Location is central. Breakfast was very good with good selection of hot and cold dishes. We checked out the ballroom...very grand, excellent venue for a wedding or function. Overall very impressed with this hotel and enjoyed our stay. Will choose to stay here again!

Room Tip: Our room was in the corner facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review. It is very pleasing to hear that you were happy with our hotel and services.

We hope you visit again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambewarra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed at The Royale with friends this weekend (26/27 May). The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Chrystal is what every hotel needs at front of house; friendly,efficient and with good local knowledge.Her suggestions for dining in Katoomba and activities were excellent. (Papadinnos is great value, great food and the owner is a classic). The other staff from the manager down also made our stay enjoyable. I am fussy but found the buffet breakfast very good with a wide range of fruit and cereals and plenty of very good hot food. The whole experience, including socialising with a drink in the common rooms, beats an upmarket motel any day. Pillows were a bit skinny in our room but not in our friends room. No other negatives

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope that you will return for a visit again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I nearly didn't book this place because of mixed reviews, then I looked at the most recent ones - new management is making a big difference. I arrived on a wet Sunday evening to a warm and professional greeting from the new owner. Hotel was quiet during off-season and he upgraded my room without me asking from single to double at no charge. Service generally was very good and quietly friendly.

Decor needs updating, but it was perfectly comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was more than adequate - hot food good and plenty available.

Not a luxurious place but it has an old fashioned charm and would highly recommend for a decent and good value place to stay in Katoomba.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rana C, Public Relations Manager at Palais Royale Blue Mountains, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay. The new management is focused on improving the hotel from its old standard. We genuinely appreciate your feedback.

We hope that you visit again soon.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
5.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.5 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Royale Blue Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Royale Blue Mountains

Address: 230 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palais Royale Blue Mountains 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a charming Heritage hotel in the main street of Katoomba, so leave your car and walk to dozens of restaurants and attractions. Make sure to visit us in a few weeks as our new lounge café will be opening! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Palais Royale Blue Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Royale Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Palais Royale Blue Mountains Katoomba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Royale Blue Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.