We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jeff in Katoomba” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katoomba Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Katoomba Manor to your Saves list
Katoomba Manor
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   219 - 223 Great Western Highway | Reception and Parking entrance 1 Bowling Green Avenue, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mooloolaba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jeff in Katoomba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I had a great time staying with John and Sipha. They couldn't have been more helpful providing information about the surrounding area weather it be sightseeing or which restaurant to eat at. The room was very clean and very warm, the breakfast was great as well as the other little snacks they provided. Thank you John and Sipha, I am sure I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katoombamanor139, Owner at Katoomba Manor, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thanks Jeff for such a fantastic review, It was our pleasure to have such a happy camper , You must come back and tell us of your adventures in China, be it in a years time!. Good luck and god bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
67
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The website promises so much. However, the house is not a manor. It is a house and the owners use it as their house. They live in it and will want to share your holiday with you. You can not come and go without their constant interference. We wanted to be left alone with each other. Not be entertainment for the owners. Perhaps they should have paid us...

The rooms are tiny. So is the residential house that the manor really is. We paid the same as one of the expensive resorts only to have no where else to go but our room to avoid the owners. There is an entertainment room but you can hear the highway. They had to come in to talk three times while watching a movie. It was dirty when we used it. The parking is difficult. No fridge in the room.

DO NOT BE TRICKED INTO THINKING THAT THE MANOR IS SOMETHING MORE THAN IT IS AND DON'T PAY ONLINE WITHOUT SEEING THE TINY HOUSE FIRST!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katoombamanor139, Owner at Katoomba Manor, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Unhappy by name Unhappy by nature! What did we do to deserve the "Very Old Rhodesians from Hell"( sorry to our many friends from the now Zimbabwe).These guests initially refused to sign the Guest register and gave a false address.
We do take exception to most of what they have written and have requested trip advisor to remove their comments.
We only advertise Katoomba Manor as a Boutique Guest house and we offer only four beautiful suites to guests, we specialize in providing an exceptional stay in luxury surroundings to a maximum of eight guests. Our aim is to make your stay as enjoyable and memorable as possible as possible.
It is customary at the very best 5 star establishments and as we do here to show guests to their suites and explain the room and the guest house facilities, this is done for very good reasons, so they are aware of the facilities and are able to operate them i.e. Where is my bath robe? woollen blankets?,hair dryer, Iron and ironing board, how do I receive internet? how do I access the in- house movies? adjust the underfloor heating, what time is breakfast? where do I put my wine? How can I get wine glasses and ice? can I have tea and coffee? where are the restaurants? Can you recommend any?. If these guests weren't so rude in check-in they may have learnt a great deal.
Sorry we don't have a room bar fridge, again had you listened you would know we have three fridges available 24/7 to store wine beer and perishables. ice buckets, ice ,Crystal wine glasses are available from reception any time .And yes we do live on site as does the owners and managers of 99% of hotels ,guest houses, and bed and breakfasts in the Blue mountains.
Statement of fact, our rooms are impeccable, there is no better property in regards to Quality of furnishing, linen, cleanliness maintenance or service!.
Value for money? beautiful clean and very comfortable new rooms, lovely bathrooms and amenities, free gourmet breakfasts made to order in our lovely dining room, free in- house movies, free use of home cinema ,free Wi-Fi, free quality teas and coffees available anytime, free cakes or pastries, free fruit ,complimentary spring water, reasonably priced wines and cheese platters. Please you be the Judge
I only ask why did you not ask for your money back? you obviously needed it more than us ,just lucky for us you stayed in your room for 18 hours and didn't bother the other guests.
to all other viewers please look at all the other reviews, and hopefully we will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

John and Sipha were wonderful and friendly hosts. The breakfast was a delight, and they gave very helpful tips on which cafes to visit and when to avoid the crowds. Felt just like staying at your own place. Thanks John and Sipha!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katoombamanor139, Owner at Katoomba Manor, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks guys for wonderful review , Andy and Shirley are beautiful couple their parents would be proud of, please come again anytime, when is the next bank holiday? Cheers John and Sipha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I took a drive up to Blue Mountain during our visit to Sydney, and we are really glad that we found this lovely B&B. The hosts, John and Sipha were wonderful and warm and helped us in planning what we can do around Blue Mountain. We were greeted with Hot Chocolate and Coffe, and some tea time snacks once we reached.
As there were 8 of us, we took up the whole place. All 4 bedrooms had different decor, but were all equally comfortable and really pretty. They even had a USB full of movies which was connected to the TV! Bathrooms were stocked with really nice smelling toiletries. We really loved the mini theatre which John and Sipha had stocked with movies for guests to enjoy.
Breakfast that was served the next morning, which was cooked and prepared by both John and Sipha was delicious!
It was a pity that we only had 1 night there as we really loved the place. Would definitely stay here again if we have another chance to visit Blue Mountain again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katoombamanor139, Owner at Katoomba Manor, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi Wen Ya and Gang! Wonderful Singaporian Group who didn't have enough time to see all of Katoomba and the Blue Mountains has to offer, need to come back and see the rest! tell your friends and thanks for the perfect review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Every detail has been thought out, leaving guests with a relaxing and highly enjoyable stay. The rooms are stylish, comfortable and warm. Hosts John and Sipha are caring and hospitable - complimentary fruit, tea and cake add an extra touch to the stay. We loved the home theatre with 3D projector and theatre seats. We came for an anniversary weekend and could have easily stayed for the whole week!

It's also great to see an establishment that is conscious of its carbon footprint - the building has been well-equipped with solar panels and insulation.

We will be recommending Katoomba Manor to friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katoombamanor139, Owner at Katoomba Manor, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Romantique, Romantique, Romantique couple ,Viva La France!, Emma to make the beautiful and stunning bride when she gets her rrr,s right kep trying!. Axeil will all ways be remembered for his great taste in French restaurants like the La Plastic Cup in Leura. Thanks Guys for staying and sensational review!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannum
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I have just spent two nights in Katoomba with hosts
John and Sipha. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a b&b that has raised the bar! Attention to detail in all aspects, bedrooms are a touch of luxury - very clean and comfortable. Lovely to come into such a warm and welcoming environment whilst so chilly outside. Breakfast was excellent! Would love to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katoombamanor139, Owner at Katoomba Manor, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Stunning Review must be a great place! Sean we have a New Coach! We have a New Coach! We have a New Coach! Aussie, Aussie, Aussie Oi, Oi ,Oi !!!,Fiona as fans we will always be looking for you on the big screen at every marathon. Run hard the first 5-7 K,then settle into your normal stride the big stars wont try to chase you down until the end of the race and when the do Remember they will be coming from a long way back! , tack on the back, they wont like that, at first sign of slowing take the lead again ,they wont chase again!. Don't forget lactic acid build up, talk to sports medicine to get your drinks right. On the podium reasons for win are sound advice and altitude training at Katoomba Manor! Kids 2,4,6,8? Go Mum!, Go Mum! Go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at Katoomba Manor over 3 nights. My only complaint is that it was not a long enough stay. The John and Sipha are great hosts, cooks and conversationalists. Nothing is better than waking up in the morning knowing that breakfast is just seconds away.
The room was as beautiful as the photos on the website, dressed with clean linens, the bathroom was stocked a huge variety of necessities and a TV with all the latest movies loaded up onto a USB drive. (You can even bring your own movies on a HDD!).
There is a home cinema with seating for 9 that we had all to ourselves mid week. The place always smelled of fresh baked cookies (love).

It is within walking distance to the main strip in Katoomba and the train station. John and Sipha are very familiar with the surrounds and were able to give us many different suggestions for activities and dinner.
It really felt like home, and we cant wait to return. All we have to do is decide which room to stay in next!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katoombamanor139, Owner at Katoomba Manor, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Wow! fantastic response from astute and beautiful couple, Please come again soon , Henry white water rafting and Kayak slalom just half an hour away! don't forget cable sking! and rock climbing. Goldie please tell those fun loving girls from work Panthers is just down the road and they don't have to go home!Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
1.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
1.5 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katoomba Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katoomba Manor

Address: 219 - 223 Great Western Highway | Reception and Parking entrance 1 Bowling Green Avenue, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Katoomba Manor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katoomba Manor is the Blue Mountain's newest accommodation. This luxurious boutique guesthouse is just 500 m from Katoomba Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Katoomba Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katoomba Manor Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katoomba Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.