We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful new space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mountains Cultural Centre

Blue Mountains Cultural Centre
30 Parke Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
(02) 4780 5410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 22 things to do in Katoomba
Attraction details
Shellharbour, Australia
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful new space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely use of this space above the Coles supermarket!

A really lively gallery that needs a little work on the acoustics (understand it is currently being planned for retrofitting).

The library is a very popular spot. Great look and great views.

The function area is a real untapped gem. What a lively spot for a party!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    25
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I love this , it cost me $10 to see both exhibitions . The Blue mountains word heritage exhibition I found great . The only problem I had with it was there where no seats and I just wanted to sit and enjoy the show on the walls, but had to leave because my feet didn't want to stand any more. The staff where great with lots of information . next time I'm in Katoomba I will be going back.
The culture centre has very fast Wi-Fi that's free.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great views - Gallery, library and local exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

You find this place in the small lane at the rear entrance of Coles. It's an elegant modern building with a fantastic library - comfortable reading nooks, still holding a decent collection of books, unlike many libraries now, a good local aboriginal collection and a stunning rear viewing platform. The gallery costs about $5 to go into. They have changing exhibitions - a contemporary video art one from Sydney when I was there which they weren't really well set up for as the spaces weren't dark enough. Still, a brave and interesting choice for a regional town. The other show was from local artists and I thought it was excellent. Varied, with a sense of confidence and humour. The volunteer was interested and keen to share what he knew and thought. Coffee shop good, book and ppostcards really well priced. The best part of the complex was a seminar room showing fantastic home films, I guess standard 8 (?) from the 1930's to 1950's I think. Silent footage of holidays to the mountains. They were brilliant and really gave you a sense of what this place has meant to visitors over the past 100 years. Inside the cultural centre there are large projections of all the natural phenomena and there are a series of recorded interviews with local people. I found the most interesting were those by local aboriginal people. There is also a great place near here called 'The Gulley' if you are interested in this history. Ask the people here how to get there - it's an abandoned race track that was originally an aboriginal community. I spent the whole day at the Cultural Centre.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“save some time to wander around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Informative and interesting too, if you have the time to spare use it to find about the history of the Blue Mountains, I bought various books with different "facts" and "myths" whichever you believe, it's a worthwhile place to go to.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place is very new, we found it very difficult to access, the current exgibition is superb. The cafe was worth a visit. The shop leaves a lot to be desired as there were no local art for sale.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BMCulturalCentre, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mountains Cultural Centre, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We're glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Cultural Centre and the exhibition that was on at the time. As for the shop, we're sorry to hear that the range was not to your liking, however there actually is a range of local artist's works available in the form of ceramics, glass and porcelain as well as other products. If by lack of local artwork you mean 'hanging' traditional artwork, it is the size of the shop that precludes us from presenting these style of works for sale and there are plenty of commerical Galleries in the mountains to purchase these products.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Mountains Cultural Centre also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Blue Mountains Cultural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mountains Cultural Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.