We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pins on Lurline

Pins on Lurline
132 Lurline Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
0247822281
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 74 restaurants in Katoomba
Price range: $28 - $42
Cuisines: Italian, Japanese, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Circa 1898 weatherboard building surrounded by native gardens, walking distance to the scenic three sisters look-out
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

With our favourite restaurant in the mountains closing last year we were searching for a new place to eat on our weekend away. After reading so many positive reviews we decided to give Pins a try. We were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the menu extensive, food was great, good service, good value for money and BYO as well. What more could you want! We went on a Sat night and the restaurant was full but we did not have to wait very long for our meals. We are looking forward to going back on our next visit and would highly recommend Pins.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    121
    51
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“East meets West, casual meets professional.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed a warm atmosphere, friendly and professional service and good value at Pins. The menu is quirky and extensive and our meals were delicious. Pins has got a perfect balance of casual dining and an elegant, professional style, matched by a balance of Asian and Western flavours.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narara
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly, good service, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Couldn't fault anything from the time we walked through the door til the time we left. Plenty to choose from the menu and specials board. Dinner Tuesday to Sunday. Good idea to make a reservation. They also have a take away menu. Plenty of parking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food - book early.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I called in here during the day on the off chance they would have a table for dinner. The owner said they were full but could squeeze us in on one of the outdoor tables after the first sitting had finished but it might be a tad cold. The food was excellent and definitely worth the risk of being cold. Actually, the evening was lovely and sitting outside turned out to be great. Service was also great.
Would definitely reccomend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good value food but not the service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The menu is a mixture of Japanese, Asian, Italian & Australian cuisine. The food was delicious, our favorite dish was Gyoza (Japanese style dumpling) & prawns in skewer. However the service was another matter. We ordered a bottle of $26.00 wine from them. The waiter brought the wine with 2 wine glasses, left it on the table & disappear! He didn't even offer to open the wine bottle for us or let us have a taste first! We also told the waiter we will have one dessert to share between us but when the dessert came he just gave us 2 spoons but no plate! The restaurant also charge 2% for the credit card if you don't pay cash!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pins on Lurline also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Pins on Lurline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pins on Lurline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.