We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mountains YHA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Mountains YHA to your Saves list
Blue Mountains YHA
207 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good place to stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went to stay in Aug which is winter in Australia. Nice place with big area for meeting people. One thing to note, there is no lift so if you are carrying luggage, be prepare to carry it up 2 flight of stair..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    66
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
53
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A group of about 40 of us booked a Christmas in July weekend at the BM YHA. They are centrally located and only a short 5-10 minute walk to anywhere in Katoomba. Accommodation was nice with plenty of lounge areas including warm wood fires and pool tables.

The kitchen facilities are massive if you decide to cook for yourself. If not, plenty of good options nearby.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

As per my title, I was quite happy staying at this place. My girl and I wanted a quick getaway from Sydney, travelling to the blue mountains without thinking where to stay. After a couple of hours see found this place online placed the reservation and then head to Coles to buy some groceries. In our way back we found:

* A gigantic room for anybody to come a take a seat. It has a chimney with real wood (and another one with fake one) infusing you with a warm sensation, almost christmasy while you are having your meal.

* Well conditioned kitchen although it needs better stoves (some are broken).

* Bathrooms are clean and in top conditions.

* Rooms are simple. We asked for a double private room and the queen bed was part of a family bunk bed. Mattress could've been better but this place was so cheap I really couldn't ask for a better mattress.

* Room access is granted by an electronic key (card), so you could put it in your wallet without being concern of losing it.

* It has plenty of amenities (Karaoke, pool table a huge patio where to take a bit of sun).

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quite nice as you don't have many neighbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This review could just read: "highly recommended, go stay there". But if you want more detail, my husband and I stayed for one night and in that short while this was my impression:
- the cleanest hostel I've been in
- the most amazing shared areas (huge couches, a children's corner, great kitchen)
- comfortable bed and bedding
- clean bathroom
- good room heating
- conveniently placed
- friendly, welcoming staff.
My only regret was that we had one night, having booked in just as a place to put our heads down after a party in Katoomba. Next time we'll bring our small son back and stay for a weekend.

Room Tip: The floors in the passages creak, so I thought I'd recommend that you ask for one at the end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Even though this was my first time at a hostel, I've got to admit it exceeded all my expectations. The hostel itself was a good size, located close to the supermarkets (Aldi, Coles) and the Blue Mountains itself. Everything was clean and tidy, the rooms were well kept and I've got to say, the kitchens were top notch! Also, although I didn't know that the checkout time was 10am, the staff were very friendly and gave me a little bit of time to get out of my room! Genuinely lovely hostel housing families, to solo travelers. I'd definitely recommend the Blue Mountain YHA to all those who want to stay a night and get a little bit of extra hiking done during their time in Australia!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is the NICEST YHA I have ever stayed in. Well, one of. Compared to the last one I stayed in it is beautiful. Really nice vibe, clean, well equipped kitchen, really clean showers. Standard issue YHA beds and sheets, big room, well ventilated. Washing line outside. Children's corner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

After a hideous experience in Bondi, we were thrilled to arrive at this yha. The resident were more mature and respectful, the lounge was full of people quietly reading or chatting and the kitchen was spotless. Our 4 bed dorm was nice, I even had a single bed in a slightly separate annex to the main room. The showers and toilets were immaculate and plentiful.

The only downside: 100 tiny children staying on a school trip. Cute at 6pm, not so cute when running around late at night and first thing in the morning. Hostel staff and the teachers were powerless, I don't think they should accept children as young as these (approx 7 years old).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mountains YHA, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Rosycheeks
Thanks for your review of this YHA and glad you enjoyed your visit to the Blue Mountains.
We are sorry that you were disturbed by the group that was staying at the same time as you. YHA does offer accommodation to a wide range of people as fitting our ethos of encouraging travel especially for young people. This hostel has a dedicated groups wing with separate kitchen and lounge that is specifically there so groups can have their own space. But obviously all guests need to respect others in the corridors.
If you ever encounter problems like this again, please do contact the hostel staff - there is an after hours phone at this hostel for instance, and staff live on site. Whilst it is the responsiblity of teachers to manage the behaviour of their charges, our staff will always discuss this with them if other guests are being disturbed.
YHA hopes to welcome you at another of our hostels in Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Mountains YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountains YHA

Address: 207 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the adventure capital of NSW, stay at this award-winning YHA hostel and enjoy the log fire, cosy warm rooms (many with ensuite), great kitchen, fast internet, all in the heart of Katoomba. This is the best value budget accommodation, located in the heart of Katoomba. Chose from a range of rooms including multi share, double/twin and family rooms. Relax in the large lounge, self cater in the kitchen. Housed in a beautifully restored historic National Trust building, the hostel is close to breathtaking scenic lookouts, and local cafes and pubs. Save with YHA discounts on heaps of activities, tours and attractions from the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Mountains YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains YHA Katoomba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mountains YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.