We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Mountains YHA

Save Saved
You added Blue Mountains YHA to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Mountains YHA
207 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great little spot to stay when visiting the Blue Mountains. Spacious rooms with big lockers, and good communal areas. The staff were helpful in recommending nearby restaurants and providing directions to the train station. We had a nice, peaceful getaway from the bustling centre of Sydney.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    54
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
48
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hostel is strategically located and very well equipped. Staff was helpful and friendly.
As we stayed there during the season, the dining room was pack and we have to resort to eat in the living room instead.
Good value for the price we paid. Will recommend it for those on budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

this hostel has great facilities (WIFI, BBQ, good communal areas) and is very clean. We stayed in a 5 bed dorm and had loads of space with lockers & the rooms were very clean. The shared kitchen was great and there was a nice, comfortable quiet room you could sit and relax in. The hostel is a short walk from the 3 Sisters as well as other hiking trails.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ulladulla
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was moving my grandmother down closer to me so I needed somewhere cheap and clean to stay so I chose to stay at the Katoomba YHS. This was the first time I have stayed at a YHA and it gT was totally a mixed bag. The location is perfect! The service was friendly and helpful, the rooms were small, which was good as there was only five beds in our female only room. The ladies bathroom had a lock on it which I appreciated. The down side were the people staying at the hostel! Some girls left quite a mess in the bathroom, nasty! Not the fault of the hostel at all, just not what I am used to and the women who shared a bunk with me was a nightmare! Turning on the light every couple of hours to change her sanitary items... Eeeeek! It was an ok experience and I have one recommendation! If you are in a group and have friends travelling with you then you must stay here! The facilities are great for groups, great shared kitchen and games room and it wouldnt be bad sharing a room with friends.
As a fussy solo female I.was overwhemed with the experience, but that is just me!
I cant speak highly enough of the staff though.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

YHA Katoomba is a great place to stay, located centrally and with all the facilities you need, eg large kitchen, dining area, reading room, tv room, outside deck, comfortable family rooms with ensuite. Only downfall is no airconditioning, but our room had a lovely breeze at night, so was fine. It was the hottest day of the year that we were there. The staff were exceptional, very friendly and helpful with any questions we had. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked the Canyoning package which was fantastic value and included a continental breakfast and 1hr of internet. We were the first to book the package so there was a little confusion at first, but this was sorted out pretty quickly. The hostel itself is the cleanest and most pleasant I've stayed in, with lots of areas to hang out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Blue Mountains YHA, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi Dragonsworn. Thanks for your review, particularly of the new adventure package. We did launch it just before Xmas so sorry if there was initial confusion. But sounds like it was worth it - the canyons are so beautiful and are a special part of the Blue Mountains. We hope to run this right through the rest of the canyoning season, and look forward to seeing you again at one of our hostels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice now. Last time was two years ago and I was already very impressed by it. This time was no different if not better. It's conveniently located, there is an ALDI supermarket right next door and within a short walking distance to the three sisters look out. It's also very close to plenty of nice restaurants and cafes. What makes this YHA so unique is the vibe within, especially at dinner time when everyone is busy cooking in the kitchen or sharing a meal. The dining hall and kitchen are both huge and there is a huge lounge area as well. The beds are basic but clean and comfortable. I would choose to stay here over other hotels or motels in Katoomba, it feels like a home.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Mountains YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountains YHA

Address: 207 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty lodging in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the adventure capital of NSW, stay at this award-winning YHA hostel and enjoy the log fire, cosy warm rooms (many with ensuite), great kitchen, fast internet, all in the heart of Katoomba. This is the best value budget accommodation, located in the heart of Katoomba. Chose from a range of rooms including multi share, double/twin and family rooms. Relax in the large lounge, self cater in the kitchen. Housed in a beautifully restored historic National Trust building, the hostel is close to breathtaking scenic lookouts, and local cafes and pubs. Save with YHA discounts on heaps of activities, tours and attractions from the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Blue Mountains YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains YHA Katoomba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Mountains YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.