We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“70th birthday High Tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carrington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Carrington Hotel to your Saves list
The Carrington Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call Now For Best Rates!
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“70th birthday High Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Family and friends gathered in the Grand Dinning room for a 70th birthday celebration enjoying High Tea. The birthday man asked before we arrived, " I hope we are not split onto small tables" and we arrived to find the biggest table we have all ever sat at - long and wide and accommodating all to make it one of the best memorable birthday's for Sylvester ever. The range of yummy food was great, kids were well looked after with their own special plates including some special kids only food. All was enjoyed with champagne to toast and with fantastic warm and friendly service. Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    199
    68
    31
    25
See reviews for
97
251
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I took my daughter to stay for a night while we were back in Australia for a visit. My husband and I married at the Carrington 14 years ago, just after it re-opened and I have very happy memories of the place. It was lovely to go back, and we weren't disappointed. The decor is just as I remembered it, but it still looks fresh. The rooms are comfortable and the ensuite bathroom in our room was fitted with a modern shower and suite.
The continental breakfast included in the room price was good quality and offered plenty of variety.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here in November 2013. Beautiful hotel very well maintained with all the old Victoriain features, you really think that you are living in the Victoria days. Our room was really nice, very high ceilings, well heated as the weather was a bit cold, large and spacious and nicely furnished. Staff very pleasant and accomodating. Definately 5 star in every way.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

exactly as we expected.great car park under cover,no extra charges.Good front office,attentive,helpful,friendly.Lovely olde worlde accommodation.Fabulous continental breakfast included.Good value for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

this is a beautiful old hotel with some great features situated in the middle of Katoomba village

we had a suite that overlooked the front entrance to the hotel and the village. there was a nice balcony but it was shared by 3 other rooms (runs the full length of the three rooms)

The only 'down side' I could see was that there is no air conditioning and could get really hot in the high temperatures.

There is a fan in the room that might be adequate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurrajong, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This old building has been lovingly restored/maintained and retains the characteristics of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. There are some beautiful pieces of furniture in both the public and private areas.
The private lounge areas (Billiards Room and Library) provide relaxing areas for guests, away from the busier public areas. Food from the bar was delivered to the Billiards Room throughout the day. This was much appreciated as the weather was appalling and it was very good to have no need to venture out into the cold, rain and wind!
We were unable to eat in the Grand Dining Room as it is not open every night and was in use for a wedding on the Saturday night of our stay. The continental breakfast was included but was rather mediocre, my husband had the full cooked breakfast and that was amazing!
We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to the Tomah Suite which was extremely comfortable with its separate lounge room. The only drawback was the shower which was over the spa bath, the bath was so shaped for sitting that footing was somewhat precarious. Being anachronisms ourselves, we were disappointed that while there was up to date TV facilities there was no access to radio so we were not able to listen to classical music. We could not do this via the internet either as the area had been hit by severe storms and the computer facilities were unavailable for the first of our 2 days.
We treated ourselves to massages etc at the Renaissance Spa, this took place in a special room for couples, complete with spa baths. We can highly recommend the spa.
This was a special treat for our 40th wedding anniversary and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I did actually enjoy staying here for two nights, but have rated it average because it didn't quite give me the grand experience that I was expecting. Staff were very helpful, but there seemed to be too few of them. This may have been because I stayed there just after bushfires affected other parts of the Blue Mountains (but not Katoomba), and people were staying away. Most tourism businesses in the mountains were operating on skeleton staff because of the downturn in trade, and this May also have been the case with The Carrington as there were few people staying there at the time.

The Carrington is certainly contained in a magnificent building, which has a grand stairway leading to its foyer. My room was large and quite comfortable. The bed was certainly good to sleep in, but the shower was disappointing because it didn't quite wet me properly. Architecturally, the hotel is a mish mash of styles, stemming from its origins in the 1880s and refurbishments during the Art Deco period, and again in The 1990s. The public rooms downstairs were all large and comfortable, and the Billiard Room would have been a marvellous place in the hotel's heyday.

Breakfast in the formal dining room was good, continental breakfast was included in the tariff, and there was a good selection. Wi Fi is also included, but this was intermittent and unreliable. I found this strange given that the hotel was almost empty, so over use by guests couldn't have been an issue.

Location is excellent, and you can get good views of the mountains, at least I did from my room.

They still have the original elevator servicing the floors. It's a rickety, slow old thing which doesn't give you too long to enter it, particularly if you have luggage, but using the elevator did take me back to the days when elevators had drivers, so I did enjoy the contraption.

I was pleased to stay there for the experience of being in a former Grand Old Hotel, but now that I've stayed there, I would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
1.1 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carrington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carrington Hotel

Address: 15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carrington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Carrington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carrington Hotel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carrington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.