We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food and views, helpful staff, some minor issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Lilianfels Ave | Echo Point, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful food and views, helpful staff, some minor issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We are a couple with a 22 month old daughter, and we stayed for a long weekend in August 2013.

Beautiful location with stunning views, absolutely divine food in the restaurant (not cheap to eat there but well worth it).

Shortly after arriving in our room we discovered that our air con wasn't working, and the staff tried everything they could to repair it but were unsuccessful. Staff were very apologetic and we were given two heaters to use instead, which was more than adequate to make the room temperature comfortable again for us.

This is a perfect hotel for couples wanting a romantic break, but our one constructive criticism is that they seem to be less experienced at dealing with families with young children. While the standard of food was excellent, we did have to wait a long time for our food to arrive and our daughter grew quite impatient and "vocal" during this time! We partially resolved this on the second day by pre-ordering our food and arranging to have this ready at a set time, which the staff were happy to do for us. Unfortunately there was a 45 minute wait between our daughter's meal being served and our main course arriving, by which time our daughter had enough of sitting still at the table, but again the staff were happy to help us by allowing us to return to our room and serving the remaining courses there.

There was also some confusion over whether our daughter's meal was included within the price because when booking a room online, adults and children over 4yrs old are chargeable but infants are included, however when booking dinner you only have the option to specify the number of adults or children (not infants), and we therefore assumed our daughter's meal would be included. On pointing this out to staff they were happy to waive the cost of our daughter's meal, but this is something that should be addressed on the website to avoid confusion.

We would suggest to anyone with a young family thinking of staying here that they also pre-order food if your little one is likely to get restless while waiting for their meal. Another suggestion we would have for the hotel is they might consider adopting a buffet-style breakfast which would be more family friendly and eliminate the waiting time between ordering breakfast and the food arriving.

One other slight issue was on the Saturday night there was a pianist playing in the restaurant, which was lovely to listen to, but the playing continued until 10pm and was quite loud as our room was directly underneath, and our daughter struggled to get off to sleep as a result. Whilst the playing was lovely, it would have been appreciated more if they had finished earlier in the evening or lowered the volume, in consideration of younger guests who needed to sleep.

As mentioned, despite the slight hiccups the staff were eager to help us to resolve problems. In particular we would commend Bryant to the hotel, he seemed to make it his personal mission to help us as much as he could and was an absolute star to us all weekend! The hotel is extremely lucky to have such a caring and professional employee as him.

Overall it is a very good hotel in a wonderful setting, and we will definitely consider visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant.

It’s a pleasure to read that you in general had a great stay, and enjoyed the Facilities and our team that looked after you.

I will defiantly look in the minor issue you mentioned to ensure we can improve our services, and to be clearer on our website.

Bryant, will be delighted about his mention, and I hope we can welcome you back to Echoes shortly.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    78
    33
    28
    18
See reviews for
28
182
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A short break before returning to work after 7 weeks leave was in order. The venue was to be close to Sydney and something 'special'. We chose Echoes as it had always interested us and indeed it didn't disappoint.
We checked in on Friday afternoon, after being a tourist with early lunch at Wentworth Falls followed by the attractions at the Scenic Railway. Check in was easy and welcoming. The room was spacious and the view magnificent. We sat a while on our verandah and appreciated how lucky we are to live so close to such a beautiful place. We then ventured upstairs at 4.30pm to have a drink on the verandah outside the bar. Sadly though the bar didn't open until 5.30pm so we ventured back down to our room to wait until then. On our return we realised we could no longer enjoy the seating outside as the weather was not warm enough so we had our drinks in the bar room (without a fire!).
Later we walked to Darley's restaurant for a meal that was truly fantastic. The venue was superb and the service was attentive without being pompous. Unfortunately my partner became ill (nothing to do with the food) and we had to depart before dessert was eaten. However the staff could see that all was not well and offered assistance if required. They were genuinely concerned and we thank them for this.
Would we go back to Echoes? Yes certainly! Would we go back to Darley's? Yes, in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms good for those with mobility problems. Chose ones with sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant.

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great stay, and enjoyed the Facilities and our team that looked after you.

Both Echoes and Darleys are fantastic places, and I think we have a look at the opening time for drinks in the afternoon.

I hope I will be able to welcome you back shortly.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were checking out places to stay in Katoomba and this one popped up in our Internet search. The view from our room is out of this world! Surprisingly the prices on week nights are significantly lower than on weekends, and we jumped at the opportunity to spend a night there. The room was clean and classy, the dinner sublime and distance to Echo Point was just 15 minutes walk away. We are so glad to have picked Echoes and given another chance, we'd come back again. This is a great choice for a romantic getaway as a couple.

Room Tip: Go for the specials (not weekends) where the prices are great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant.

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a great stay, and enjoyed the Facilities and our team that looked after you.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed in a cliff view room, which was spacious, elegantly and comfortably furnished and had a gas fireplace, spa bath and small balcony with views. It's a lovely location and a very comfortable stay, smaller and less floral and chintzy than the adjacent sister hotel Lillianfels, where we have also stayed. We ate at the hotel restaurant, liking convenience, but it is very overpriced (min 2 courses for $85pp) and not great quality. I'd stay here again, but eat elsewhere.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant.

It’s fantastic to read that you liked the Hotel facilities. I am disappointed about your dining experience, and will definitely look into this, as we are known for great food and service.


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Just back from three nights at Echoes with my partner. Room was lovely (yes, a little cosy but perfectly comfortable). View was incredible, service excellent, breakfast 10/10. Had a great dinner at echoes restaurant and a brilliant treatment at lilianfels spa. Beautiful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant.

It’s fantastic to read that you had a great experience. The Hotel and the location is just great, and all of us strive to provide you with the best experience every time.

I hope you will be back soon.


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mwanza Region, Tanzania
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

First let me stress that my wife and I stayed at Echoes at the start of July, when temperatures dropped to 2-4°C overnight. However, even using the gas fire in the room, it was still cold enough to wake us during the night. I also question a design which forces you to keep a gas fire running while you sleep. That can't be a safe idea. The installed underfloor heating was ineffective.
Other than being kept too bright by external lights, our room was otherwise very comfortable and spacious, and the view over the escarpment was spectacular.
The Echoes restaurant is a rather elegantly designed room, with a central log fire in the cosy bar area that makes you feel like snuggling up with a cognac. However our meal was adequate rather than being a superior dining experience as advertised. The menu itself has a good mix of dishes but the quality of the meals delivered was lacking. One guineafowl dish was tough as old boots. 2 course set meal with multiple choices was $85, 3 courses was $110. If you only have one night at Echoes hotel then I suggest you go next door to Darleys restaurant, where the food is in a different class, the service is excellent and the 3-course set menu is only $15 per head more. In the bar area later there was a lot of noise from staff setting up for next day's breakfast, which wrecked the cosiness.
Service at the hotel in general was good, although restaurant service was a little inattentive.
Overall, the hotel is a nice place with great location and views, but there were a few too many things wrong or at least not done well enough for it to live up to the 'boutique' tag.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant.

I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we did not meet your expectation. As I remember your stay from our Duty manager log book, I can assure you that the whole heating system has been checked, and some adjustments have been done to it to ensure adequate heating is provided to all rooms.

I will follow up with the Chef and service team to investigate to issues raised.
Please accept my apologies, and I hope I can welcome you back to Echoes in the near future.


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The food was lovely, the deserts were the highlight of the night. The kids had a great night too, the only downside was the seating we were seated next to the kitchen and basically outside the restaurant. The service was not the best either, he kept trying to correct our pronunciation of scallops but he wasn't pronunciating it correctly himself, we felt a bit neglected where we were sitting. I would insist on getting a table in the actual restaurant if I was to go again, we missed out on the great view, that's why we went in the first place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Echoes Boutique Hotel and Restaurant.

I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we did not meet your expectation, and that you missed out on the views.

I will follow up with my Restaurant manager to ensure we retrain some of the staff, in regards to your customer service issue.

Please accept my apologies, and I hope I can welcome you back to Echoes in the near future.


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 3 Lilianfels Ave | Echo Point, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780 , Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant is perched at the very edge of the Jamison Valley at Echo Point in the Blue Mountains. Our unique location offers stunning and uninterrupted panoramas of the National Park from every room, providing all our guests with ever-changing but always dramatic and breathtaking views. All this and only 90 minutes from Sydney!Our unique location offers stunning panoramas from every room, providing our guests with the most breathtaking views of mountains, cliff edges and lush rainforest valleys. Blue Mountains' most stunning icon 'Echoes' unveils itself on the very edge of the Jamison Valley with views right through to Mittagong, 80 kilometres away.Relaxation and recreation takes on whole new meaning at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant. Rejuvenate with a brisk hike through the Jamison Valley or find peace and serenity with a pampering spa treatment in our private sauna and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echoes Boutique Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Echoes Boutique
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.