We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Lilianfels Ave | Echo Point, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780 , Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Katoomba
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great Location with incredible view from your room! Location is perfect as very close to Echo Point,Three Sister Rock and Katoomba Scenic World
I highly recommend it!.The gardens are neat and well maintained. Wonderful so relaxing ...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing you recent stay at Echoes Blue Mountains Resort and Restaurant on Tripadvisor.com

I was pleased to hear that you were impressed with your stay. We pride ourselves with great customer service, and good facilities.

I hope myself and the team at Echoes can welcome you back soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    69
    32
    23
    18
See reviews for
26
155
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It's hard to believe that this property is part of the Starwood Luxury Collection. It tries, but doesn't get there. Some of the staff were very friendly, especially those in the restaurant at breakfast time. But the staff at the front desk were quite disinterested. When we arrived, there was no help with the front door or getting our luggage in. The woman on the front desk was perfunctory; not too much in the way of a friendly welcome. We needed a bed made up and despite offering to do it when we went out, the time that suited us did not suit her as she had to go to work in the restaurant. So no-one else could do it? We were rarely greeted on our return to the hotel from our various trips, despite walking right past the front desk. Most of the staff preferred to continue looking at the computer or to talk to each other.

The room needed a bit of sharpening up too. Paying in excess of $600 a night leads to certain expectations, eg a bathroom door door that closes without being shoved, a shower that doesn't spill water all over the rest of the floor and furniture without loads of scratches and marks. The view from the balcony was amazing, and in fact really the main reason to stay here, but it's an expensive view. Also, the balconies are all linked and so there is no privacy. There is a small chain that stops people from leaving their balcony, but it'd be pretty easy to climb over. Noise carries from the hallways, but it wasn't too bad.

Breakfast was quite nice, at $25 pp for cereals, fruit, toast, bacon, eggs, sausages etc. Not a huge selection but quite adequate. Tea and coffee were included unless you want a latte or cappuccino, in which case you pay quite a lot extra. We ate at the restaurant one night - see separate review.

Bed was comfortable and housekeeping did a good job cleaning. Internet was available for standard (expensive) costs per day.

We have stayed in Starwood hotels in many countries and we wouldn't go back to this one. We don't mind paying for expansive hotels, but we want value. Echoes is simply too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing you recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.com

I am disappointed that your experience was not as pleasant as I would expect it to be. Good service is the key to success, and it looks like we failed on this occasion. As I would like to investigate you stay further I would like you to email me directly at gm@lilianfels.com.au

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I am a local resident of Katoomba who with a friend from Sydney, chose to dine at what we thought was a luxury boutique hotel that would provide a memorable and enjoyable experience.
The views are spectacular and we looked forward to a 'special treat' re the food and the whole dining experience.
Unfortunately, the wait staff appeared to be very inexperienced although obliging if you could attract their attention, but none of the 'service' you would expect from a establishment promoted to have the reputation that is publicized was apparent.
Reception staff virtually ignored us and then after a meal where the dessert was the only real positive, we were charged for menu items we did not have, and overcharged. Normally very obliging and reasonable, my friend and I decided to bring this to the attention of the cashier who proceeded to tell us it wasn't her fault, although we hadn't blamed her. We simply thought we were within our rights to bring the discrepancy to the attention of staff, especially given the rating of the establishment. At no time did we receive an apology or a smile.
We can only say that we thought our experience completely unsatisfactory and that Echoes Katoomba does not understand the meaning of the term 'customer service'.
We will not be returning, and from further discussion with a few locals, it seems that their experience has been the same / similar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing you recent dining experience with Echoes Restaurant on Tripadvisor.com

I am disappointed that your dining experience was not as pleasant as I would expect it to be. We pride ourselves with great service and fantastic facilities. To be able to investigate your dining experience further I would like you to email me directly at gm@lilianfels.com.au

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed there only for a night but very nice and clean room, spectacular view on the mountains, professional service, excellent restaurant! Think we had value for our money, they offer room+dinner deals. Location is perfect as very close to Echo Point. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We travelled to Australia with 3 night stay in Sydney and discovered on Echoes by accident whilst on a day drive to the Blue Mountains. Had lunch in the restaurant after we stumbled upon a quaint guesthouse looking property sitting right at the edge of the Jamison valley where the 3 sisters was. What a location and what views!! There cant be too many locations in Australia with views like this..The Menu was contemporary, reasonably priced for the luxury collection brand and the staff were friendly yet not obtrusive. We only wish that we knew about this property sooner as we would have like to stay here. The rooms have a contemporary feel and also look out the same aspect. Only about a dozen rooms - very boutique and peaceful, packed with spectacular views of the Blue Mountains.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Had my heart set on staying at echoes, even though some reviews were less than complimentary. I was very glad to take the gamble and book a room at last minute on Wotif. Yes it's a little costly, we paid $275 for a deluxe room, but the location and the views and level of comfort in the room made it worth while. I wanted a breather from the city, and got exactly that. From the moment we walked in the young gentleman at the front desk was extremely helpful, opening the doors for us and helping to carry all of our luggage to our room. The room was very well set up, it's not a massive space but it was well set up nonetheless. The ensuite was immaculate and the stone walls and floors added class. A big brand new Samsung flat screen TV that pivots so you can watch it from the bed or couch was fantastic. The bed was ridiculously comfortable and there were ample spare pillows and blankets. I liked the idea of staying at Echoes because it didn't have the heinous Laura Ashley or 1950's decor like so many of the other places around the area, it's chic with a little bit of contemporary yet in keeping with the surrounds. There were some earlier reviews about noise levels, and we didn't have a problem with it, there were times when you could hear people in the foyer through the our room door but you couldn't hear a thing through the walls from the other rooms.Yes the balcony off the room is not as private as would be ideal, given that you are just divided from the other guests by trellis/chain, but nobody invaded our space, as we wouldn't dream of doing the same to others. The view is stunning, and really is very special. We chose to have dinner at the restaurant upstairs due to convenience. The food was delicious, and I couldn't find fault with it, however given that it is a set price of $85 for 2 courses, I don't think the value is there, as I wouldn't say it was a $35 entree and a $50 main. The food was delicious though without a doubt, but I do question the value. The staff were extremely helpful, the room was immaculate, the view breathtaking and I would happily stay here again given how relaxed I was when I reluctantly had to leave.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This boutique hotel is very overpriced for what is a compromised building with awkward (to squeeze in views) small rooms and very few facilities.The rooms have balconies but no privacy as there are only chain partitions between each. When we stayed, the lounge, which was the only space outside the rooms, closed at 9.45 p.m. Breakfast supplies were of a good quality but somewhat limited and served in miniscule dishes, whilst special requests such as omelettes were charged separately. When we arrived the receptionist watched as we struggled with bags and as we left the head cleaner was in an argument with the receptionist about her duties. Unimpressive.

Room Tip: Higher floors are larger with better views. Lower rooms have a pinched balcony on to garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 3 Lilianfels Ave | Echo Point, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780 , Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant is perched at the very edge of the Jamison Valley at Echo Point in the Blue Mountains. Our unique location offers stunning and uninterrupted panoramas of the National Park from every room, providing all our guests with ever-changing but always dramatic and breathtaking views. All this and only 90 minutes from Sydney!Our unique location offers stunning panoramas from every room, providing our guests with the most breathtaking views of mountains, cliff edges and lush rainforest valleys. Blue Mountains' most stunning icon 'Echoes' unveils itself on the very edge of the Jamison Valley with views right through to Mittagong, 80 kilometres away.Relaxation and recreation takes on whole new meaning at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant. Rejuvenate with a brisk hike through the Jamison Valley or find peace and serenity with a pampering spa treatment in our private sauna and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Echoes Boutique Hotel And Restaurant
Hotel Echoes Boutique
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.