We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter warmer at Lilianfels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5-19 Lilianfels Avenue, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Winter warmer at Lilianfels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My family spent 3 nights at Lilianfels, making the most of the winter mid week package, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Dinner by the fire in the lounge, lovely, comfortable bedrooms and polite and friendly staff made for a great stay. Given that we spent the three days horse riding and bushwalking, the contrast on coming back to the hotel for some much needed R&R was significant - we couldn't have had a better base to explore the Blue Mountains. Walking through the front door is like stepping into another era - the decor delivering an experience that was both charming and homely, and for a pommie expat a lot 'like home'. The kids particularly enjoyed the games room with the full length billiards / snooker table, the chess board and the pool. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view - you're right next to the 3 sisters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are happy to hear that you & your family enjoyed your recent stay with us, making the most of the winter mid-week package.

It was also great to hear that you enjoyed dining by the fire in the lounge, and that our rooms, facilities and especially our staff made your stay extra special and 'like home'.

We look forward to welcoming both you and your family back again at Lilianfels soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    303
    181
    70
    31
See reviews for
165
689
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Just had 2 nights at Lilianfels. We had a standard room and found it to be very comfortable.There was plenty of space for the 3 of us sharing,The bathroom is very spacious love the large mirror. The towels are super sized and the robes are so cosy. The only complaint was that we had to pay extra for 3 people in the room. This was dissappointing when the room is only set up for 2. We had to ask for the extra linen, coffee cup,and wine glass to accommodate the 3 of us.the beds are very comfortable and love the canopy. We enjoyed sitting in the lounges but there is avery rude server who went out of his way delaying seating us and taking our order. The lounge is very comfortable and the fire very welcoming on a 2 degree day! We didn't eat in the restaurants as my daughter lives in the mountains,and we ate with her. The reception are very helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in your spacious room but concerned that the room was not set up for the correct number of Guests if your booking specified 3 Adults. We will investigate this with our reservations team and housekeeping staff.

It is disappointing also to hear that there was a delay in seating your party in the lobby lounge, we apologize and will investigate the issue further with our Food & Beverage Supervisor.

We are happy to hear that our reception staff were very helpful and efficient.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again at Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurri Kurri, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This is an outstanding hotel, with old world charm, that goes out of their way to provide a level of service and ambiance of a lost past. Everyone should experience this hotel at least once in their lifetime. Everything about it is what you would expect in a world class hotel.
The grounds are wonderful and you are right in the middle of the Blue mountains.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and received excellent service from our staff who were very helpful and efficient.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family again at Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights last week for a mid week escape. The disappointment started when we arrived with their terrible parking, continued into our room where it hadn't been vacuumed or mopped in a while (wore my shoes in the room). This continued with a wait for breakfast the next morning. We only waited 15 minutes but others waited longer. They were so understaffed and underprepared. So many school holiday families which was to be expected but caused the chaos. Sitting down to breakfast it took 20 minutes to be offered any tea and coffee by which point we were finished our breakfast. Everything needed refilling and they weren't on top of it. Hate paying so much for breakfast (prepaid) and having to eat elsewhere after. Read the reviews on here of being offered special order eggs and porridge yet was never asked.
Poor parking, poor breakfast, uncomfortable and dirty room. Fortunately many things were rectified day 2 or we would not have stayed another night. Tip: take your own pillow or buy one at target up the road. A very disappointing stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some elements of your stay.

We are in the process of doing a review post our school holidays & will investigate some of the points you mentioned about breakfast service - rest assured our peak times can mean extra Guests in these high traffic areas at certain times.

We will investigate with our team and housekeeping staff and would like to inbox you to obtain further details.

We look forward to resolving some of these issues on your behalf and welcoming you and your family once again at Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I just returned to Sydney after spending two relaxing nights at Lilianfels. The hotel itself is very pretty and graceful, it exudes charm from another era whilst having all the modern facilities you would expect at an establishment of this calibre.
We got our room on a Winter escape package and thought it to be good value, with a nice view over the gardens on the echo point side of the hotel. One point which is worth mentioning is that we couldn't get mobile phone reception in our room, however this small complaint was somewhat countered by the Free wifi provided by the hotel.
If you stay at Lilianfels be sure to visit the spa, both my husband and I splashed out and got a 2 hour package each (Baby moon / Gentlemen's Oasis) and both agreed that it was an amazing and totally worthwhile indulgence - Mouna and Alicia provided excellent and professional service, especially in light of me being 6+ months pregnant at the time.
Dinner at Darley's on the second night was also very good, staff were very friendly/professional and the food was excellent.
We appreciated the quiet/ relaxed atmosphere (despite being school holidays), access to facilities such as the spa and games room and the pleasant little touches i.e. that the common areas in the main hotel are lightly perfumed, adding to the ambience.
Overall a very nice place to visit in the Blue Mountains for a special treat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, making the most of the winter mid week package.

It was also great to hear that you enjoyed your Day Spa treatments and your dining experience at Darley's, to make your stay extra special.

We look forward to welcoming both you and your family back again at Lilianfels soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Arrived all good
Seated all good
Given water
Had onion rings yummy but only about 8 of them, and chick pea dip this had no flavour and the bread was soft and doughy!
Had to get our own water
Had scones burnt :( needed more jam and cream
Had to get our own water
Had tea milk went everywhere useless jug!
Had to get our own water
That was it. Expensive and had to get our own water

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Devonshire Tea.

After much feedback from Guests we decided to make water available in our lounge area but our staff are more than happy to serve water to Guests tables.

Our Chefs strive to produce the best food on a daily basis and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your Onion rings, but disappointed to hear that the scones were on the overcooked side. All our scones are baked fresh on the premises daily.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverstone NSW
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

On our third visit for high tea, I was very disappointed. We went for the mid week special but 2 half glasses of Oz champagne added $32. The food was OK- very TAFE-but the service was poor. Then tried to charge for French champagne - oh dear.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Lilianfels Resort and Spa.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some elements of your High Tea experience & service.

We will investigate this with our team to obtain further details to address some of the issues.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at Lilianfels.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.0 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Avenue, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa Katoomba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.