We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Blue Mountains Classic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5-19 Lilianfels Avenue, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Katoomba
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Blue Mountains Classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We first stayed ay Lilianfels in the 1980's and the quality and location continue to make it most endearing. The very focussed new management with big investment in 3 other premium Blue Mountains properties, are doing just about everything right.
I note that some of the other reviews are mixed. It all comes down to the room that you get.
Some are certainly tired - but all are being refurbished. With a new set of super premium rooms being constructed in the roof space - that will afford excellent views.

We found the service to be friendly and professional. It's the location that really makes Lilianfels special. Spectacular views, mountain air and real seasons to be enjoyed over and over again.

Room Tip: Call beforehand to ensure you get a newly refurbished room. Have a drink at sunset at Echoes, the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilities of our Hotel, and the fantastic views of the Valley.

I hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    253
    148
    61
    28
See reviews for
139
582
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blue Mountains
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and I spent an enjoyyable Xmas eve at Lilianfells. The main lounge-room was lovely and the service (by a trainee) was very attentive. An added bonus was 45 minutes of carols sung by a local choir, who were excellent. However I am still trying to work out how management can justify a $10.50 charge on 330ml bottle of beer brewed in Australia!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed Christmas Eve, and the Carols we had that night. We ensure that all pricing gets checked regularly, and is in line with other five star Hotels in Australia.

I still hope we are able to welcome you back soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

The service was pathetic and the rooms need a good clean. For the price my expectations where not even closely satisfied.
The management of Lilianfels need to urgently fix the attitudes and performance of the staff and provide a service befitting the price they ask. Will not be recommending this place to anyone.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

I am disappointed to read that your stay with us was not to your expectation.

To ensure I can address your concern with the friendliness of the team, and to find out more about the cleanliness of your room I would appreciate if you could email me at gm@lilianfels.com.au, or call me on 02 4780 1200

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a lovely old charm hotel.
If you are looking for modern luxury this hotel won't impress (and I am all for modern luxury) but this hotel definitely has some old world charm.
We stayed here twice in the last month and haven't experienced any of the old mouldy smell /feel other travellers complained about. Our rooms were gorgeous (old style but fresh); one in pink tones (very girly), one in green (elegant) with a nice valley view from the big windows (these rooms were recently updated we were told and they are called Valley view rooms).
On the view note - view is OK nothing spectacular as there is a road right at the front of the hotel and you are not high enough for a really spectacular view. But it is still very pleasant.

So, more on the positives - breakfast is simple but very nice (good quality fresh fruit, cereals, nice bread, hams, cheeses, smoked salmon, pastries). Everything very fresh and yummy. Breakfast is also THE only place in the hotel with good service.

Indoor / outdoor pools - both are beautiful! Outdoor pool is quite cold even on a very hot day. Indoor pool is very pleasant temperature, perfect for laps or for kids to play.

We didn't get to experience the spa but the sauna / steam room facilities are again very pleasant (separate for men and women).

Dinner options - limited. Local restaurant Darcy's is very expensive, $99 pp without drinks, and no atmosphere in the restaurant. Only other option is to eat in the lobby cafe / restaurant which again is expensive and has very limited dinner options. If you are looking for atmosphere I would recommend Leura Garage (newly opened establishment with great food and atmosphere nearly every night of the week).

Hotel location and grounds - as commented by many Excellent! Step out of the hotel and you have many nice walks at your doorstep.

Now on not so positives: Service is Terrible!!! It starts from in-house reservations being quite rude on the phone and is followed on by very unfriendly front desk.
To be specific: We are Platinum Starwood guests (which means we get an upgrade to a suite if available and get some other benefits like late check out), we travel a lot, stay in lots of Starwood hotels around the world and expect a certain level of respect from Starwood hotels. Well, none of that will be coming here. On our first stay we were bluntly refused a suite even though one was available to book online. We had to show it to the manager who than agreed (unwillingly) to give it to us if we agreed to wait for it for 3 hrs. We did and the suite was lovely but check in experience very unpleasant.
On our second stay we were promised in writing on email interconnecting rooms. We were also assured at check in that our 2 rooms connect and have an open door between them. Imagine our surprise when we got to the rooms and they were NOT connecting at all. We called the front desk and were told that they made a mistake and they have no connecting rooms for the night. Luckily our children were a little older so it wasn't a big issue. If we brought our 2yo it would've been a bigger problem, so beware! The stuff have no idea in this hotel!
On a Platinum note - not a slightest acknowledgement of our status took place in this hotel (not card or fruit plate or any other small gesture). More so, they tried (quite rudely) to get us out of the rooms at 12pm (instead of 4pm) and it took a conversation with a general manager to sort that out. Front desk staff lie in your face (like that they have guests checking into these rooms, which appear they don't after manager looked into it).

Cleanliness - my room had a few black hairs in the sink when we checked in and some things in the wardrobe...not 5 star. The rest was OK.

Ok, to summarise - if you can get good price (mid week) and can look past the service I think it is a lovely hotel for a short break.

Tips to the hotel - please work on your staff - they are really the worst out there.

Acknowledgements - the porter is very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. And the breakfast room manager (older lady). They are the only 2 staff members I would keep if I managed this property.

Room Tip: Tips to the guests - rooms on the 2nd floor are very pokey with small windows, 1st floor rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the style of Lilianfels, and the timeless elegance of our rooms. I believe that the issue with the outdoor pool should be resolved as we just installed a brand new heating system to both the Hotel and our Pools.

Darley’s is our hatted fine dining option, and offers excellent food at reasonable fine dining prices.

Our lobby menu will change within the next two weeks, to offer more variety and a brand new concept.

I am disappointed to read that you experience some issues with our staff and how we handled the situation with you as a SPG member.

To ensure I can address your concern with the friendliness of the team, and to find out more about the cleanliness of your room I would appreciate if you could email me at gm@lilianfels.com.au, or call me on 02 4780 1200

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caux, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

For half the price this might be acceptable. A musty smell redolent of decay in the main lounge. Faded carpets. Housekeeping invisible. Ditto management. (Although I did see a bloke I presume to have been the supreme boss walk past a guest struggling to unload his car.) Extra and exhorbitant charges for slow internet access. Supplement for fresh orange juice. Some decent, friendly staff doing their best but obvious that the owners are interested in squeezing every dime out of their guests, relying on the reputation to keep the punters coming. The gap between promise and performance is a chasm. This establishment is frankly annoying.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

I am sorry to read that your experience with us did not meet your expectation.

I would appreciate if you could email me at gm@lilianfels.com.au, or call me on 02 4780 1200, so we can discuss your concerns in more detail.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This resort looks very pretty from the outside, but we were very disappointed once we checked in. Everything was very worn and in dire need of replacement. It is a very short walk to Echo Point to view the Three Sisters. It is a bit of a longer walk into town, but there is little to do there. When we woke in the morning, we scattered a roach on the inside of the window when we opened the curtains. Needless to say, we were quick to check out that morning. This may be the best accommodations in this area, but it is definitely not a 5-star establishment.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

I am disappointed to hear that you felt our rooms are worn, as we try to ensure that all our rooms and facilities are kept in good condition, and replace anything that is not up to standard.
As you pointed out our location is very close to the three sisters, and therefor in the middle of the Blue Mountains National Park.

We of course spray on a regular basis for pests, but given the location we will from time to time get visitors.

I hope you accept my apologies, and I can welcome you back to Lilianfels in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

A bit on the pricey side but...

The place was well kept and the breakfast buffet was excellent. We lucked out - the room on the second floor had an excellent view of the mountains (see attached picture from our window).

It is a short walk to Echo Point lookout (and plaza) - so if you want to take pictures before the busloads of tourist arrive, you can have the place to yourself.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for a room with the view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort and Spa on Tripadvisor.com

It great to see that you enjoyed the Hotel, the location and our breakfast buffet. I hope I can welcome you back to Lilianfels soon.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Avenue, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa Katoomba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.