We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend away.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   5-19 Lilianfels Avenue, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great weekend away.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We chose Lillianfels to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It is well located with spectacular views. It is not a large hotel which gives it some charm and the quality furnishings and fires in the lounge and bar area make for an excellent place to relax. The room was very comfortable and well equipped. We ate at Darleys, which is quite expensive , but the food was outstanding.
In particular the breakfasts were very good, and served to order if requested.
Would recommend for a quite time away as a base to visit the Blue Mountains

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    303
    181
    70
    31
See reviews for
165
689
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I spent a 2 night stay here. The resort is indeed spectacular and extremely inviting with it's welcoming fireplaces and plush lounge areas. Stunning interior decorations, wall papers, lamps and artwork filling the halls. The pool area was clean and surrounded by beautiful windows looking out to the manicured gardens. The bedrooms were very clean and the bed like falling into a cloud. We did think that the food and drinks were overpriced though. The wait service was generally attended to by young "trainee" types so it wasn't always effortless. The position of the hotel to the 3 Sisters is unsurpassed. We ate a meal in the Orangery restaurant for one dinner and the other in Echoes Hotel nextdoor which we preferred. Breakfast was lovely...perfectly cooked poached eggs with hot/ cold choices available. As we have children and it was our first trip away without them this small getaway in this grand hotel was like a dream. It is on the pricey side though but sometimes it;s worth the indulge. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We booked for 2 nights and left a day early. We ordered high tea and specifically asked if the sandwich contained chicken. No was the reply, coronation egg. Turned out it was chicken and my wife experienced an allergic reaction breaking out in an uncomfortable rash. Just terrible!

There were many other disappointing things about this hotel and it has really gone down hill. The towels are like sand paper and need replacing, same with the robes. The room was cleaned but dirty glasses, empty bottles and other mess not cleaned away. We ate at Darleys and had the 3 course dinner as part of our booking. Really surprised that sides with the main meal did not come with the 3 course dinner, how tight is that. No vegetarian option on the main. Breakfast was very average.

No compassion shown when checking out a day early or even any surprise shown even though my wife was clearly uncomfortable and in distress.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Had heard about Lilianfels as a child from parents and their friends who often made trips to the Blue Mountains. Decided to stay here with Fiance but was disappointed! Excellent service on arrival, but for the price of one room for one night $250, nothing else was included in this price! (Seems cheap, but many more hotels in the same area for a lot less!!) No view from our room apart from the carpark, all meals and drinks were extra with dinner costing minimum of $89 for two course meal and more for 3 course! High Tea was over $60 per person! and devonshire tea was over $30 for tea/coffee and a scone! Rooms were very dated with old wallpaper (which may or may not be kept with the theme). Showers were small and TV Channels were terrible! Would definitely recommend an update of the hotel, ensuring that prices are not so high! as there are plenty of other hotels, houses, motels even that are in the exact same area with equal services (probably much cheaper scones!). Will not be staying here again - having been to the Blue Mountains many times, do yourself a favour and book a B&B, a house or another hotel! Save yourself the money and disappointment!!

Room Tip: Save yourself the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Down Under
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Lilianfels is a fine hotel in an excellent location that combines old wold charm with high prices and poor service. The low point of an otherwise mediocre experience (room safe not working, no coffee in room as advertised, being barked at by reception) was an evening meal we had in the lounge. After a half hour wait just to have a someone take our order we than had to wait a further half hour for my chosen dish of spiced-rubbed chicken Caesar salad to arrive, with the chicken distinctly un-rubbed with spice, or indeed anything else!. My dish was whisked away and after initiating some enquiries we were informed that another quarter of an hour would be required to remedy the situation. Not good enough - the family were finished their meals so it was off to bed with no meal for me.

The formal restaurant was not really an option either, as Lilianfels makes it quite clear that my daughter of eight would not be be welcome - the description given for Darley's is "not suitable or recommended for children under the age of twelve". Nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband, my 21 month old son and I stayed at Lilianfels for 2 nights midweek august. We were very impressed with the charm and character of the resort, it has a very relaxing feel to it, but we were definitely one of the only families with a young child there... so if he raised his voice, everyone knew about it!!! It was generally quite a laid back atmosphere, didn't really have that "snobbish" no-children vibe you can get at some 5 star hotels, so we felt quite comfortable there with our baby which was good, even though we did stand out.

The lounges around the fireplace were great to relax and have a bite to eat, ALTHOUGH, our one big problem was the service we received from the young men there every time we went there. It was an absolute struggle to get their attention to order, the drinks took forever to arrive and even worse the second time we went there we were waiting around for so long to try to get someone to clear the dirty table (the place was not busy at all) so then we reluctantly requested and STILL it was not done! Very frustrating, obviously the service was quite bad in the lounge area, especially for the price you pay.

We were impressed with the buffet breakfast (small, but sufficient) and the grounds of the resort are beautiful to stroll around. The indoor pool & spa facilities are WONDERFUL and I had a massage at the day spa which was absolutely amaaaazing! Would highly recommend (yes pricey, but the experience is worth it).

The rooms whilst many may say are dated, we think have a lovely charm about them. Definitely not your cold, bland modern day hotel feel which is nice, something a bit different! Although our outlook wasn't nice and the room was quite dark, that was the downfall. But the bed was super comfortable with lovely linen and toiletries. And for the super cheap rate we got, we were very impressed.

So all in all a great family getaway, and we would consider staying here again, but may look elsewhere first purely to see if there are any more family orientated resorts that can still offer the same luxury, charm and relaxing atmosphere, I may say that could be very hard to find!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We recently had a weekend stay at the renowned Lilianfels and were extremely disappointed this time around. Our previous stay was a few years ago which was absolutely wonderful and faultless. Unfortunately we didn't get the same experience this stay. The service was lacking, not welcoming and seemed that standards have been reduced somewhat compared to our previous stay. The little luxuries and special touches were conspicuosly absent, the staff disorganised and hurried and the general condition of the hotel was looking tired and uncared for. Not what you expect for a hotel of this standard. Probably won't hurry back again anytime soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
4.0 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
0.8 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

Address: 5-19 Lilianfels Avenue, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#3 Spa Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilianfels Resort and Spa is a renowned haven for relaxation in one of Australia's most beautiful destinations. This multi-award winning hotel & resort is set amidst two acres of manicured gardens, overlooking the most spectacular scenery in the World Heritage Listed Blue Mountains National Park in NSW, Australia.Blue Mountains Accommodation | Blue Mountains HotelLilianfels Resort and Spa is a 5 Star resort with 85 Deluxe rooms and Suites. Onsite recreational facilities include heated indoor and outdoor pool, tennis court, billiard/games room, library and gym. Lilianfels is perfectly located within 5 minutes walk to the iconic 3 sisters rock formation at Echo Point and is close to all major attractions including Scenic World, Leura shopping village and award winning restaurants. Blue Mountains Dining | Blue Mountains RestaurantSituated within the grounds of the historic homestead of Sir Frederick Darley, Lilianfels is home to the multi-award winning Darleys Restaurant which features the best seasonal produce from the region, served in an elegant and romantic setting that is unmistakeably fine dining. Celebrate that special occasion in glamour and experience the revival of Lilianfels 'Old World Charm' as we invite you to peruse and tempt your palette with our new A La Carte Menu.Re-discover why our Multi-Award winning Restaurant excels again in style and service.Blue Mountains Conferences | Blue Mountains MeetingsWith meeting and events space for up to 100 guests complete with state-of-the-art equipment, 85 spacious accommodation rooms to house your delegates, and a fabulous array of fine dining options to choose from, it’s the ideal setting for meetings and conferences which will show your colleagues or clients how much you value them.Blue Mountains WeddingsThis European style country house hotel specialises in smaller weddings and events of up to 100 people. Personalised service, exceptional facilities and thoughtful attention to detail, accompanied by stunning views of the Jamison Valley make the hotel the ideal wedding venue.Blue Mountains Spa | Blue Mountains Beauty TreatmentsLilianfels is also renowned for its Spa. Guests can indulge in an array of soothing spa treatments individually tailored to refresh and rejuvenate. Enliven your senses with our soothing and restorative body and beauty treatments delivered by a team of caring and talented spa professionals.Dining with Spectacular Views at our sister property – Echoes RestaurantDiscover why Echoes Restaurant was awarded best regional restaurant in Australia by AHA in 2012. The combination of fine dining and spectacular views of the Jamison Valley have made Echoes a destination in the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Hotel Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort And Spa
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Katoomba
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa Katoomba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.