We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waiting too long” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blackburn's Katoomba Family Hotel

Blackburn's Katoomba Family Hotel
15 Parke Street, Katoomba, New South Wales, Australia
02-4782-1106
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 74 Restaurants in Katoomba
Cuisines: Pub, Australian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Waiting too long”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our family group of four visited the bistro on a Sunday night at the start of school holidays. Room about half full at start. Ordered meals before 6 pm but still waiting at 7.15 pm. Only one person working in kitchen and one waitress, unable to keep up with demand as room filled. Food was eventually delivered as we were about to leave and was reasonable. However, we did not pay for one of the meals as by the time it arrived our grandson was too tired to eat. The bistro has potential but needs some better management. We won't be back in a hurry!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    10
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lemon Tree Passage, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very poor food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in Katoomba for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary. This hotel would have to be the worst place to eat at. We arrived at just after 6pm and did not get our meals until 6.45pm. even thought there was only 3 other couples there when we arrived. We weren't expecting 5 star food, but were expecting decent food cooked well and reasonably fast service. We got none of this. The food was undercooked and 1 meal was incorrect. But after waiting 45 minutes, we ate it and left vowing never to eat there again. $37 wasted. The chinese meal we had in Katoomba St was much better for a lot less money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“hello”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

hello

we went to jenolan caves and on the way home we stopped over nite at theis pub and it wasnt real crash hot the room were really hot and no fan and the shower were broken in women bathroom and the men shower u couldnt even move in there it was that small
so we did have tea at the bistro as well but 2 the meals were over cooked and the rest the meals were nice

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good option for families”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The food was pretty average (my barramundi was greasy and 'old' and the accompanying chips were drowned in chicken salt) but the atmosphere was perfect for our family of four and our kids loved that they could draw on the paper tablecloths/play with lego while we waited for our meals to arrive. The sole waitress was very busy but friendly and engaging.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good pub feed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a Sunday lunch here and the roast was very generous and staff friendly. Good place for a lunch on the way through katoomba

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackburn's Katoomba Family Hotel also viewed

Leura, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Blackburn's Katoomba Family Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackburn's Katoomba Family Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.