We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Station Bar & Wood Fired Pizza

Station Bar & Wood Fired Pizza
287 Bathurst Rd, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
02 4782 4782
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 70 Restaurants in Katoomba
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012 via mobile

Fresh and tasty pizzas. Lots of fresh topping and really crisp bases. Good value for money. Friendly and efficient service. So good we weren't back two nights in a row! Excellent flavourful pale ale too.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    50
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beware restaurant reviews based on a single tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My husband and I live in the Katoomba area and were initially very much attracted to the "proper grown up" bar vibe of the Station Bar. It seems to have been a long time coming with some valiant attempts notably at the Carrington Hotel and Jack Thompson's tenure at the Gearins'.
Finally someone opened a bar with a reasonably adventurous outlook. It is a pretty straightforward business model that is very well executed. The boss chooses new craft beers from month to month to have on tap as well as having live music and wood fired pizzas.
It was with some distress we noted that the quality of the food came into question in the East Coast Australia edition of the Lonely Planet. August journal though it is we feel the criticism of the pizzas is unwarranted. They have a touch of adventure with crocodile and kangaroo toppings and everything beautifully fresh. These are NOT traditional pizzas but they are well executed and reasonably priced....I think the reviewer for lonely planet should give Staiton Bar another go

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains NSW
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Relaxed & Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We visited this restaurant as a large family & friends party prior to attending a local show. The procedure is to order drinks and pizzas at the bar and leave a credit card with the bar attendant for payment at the end. The drinks were not expensive and the pizzas arrived quickly. When I booked, it was explained to me that the oven holds a maximum of 8 pizzas, so we may need to stagger our orders. This did not prove to be a problem as some of our party arrived late. The pizzas were crisp and delicious and quaintly named after all the Blue Mountains towns. Our request for a highchair for my small grandson was fulfilled promptly and cheerfully and it was actually very clean. We all enjoyed the very relaxed feel of the place complemented by tasty food and good service...will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Quick service, fantastic Pizzas and Beer! Recommend to anyone.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

After spending a couple of weeks holidaying in the mountains with friends we decided to head to the Station Bar on the last day to have a couple of drinks and a wood fired pizza on the recommendation of the hotel owner. I must say its a wonderful looking modern style pub with great ambience. The place looked promising until we were served our pizzas. Not very good at all. How can a wood fired pizza lack flavour? Well they certainly managed to do it. So if you're looking for a good bar to knock back a few, then this is probably the best in Katoomba, just don't order any of the food.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Station Bar & Wood Fired Pizza also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Station Bar & Wood Fired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Station Bar & Wood Fired Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.