We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming budget accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cecil Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katoomba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cecil Guesthouse
Save
You added The Cecil Guesthouse to your Saves list
108 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming budget accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very charming place with a great atmosphere! The entertainment room is great, albeit a little cold in winter. We set out on a 2day bushwalk very early in the morning and they provided a private breakfast in the gorgeous tearoom with great views. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    37
    13
    9
    14
See reviews for
17
29
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

this is the third time I have stayed there, so I consider that to be fairly loyal as a customer.
the manager is lacking in PR skills meaning he is not friendly and greeting and does not like to engage in social chit chat.
the place always as the two front doors open so it is freezing.
there is no heating in the main areas and when you go into the tv room at night there is only an old oil heater, that takes forever to heat up . they do have a log fire but they have a problem in supplying wood for it meaning one log for the fire and the front door is open so you can feel a terrible breeze. the tea and coffer area is dark and dirty and they don't like supplying light bulbs when they burn out. plus the staff use the place for their own parties and that is when they have a real log fire going.

I wanted to contact the owner but they would not give me his details so I spoke to a manager but she was to lazy to care. so I am writing this to warn all innocent victims do not stay there you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCecil, Manager at The Cecil Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Dear Samantha,

I spoke with you in depth about what your complaint was and, in the end, all you could say was the staff were making you uncomfortable and staring at you here and out in public. This really surprised me because the staff you were talking about are probably the loveliest people I've ever met.

After discussing the issues with said staff, I learnt you had been severely intoxicated while you were here, refusing to let house keeping staff in, and sprawling towels throughout our communal bathrooms. I believe the above fabrication of your experience here was purely to hurt the business due to some personal vendetta. Thankfully the more honest reviews are posted here too.

All the best - the lazy manager!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were on a road trip and booked a mixture of accommodation....this was the most basic of guesthouses but we felt it was good value for money. We had a double and a single room using shared bathroom facilities. Comfortable and clean are the words I would use and the breakfast is a lovely touch for those on a budget. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the location tucked in behind the main street is extremely quiet.....a two minute drive to breathtaking scenery which we are glad we saw on the evening we arrived as the next two days were raining and masked the view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night and paid $60 for 2 beds in a 4 bed room, which we shared with another traveller.
At reception there is a sign which states that this is NOT a backpackers but a guesthouse. However, it seems strange to have shared 'dorms' in a guesthouse.
In general the house is very run down.
You can tell that this was once a beautiful house and it has great potential but it needs a lot of work to bring it to the standard of a reasonable guest house.
The staff were friendly enough, breakfast was basic, nice view from back of house.

As they describe themselves as a guest house we had slightly higher expectations than we would have of a backpackers. We are confused as to what level of accommodation and type of clientele they are aiming for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCecil, Manager at The Cecil Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Hi there,

We are in the process of changing from a backpackers to a guesthouse - the room you stayed in is the last dorm room which will be gone soon. The dorm has been left to honor our final reservations for that room.

During the move back to a guesthouse, backpackers are getting a share-room bed and continental breakfast for $30 a night, which I think is very fair. Once you include the expenses for clean linen, breakfast and staff to clean the room, we don't gain much from these beds.

All this information is readily available to anyone that would ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Been staying here for years for the music festival weekend and seen the old place in various incarnations. Under new management again, management seems to change every couple of years, and definitely back to a guesthouse and not a hostel anymore. The current managers are continuing the previous managers refurbishment and are doing a good job. The problem is that some serious money needs to be spent on the buildings structure and the owners arent willing to spend the money. For the price its still a good place to stay. Great location and its nice to stay in a place where guests talk to each other. Always found it to be a friendly place, both the staff and the guests.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Cecil looks pretty ramshackle from outside, but inside it is all old-fashioned comfort. The shared bathrooms are dated but well-maintained, as are the bedrooms. Just off the main street, it was very convenient for the Blue Mountains Ukulele Festival held at The Carrington, which was the reason I was in Katoomba. Good complimentary Continental breakfast in the sunny dining room which opened onto the gardens. Very good value all round. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs on the east side overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Cecil's friendly new owners are working hard to turn it round after years of neglect. They deserve to succeed. It's comfortable, clean, centrally positioned - and you get a very good complimentary breakfast thrown in. Excellent value!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCecil, Manager at The Cecil Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you Derek. We're glad you both enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Katoomba Mountain Lodge
Katoomba Mountain Lodge
#17 of 20 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#8 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cecil Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cecil Guesthouse

Address: 108 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello future guests,It is our pleasure to announce that The Cecil is under new management as of 02/12/12. We are in love with The Cecil and passionate about making your stay a pleasurable experience rather than just a bed for the night.We look forward to ensuring you enjoy your stay.Cecil Management ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cecil Guesthouse Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cecil Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.