We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cecil Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katoomba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cecil Guesthouse
Save
You added The Cecil Guesthouse to your Saves list
108 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Old and tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

we stayed at the cecil for 2 nights on our trip to the blue mountains, as the aussie dollar was so strong this was the most cost effective option but still expensive for what we got.
The hotel is old and run down, but they are attempting to renovate the place. The staff are increbibly helpful and kind. A nice touch was they left easter eggs at everyones door on easter sunday.
Breakfast was provided and the rooms were spotless which was great and the location was ideal to the main street.
I wiykd recommend going to the Mountain ridges cafe as the food is amazing and located on the main street.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    37
    13
    9
    14
See reviews for
17
29
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I've been staying here for the music festival weekend for quite a few years and had seen the place get more and more rundown to the extent that I wouldn't stay there anymore. Now, under new management, the old girl is gradually being done up. There's a sense that she's a guesthouse again, not a run down backpackers, and that somebody cares for her. There's a long way still to go but the rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful, a light breakfast included and I couldn't complain about the price. I look forward to seeing her come back to life. Don't go expecting 5 star (or even 4 star) but if you like quirkly places with a bit of character and history, the Cecil is worth a look.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

I recently stayed a night here and found it fine, more than fine. With the Australian dollar so strong, it's hard to find a single room for under $50 but I managed to get one here that was spotless... Yes the décor is old and it needs TLC but the important things were all in place; cleanliness, location, a comfy bed and good showers. I would heartily recommend the Cecil.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This property can be viewed either way. We saw the character and bemoaned the deferred maintenance. But we have a 90 year old house and know how much it takes to maintain a older property. Yes it could be refurbished but you would not be paying the affordable (for Australia) rates. We were happy to take in the character and ignore the neglect. There is not much history in Australia but this building is part of it. Not our best hotel but our most enjoyable hotel.
Older couple

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Staying at the Cecil guesthouse is like walking into the set of an Agatha Christie movie, or reliving early childhood memories of English seaside guesthouse holidays. It was built 100 years ago, and still retains many of the features of a property from an earlier era, such as tea-rooms, pantries, and art nouveau furniture.

Unfortunately, time has not been forgiving on the Cecil Guesthouse. The tennis court will not be host to tennis any time soon, and the pool table is more scratch than baize. But the overall impression is one of charm, and nostalgia, albeit somewhat tumbledown.

In its favor, it is good value, the young Brits working there are very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast room, with morning sun slanting in over lovely mountainside views, is a charming place to start the day. I was particularly impressed by their honesty, in providing breakfast for free, even though the site I'd booked through had not informed me as such.

It's not the Ritz, and doesn't intend to be. It's called a 'guesthouse', and that is, with all its connotations, what you get. But we had a lovely stay there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Price: TOO expensive for the quality of service and what you actually get.
Advertisement: Inacurate, the photos and comments do not depict of what is actually there.
Location: Hard to find, behind the main street through a narrow alley, parking is terrible and small.
Recreation: Billard table - broken. PingPong Table - standard, Tennis court - No net, has too many weeds, could be used for hide and seek.
Hot Water: Sometimes.
Local Wildlife: 8-legged kind Everywhere.
Bed: Comfortable and warm
Bedroom features: No table, single closet which smells of mildew. Bathroom is actually a ship kit bathroom, which is ideal for children. But not actually a bathroom. Windows broken and slowing coming apart. A lot of nice decorations but putting lipstick on a corpse isnt going to make it any better is it.
View: LOL
TV Room. No tv reception.
Tea Room: I have seen better in a small caravan.
Breakfast Room: Old and rustic, meaning old and unkept
Breakfast: poor, eg for a poor person.
Overall if H2G2 had a stop-over, it would of been classed as the next best thing to stubbing ones shin on the tow-bar of a car.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in August 2011, whilst driving from Melbourne to Sydney. It was our 4th night on the trip, which we had booked in the UK. We had looked at their web site and cannot understand how we missed the negative reviews. Anyway we did somehow. We booked a "superior room (or was it deluxe?) en suite" Cannot remember the exact words but we wanted a bit of comfort for two nights in the Blue Mountains ! My heart sank as we eventually found the alleyway which led to the hotel, and sank even further when we read the words backpackers hotel, not something we remembered seeing on the web site. I would also say their picture on this site was extremely misleading, the view being of ? somewhere else nearby but not of view from hotel. The reception was shabby, with dirty windows in the reception office. Chairs rather scruffy.
Checked in and were shown to our room. It was freezing cold, the windows appeared in a very bad state, the en suite was a large "drop in" wardrobe looking affair. No room to undress in it and close the door as well, your knees twisted to one side whilst on the loo, to allow room for the sink. Could not see where the extraction fan went to but since the top of this "wardrobe" was well below the top of the high ceilings in the room, and since said ceiling had dampish looking marks I had my suspicions. Water took forever to drain out of the tiny sink. There were two dents in the walls of the room, like fist holes, and the door had an old keyhole stuffed, (? for privacy) with an old tissue
We had a great meal out, and I stole myself back. On the plus side we had left a heater on, the beds were spotless, and there was an electric blanket but it was hardly the standard of accommodation we were led to expect, and costwise was much the same as we had already been paying so that was no exscuse . Breakfast was DIY, as was the washing up. Did not have anyone in sight to look after us. Guided by the other table as to what the routine was.
I loved this building and its period detail . The potential is amazing. It could be fantastic. Someone must buy it and let it shine. It could be stunning, but at present it's not for those wanting standards you can find and expect in most places these days and believe you are actually booking.
Would not stay the second night and left early the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.3 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Katoomba Mountain Lodge
Katoomba Mountain Lodge
#17 of 20 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#8 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cecil Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cecil Guesthouse

Address: 108 Katoomba Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello future guests,It is our pleasure to announce that The Cecil is under new management as of 02/12/12. We are in love with The Cecil and passionate about making your stay a pleasurable experience rather than just a bed for the night.We look forward to ensuring you enjoy your stay.Cecil Management ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cecil Guesthouse Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cecil Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.