We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing descent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Giant Stairway

The Giant Stairway
Echo Point road | Echo Point, Katoomba, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 things to do in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing descent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Spent some time researching if this route was suitable for children on trip advisor and guides at Scenic World. This is a steep staircase. But don't tell that to my 4 1/2 year old. This is a must do when visiting the Blue Mountains. I would recommend 1 adult to supervise each child and only if children are used to stairs and bush walking. We started at the information centre at Echo Point. Stair case is through a rock archway to the left. About 10 minutes walk to the first descent which takes you through another rock archway down the stairs and on to the bridge actually on to the first of the 3 Sisters. Then continue down. A half way mark is engraved into the rock floor with a small lookout and seat. About 3/4 of the way down a pair of Lyre Birds overtook us as they ran up the stairway. Took about 1 hour to get down, having plenty of rest stops and time for hands to warm up ( the handrail gets very cold for children). Then continued through easy rainforest walk to the Scenic Railway. Pay for the train ride up as you get off the train. All up it was 2 and a half hours from Echo Point to the railway, saw heaps of Lyre Birds and pass directly under the cable car on Katoomba Creek. An amazing walk. Well worth it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    68
    15
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Scenery is gorgeous but watch those maps and trail markers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We started at the Information Center at Katoomba and intended to do a gentle, 2 hour walk, but ended up going down the Giant Staircase because we think we misinterpreted the signs and our map. Anyway, it was NOT a gentle walk; was a very strenuous one and we felt lucky we found the scenic railway to ride back up. Otherwise we would have been camping overnight in the Blue Mountains because we would not have been able to hike back up! I have now encountered several other travelers who confirm the maps and signage are confusing so it's not just my lameness. If you decide to hike from Katoomba be sure you check to make sure you're doing the hike you intend to do!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Walk down, then take train back up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a classic walk of the Blue Mountains and really a must-do here IMO. The staircase is very steep, so a good route is to start at Echo Point, take the staircase down and walk along the path to the Scenic Railway. From there, you can do further walks, or make your way back to Echo Point or your next destination.

If you buy an unlimited ride pass at the top of the funicular, you can ride back down - which is great fun - and you can take the other rides as well, such as the cable car (skyway) that heads towards Echo Point (although you must walk or take a bus from there).

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
183 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“If you are adventurous enough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This place is for strong hearted people. AMazing view of the mountains and waterfalls , just like in the survivors movies.
Beware: the steps are too steep and very very highly dangerous even for professional hikers. The rescue process can be complicated.
Don't try to take these stairs if you are fragile, just watch from above, you will not skip anything but the risk

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Walk down, not up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Walk down the steps and come up on the train or tram. Avoid a rainy day. Spectacular setting but marred by trash. Avoid holidays and get a very early start before the tour busses show up

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Giant Stairway also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 

Been to The Giant Stairway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Giant Stairway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.