We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Echoes Restaurant

Echoes Restaurant
3 Lilianfels Avenue | Hydro Majestic Hotel Blue Mountains, Katoomba, New South Wales NSW 2780, Australia
+61 2 4782 1966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 72 Restaurants in Katoomba
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: International, Australian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant is perched at the very edge of the Jamison Valley at Echo Point in the Blue Mountains. Our unique location offers stunning and uninterrupted panoramas of the National Park from every room, providing all our guests with ever-changing but always dramatic and breathtaking views. All this and only 90 minutes from Sydney! We are an intimate boutique Hotel offering a more personal style of service and an intimate atmosphere that is only found in boutique establishments. Our award winning eclectically designed building has 10 Deluxe View Rooms, 2 Corner View Suites, and 2 Superior Cliff View Rooms - all with en-suites, contemporary & stylish furnishings, generous indoor and outdoor seating areas to allow guests to soak in the views as well as the lush cool air of the rainforest valleys below. There are open fire places throughout the Hotel, an ambient bar/lounge as well as a private spa and sauna offering an array of soothing treatments. Echoes' Restaurant is set against the magnificent backdrop of Echo Point in the Blue Mountains with incomparable views of the Jamison Valley, surrounding cliff drops and lush rainforest valleys stretching all the way to the Mittagong, 80 kms away. The fresh air, myriad sounds of the bush and marvelous views are a feast for your senses whilst delighting in our creative cuisine and carefully selected high quality boutique Australian wines.
Maryborough, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Nice view and a great atmosphere, we where welcomed but the service went downhill from there. We waited a long time for our meal considering there was only 4 people in the restaurant.I had to,ask for my water glass to be filled. I am not sure what the staff where doing but they seemed to be hiding. I was also very disappointed to be charged a service fee to use a credit card when we paid $30 for a steak pie!, ( a very nice pie however) over priced and underwhelming

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent dining experience at Echoes Restaurant at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we failed in some areas to provide you with the service, and attention we are known for with our dinner service.

I hope you accept my apologies, and rest assured all issues raised will be addressed with our Restaurant Manager and Executive Chef.

I hope I will see you again soon at Echoes Restaurant


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    48
    15
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Nice room with small balcony flowing onto back garden overlooking the Jammison Valley, only 14 rooms here so it's quite personal. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent dining experience at Echoes Restaurant at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a relaxing and enjoyable dinner and our team that looked after you.

I hope we can welcome you back to Echoes Restaurant in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Bay NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The food was great and the service was awesome, very quiet and classy restaurant. Little bit pricey but it was worth it as the quality was good.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent dining experience at Echoes Restaurant at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a relaxing and enjoyable dinner and our team that looked after you.

I hope we can welcome you back to Echoes Restaurant in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“value for money in perfect loation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

the echoes, sisterhotel of the high praised lilienfels, is really a good solid hotel, loocated really perfectly in the blue mountains (katoomba) for hiking or whatever you plan.
the hotel is solid, has a good interior whih gives a warm atmosphere, relaxed friendly staff-members.
we had lunch, rather late, but were welcomed not only friendly but served quickly with good food!
i would go there again!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent dining experience at Echoes Restaurant at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a relaxing and enjoyable lunch and our team that looked after you.

I hope we can welcome you back to Echoes Restaurant in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Could be fantastic - but wasn't!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had high hopes for this place.
The location, setting and stylish entrance are fantastic. Parking is a bit of a problem but only a 2-minute walk.
This is a "special night out" sort of place, and quite expensive.
We booked ahead, confirming a table on the deck (it was a warm balmy evening). Got there and were told we had to sit inside, created a fuss and were then moved out onto the deck overlooking the Blue Mountains - awesome views but not a good start!
We were left unattended with no offer of drinks etc before dinner for quite some time. Eventually the waitress arrived to take our food order, we asked for a cocktail first, so got there eventually.
Food quality and presentation was really good - 4.5* fine dining quality, no complaints there.
However - we had ordered a side dish of vegetables which did not arrive, after a while we asked?
Their reply - we ran out of that! Wouldn't you expect they would have told us before hand so we could have chosen something else?
The wine waiter pored our wine and split some on the table, no apology, not even a "woops sorry about that" just left the puddle.
The evening progressed OK, but the wind got up and it started to drizzle, no one offered to move us inside, as we had finished eating we moved into the bar for a nightcap, no one came to serve us, after some time we decided we had enough of the place and left.
Such a pity the service was so consistently bad, it spoiled what could have been a fantastic evening.
They have all the ingredients for a fantastic restaurant, if they can get their act together.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralf B, General Manager at Echoes Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent dining experience at Echoes Restaurant at Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant

I am disappointed to read that on this occasion we failed in some areas to provide you with the service, and attention we are known for with our dinner service.

I hope you accept my apologies, and rest assured all issues raised will be addressed with our Restaurant Manager.

I hope I will see you again soon at Echoes Restaurant


With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Echoes Restaurant also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Echoes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Echoes Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.