We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old City Bank Brasserie

Old City Bank Brasserie
15 - 47 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales, Australia
+612 4782 1111
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 74 Restaurants in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Pub, Australian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Good Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Very good food. We had garlic bread, entrée of softshell crab w/greens & dressing, mains of pork cutlet w/berry sauce, mash patty and slivered green beans. The descriptions of the dishes on the menu sounded simple, but everything tasted so delicious. Service was attentive.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    115
    32
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
403 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We were looking for a decent pub to get some beer and a burger and the downstairs section of the brasserie certainly hit the mark there. Beer was good and the burger very tasty indeed. Just what we wanted really, so nothing more to say!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle, australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food with a relaxed feel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Food was delicious- both tender steak and spicy pasta. Mains about $20 :) staff very friendly. Quite a few locals which is a good sign.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Started the night with some hunger quenching wedges and a few drinks downstairs before we met up with friends - then upstairs - we ordered fish (excellant), roast vegetable salad with goats cheese (excellant) but the liguini - I'll order something else next time. Deserts were great and the staff didn't start putting chairs on tables even through we were the last there.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cool lighting, decor.... good food .... classical and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We visited Katoomba over this long weekend and looked up this place on Tripadvisor ...
They only take bookings till 6.30pm on Fri and Sat night so we dined early and that was a good move cos the place was packed being winter and a long w'end.
The brasserie, which is actually part of The Carrington Hotel, is upstairs from the bar, cute bar. We sat down and got menus right away, ordered 5 mins later... which is good seeing that it can take sometimes 15 mins in Sydney to even get a menu! I had a glass of sav blanc and my uber dining mate had a coffee and we shared a garlic bread, followed by a bit of a wait for the chicken tagine and atlantic salmon plus extra veggies. Over all it was a very well cooked and tasting meal, tho my husband really shud have had a steak and me the chicken cos i kept having bites of his. Salmon was cooked well, and just thru.... i find it a bit of a trendy fad undercooked fish. Dessert was to die for... classic sticky date pudding with caramel sauce and ice cream which we shared.
What we liked the most was the fact that it felt we had privacy whilst dining and that we could have a conversation without feeling paranoid.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old City Bank Brasserie also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Old City Bank Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old City Bank Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.