We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent and comfortable motel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Explorers Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 3 Explorers Motel to your Saves list
3 Explorers Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   197 Lurline St., Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A decent and comfortable motel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a well-run motel 5 minutes to Echo Point lookout and not too far from Katoomba town centre.

We stayed in a small room at the back of the building with a spa bath. The spa bath and shower were both superb and the bed very comfy, but the room was really dark during the day. Also, we wished there were slightly more 'tools' for eating (i.e. take away) than only two (small!) cups, 2 saucers and 2 teaspoons. It would make sense with a microwave in the room!

The service was friendly and really good. Overall a good place to stay; peaceful, and right opposite the famous chocolate shop!

Room Tip: The spa room at the back is nice and private, but very dark during the day. If you thrive on natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    117
    37
    4
    6
See reviews for
90
124
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The 3 Explorers is a basic, but clean and comfortable place to stay. It's reasonably priced by Katoomba standards, and the managers are friendly and unobtrusive. If you take the train to Katoomba the motel is a reasonable walk from the heart of town and the station (not so bad to the motel, but the walk into town is a bit of a climb). The upside of this is that you are only a five minute walk from Echo Point, with its spectacular views of the Three Sisters, Mt Solitary and the Jamison Valley.

The only real caveat about the motel is the paper-thin walls, and the very loud water pipes. Other than that I can recommend this as a place to stay if you're in the Blue Mountains for a few nights.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stay here for 2 nights in march 2013 .Staff is helpful . Nice and comfortable rooms , just next to three sisters. Chocolate factory is just next door and do not forget to wake up early morning to feel the fresh breeze. Would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed at the 3 Explorers for 3 nights in February and were very happy with the hotel. The room was not large but was comfortable, very clean and with a great shower. The location is excellent for exploring the Blue Mountains and is just a few hundred yards from Echo Point so that you can walk down at any time especially when the crowds have gone. Local restaurants are a little further - around 15 minutes or so walk. The staff were very friendly and helpful, there is free internet and if required a good breakfast can be served in the room at a reasonable cost. We would recommend the hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
152 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a bit of an odd place as it seemed quite dated. Having said that, by Australian standards it was quite cheap, it was clean and offered free WIFI. It's perfectly located as you can walk to the 3 Sisters etc and its a ten minute walk to "Pins on Lurline", the best restaurant in Katoomba. There's also a bar in the 3 Sisters Motel immediately next door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in February in an upper floor room. Staff were really helpfull and our room was clean, spacious and good value. Breakfasts were excellent and served in our room. Motel is very close to the three sisters and makes an excellent base for exploring the scenic deights of the area. Would recommend staying here if you are visiting the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a lengthy stay in this motel. The Managers are exceptionally helpful and friendly and did their utmost to make our stay a good one. We were in a ground floor unit. The rooms are modern and clean. We found the rooms were not very sound proof, the noise from next room and upstairs using the toilet and shower made for a disturbed sleep. It was also a shame that the upstairs spouting is blocked and when it rained it over flows to the ground which is also noisy at night. (These are problems which are out of the control of the Managers.) Our booking included a cooked breakfast each day and we were a little disappointed with the food. (I sausage an 2 eggs and little variety.) The motel is well situated for the three sisters lookout area but is a distance from the shopping centre. Staff were excellent.

Room Tip: If ground floor a room away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.0 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Explorers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Address: 197 Lurline St., Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Explorers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.