We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of 3 Explorers Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 3 Explorers Motel to your Saves list
3 Explorers Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   197 Lurline St., Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“OK stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed for one night with our two teenage boys in the family room. No complaints. Room was OK. Bathroom a little dated but all adequate. Very convenient for the sights. The owners were away, but a very nice lady welcomed us and advised us on where to eat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    116
    37
    4
    6
See reviews for
89
123
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

On the whole I really liked this motel. Comfortably slept four, warm, new tv, good size bar fridge, clean. Very close to 3 sisters and the many walks. Was really quiet with comfortable beds. Needed the following: there was a withered yellowing sanitary bag in the bathroom that made a very clean bathroom appear dirty, really not sure why this would be left there, and my pet peeve the lock on the bathroom door did not work. A pen to fill out breakfast order would be nice too. Room good for a family overnight but too small for any lOnger than that. Overall I thought this was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I have chosen this motel because of the good reviews. My expectations were high and I was not disappointed. Furthermore, I was impressed by the quality of the service and the room. We have been welcomed by the owner who was particularly helpful, caring and friendly. The room was clean and cozy. The breakfast served at room without extra charge was a great start of the day. There are plenty of nice walks and falls to see from there. It is walking distance from the train station. I dont normally write reviews, but everything was so great, I thought the least I can do is share my enthusiasm for the 3 Explorers Motel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed here for the weekend. Admittedly the weather was miserable, but we didn’t have a great time here. The Hotel was okay, just not as nice as what we were expecting. It was lacking an atmosphere. Well that’s what we put it down to. My wife and I are sports mad & there were no cable channels to watch. We thought everybody had cable TV these days. The room was modest and the bathroom was a bit dated. Also, the room was very damp so there was a bad smell. You could hear the people in the adjacent rooms on both sides of us most of the night. Not sure if this is because of the walls or if they were really loud. If you are expecting a lot then this is not the place for you. The gentlemen that check us in Jason was nice and knew the area.

Room Tip: Dont stay up stairs if you can avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The motel has just been refurbished so the rooms are modern - exactly what you see in the internet. We got ourselves a luxurious spa room at around S$326, which i thought pricey for a motel. Well not much choice as it was a last minute booking & we were left with little choice, esp we were staying for a night on Sat. 3 explorers motel offers one of the nicest rooms amongst the hotels/motels available in Katoomba.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a friendly & polite lady receptionist.

Room: Luxurious spa suite has a main bedroom and another bedroom with 2 single beds. Jacuzzi tub with shower. Bathroom wasn't cold (3 deg that night) like it was mentioned in another review. Electric blanket and heater kept us warm throughout the cold night.
We had a great time soaking ourselves in the jacuzzi tub, easing all the aches after the long walks. However, we experienced trouble in turning the jacuzzi off before showering. Also, we tried for a few minutes getting the temperature of the shower right. When we thought it was warm enough, all the sudden cold water came in. We gave up. So we bathed using the taps from the jacuzzi. No problem with temperature from the jacuzzi's taps.
So, we needed assistance from the reception to help us fix the jacuzzi. Reception is closed after around 8pm. So, we rang the bell and waited. A man came (seemed we woke him up from his sleep) and checked. He managed to turn off the jacuzzi and checked the shower. Appreciative of what he has done, i wanted to thank him (since he took the trouble of coming up to assist us even when the reception is closed), but all i got was a scolding from him, saying that we do not know how to use the jacuzzi and no problem with the shower as well. I was very shocked with his attitude. Is this customer service? Vast different from the service i got from the lady when i checked in.

Location: Minutes away from Echo point & skyway station. Blue mountain Chocolate co is just across the street. (Real hot choco is a must try). 5 minutes walk to Swiss cottage restaurant (good food and service), take away cafe (for our breakfast). Trolley bus stand is just nearby. (the stand is not obvious, look out for the sign on a post.)

Free wifi.

Overall, the experience with 3 explorers motel has been good, except for the black sheep encountered. Will i stay again? Yes, but not a weekend.

Room Tip: Weekday stay will get u a better deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

My family and I recently stayed at this motel and would recommend to anyone wanting a great mountain escape. It was comfortable, clean and the rooms looked great!! The family rooms had ample space unlike most motels in this price range and the staff were friendly and helpful. We were walking distance to all the major attractions which was great for the children and we were also able to walk to a great restaurant for dinner. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Good cleam rooms, good size, free wi fi, good stroll to the main street of Katoomba

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.0 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
1.5 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Explorers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Explorers Motel

Address: 197 Lurline St., Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Katoomba
#4 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Explorers Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your 3 Explorers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Explorers Hotel Katoomba
3 Explorers Motel Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 3 Explorers Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.