We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Flying Fox Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Flying Fox Backpackers to your Saves list
The Flying Fox Backpackers
190 Bathurst Rd, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cold rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Bedrooms were freezing at night, were given extra blankets but still felt the cold.
Hostel has an old-fashioned vibe.
Staff very friendly and kept the place clean.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    26
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
22
56
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leura, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

This place has lots of charm and I found owner very helpful. He gave me maps for hiking and spent the time to explain in detail where to go. I even sat down to a free pasta on my return. This hostel is great value for money!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

This hostel is not good. It is cramped and dirty and messy. The manager is not very polite, he should take a course in how one behaves towards guests. Well, the young people staying there won't complain about that, so that's why he gets away with it. In a hotel his business wouldn't last a day. A lot of noise throughout the day, and worse: at night. Loud music, young people talking about quitting school and showing off about smoking pot...
I have never been to such an awful place.
I'm in another hostel now. Lovely, clean, young people and families together, everybody feels welcome. It's a matter of good management.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

We camped here and it was fab! We had full use of the hostel facilities even though we were camping. Funky hippy vibe, with campfire and outdoor music hut.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Very clean and very quiet. Free net. Basic breakfast. It was very cold in our double room. We asked for an extra heater and some blankets but it was still quite cool. They should install central heating for winter. Far away from the rim of the canyon. Not enough bathrooms - there were only a couple of people and yet the loos were engaged all the time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

My fiance and I stayed at flying fox in June of 2010 and unfortunately it was the worst part of our trip. This related to note enough heating available both in the rooms and in the main area of the house. The lack of proper heating caused many backpackers to leave early and for some to get sick.

Unfortunately because of this I cannot recommend this place to others, hopefully they will be better prepared for cold weather in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Overall the hostel was at best ok, the this review gets a 1 star rating because it was not equipped to handle the cold in Katoomba in the winter. It wasn't just us that were freezing, but other hotel goers, so much so that many were leaving early. The heaters were on timers that turned off in the middle of the night and turned on/off every 5 minutes or so so the room would stay freezing cold.

This might be a fine hostel outside of winter, but I would recommend trying another hostel in town or a hotel if you are going there in winter.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
1.3 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Blue Mountains Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No. 14
No. 14
#2 of 13 in Katoomba
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Mountains YHA
Blue Mountains YHA
#4 of 13 in Katoomba
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Fox Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Fox Backpackers

Address: 190 Bathurst Rd, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flying Fox Backpackers is located in a lovely old building, 400 metres from town. Established to cater for independent travellers and not large groups, it's the perfect place to make new friends. A vibrant Hostel with No T.V. and log fires for warmth and atmosphere, people feel very relaxed at the Fox. Free Breakfast and free wifi internet, lovely double, twins and dorms secure Hostel with a great outdoor area with fires in side and out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Flying Fox Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Flying Fox Backpackers Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flying Fox Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.