We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Blue to your Saves list
Hotel Blue
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   88 Lurline Street | Cnr Lurline & Merriwa Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Felton Woods Manor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night and absolutely loved it. The hotel is not your standard plastic fantastic experience and if you need a 42" flat screen to have fun, then go elsewhere. Yep the paint is chipped and the grout is not sparkling white, but the beds are comfortable, the room is warm and cozy and all the public areas are enjoyable. Reading a book in front of a roaring fire with a glass of wine....heaven. The breakfast was good too, unlimited serves. You can have a fry up if you want or there are plenty of other options although the pancakes were very very stodgy on our day. I didnt find the hotel noisy at all...perhaps because we stayed saturday night...less busy than a weekday.

Room Tip: If you dont want a large neon sign outside your then dont choose room 21. I personally liked this r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    59
    26
    20
    21
See reviews for
27
81
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
sydney,australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We chose this place because it was within walking distance to all the places we wished to visit over the weekend (Three Sisters, Katoomba shops, The Rooster restaurant)We also like to stay in places with character and were impressed with the lounge areas that transport you back to another era, 1930's?perhaps.There were many things we liked about this hotel , the friendly staff, the meal we had in the restaurant, the locally sourced wines on the wine list, the good quality sheets and towels and comfortable mattress but there is still much to be done. The heating in both guest room and lounge area was not adequate for this time of year and our room was extremely run down with little to commend it. The room was miniscule with peeling paint and tired curling wallpaper. The small window looked onto the house next door, a tiny grainy screened tv was suspended from the ceiling, there was only room for one upright chair to sit on. The ensuite was particularly depressing with grey grunge surrounding the window, cracked and chipped tiles and small vanity where the veneer had peeled away to reveal chipboard swollen with the damp .Add to that a small showerhead with flimsy shower curtain sticking to your body as a result of the strong gusts of air from the fan.Very unpleasant. We booked well in advance and were the only ones staying 2 nights so don't know why we were allocated such a miserable room. We may have just been unlucky, other rooms may be much better.
What has been done so far in terms of restoration of the hotel in the communal areas is great but there is still much to be done and I wish them well.

Room Tip: steer clear of room 23.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were disappointed with the standard of accomodation based on the pictures on the Internet. The rooms were very dated, cold and damp BUT the staff were helpful and the location and breakfast good. Insulation and heating needed at this time of year!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Only stayed one night recommended by friend with 2 boys step back in time sure not the flash & showy Hilton I stayed in March but just as enjoyable don't go if you want minimalist but if something comfortable & friendly away from TV etc give it a try not expensive for position with a good brekky thrown in

Room Tip: We had 17 don't expect big or modern it's stepping back in time live on the wild side have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you are looking for a 5 star experience with all the trimmings, this hotel is not for you. If you're looking to stay in a quaint establishment that's a bit rough around the edges, quirky and old school this is the place to go. I absolutely love Agatha Christie novels and felt as if I'd stepped into one when I walked into the Hotel Blue.

The staff was lovely. We stayed during the Easter long public holiday weekend and checked in at 9 pm. The staff had no problem with this and courteously drove over to let us in at that time. The room was comfortable and filled with character. The TV was boxy and laughably decrepit, but fit with the theme of the hotel. We found the bathrooms to be perfectly fine and the rooms were nice and clean. We especially loved the electric blanket, which made the bed so cosy! The walls are thin, but we didn't mind it as we had gone there knowing full well what kind of style it was and just enjoyed the character of the hotel. We had a lovely breakfast the next morning, again with friendly staff.

The hotel isn't pretending to be a 5 star hotel, because it's not. If you just want a bit of fun and some time to relax, I would recommend this hotel. The hotel even hosts "Mystery Murder Parties" and that is exactly what it's suited for - It's the kind of hotel where you expect Sherlock Holmes to be around the very next corner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here in late June and couldn't believe our eyes when we arrived. Hotel is dated and worn, not quaint and classic. Don't believe the pictures, they paint an illusion that just isn't real. The decor should have been outlawed decades ago, the walls are paper thin, the road outside our room small and noisy, the breakfast poor quality, the log fires unlit ( in middle of winter, 5 degrees outside) and overall dismal atmosphere. On the plus side, the bed was comfy and staff friendly. Overall however, don't waste your money here, it's not even cheap.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here as a single traveller for a week in late May and found it suited my needs well. I travelled from Sydney via the train so had no transportation and had to walk everywhere and it was located in a perfect spot for that to occur, the rooms were a good price and included breakfast. The hotel has a beautiful charm and the general lounge and bar area is a great place to meet people in the evening while sitting by the fireplace enjoying a drink.
I did read the reviews on this site prior to booking and emailed the hotel beforehand to ask about a larger room in a quiet area and they put me in a queen room upstairs which was fine, it was a nice room well suited to the price (there are a few stairs so it could be a bit awkward if you had a lot of luggage). I did speak to a couple of others who said the downstairs rooms were a bit small but as they were only staying for a short stay it didn’t bother them too much but would want a bigger room for a longer stay.
I am not a big fan of old decor but I was surprised at how nice Hotel Blue was and I found that I didn't mind the furnishings at all and the soft blues music playing in the background gave it a very relaxed feel.
the staff were helpful and provided me with a few hints to help me for my holiday, they suggested to get around to use the double decker Explorer bus which is a tourist bus for Katoomba and Leura, there is a bus stop 100m away from the hotel. they also suggested to get a scenic world package with the bus and it is the cheapest option, which worked out perfectly. For meals there is a RSL next door and a heap of restaurants within a short work.
It is not a 5 star hotel, the rooms are old but still nice and the Hotel is in the process of being done up, you do need to pre book the spa to let them heat it up but I still thought it was a lovely hotel and good value for money. the breakfast's were good, the showers were hot and the atmosphere relaxing.
Overall it was an excellent holiday and made enjoyable by my stay at Hotel Blue, when I come back to the Blue Mountains I will be definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room in a quiet area. read the reviews from this site, they were quite helpful for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
0.5 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.7 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.7 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Metropole Guesthouse
The Metropole Guesthouse
#11 of 20 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 88 Lurline Street | Cnr Lurline & Merriwa Streets, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Felton Woods Manor)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Blue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Australia's spectacular Blue Mountains district, Hotel Blue is a boutique 1920s hotel that captures the charm and character of a bygone era. Hotel Blue features 24 cosy, comfortable Guest Rooms, a spacious Lounge with log fires, a boutique Bar, in-house Restaurant, Cafe, free live jazz, blues or folk music every weekend, free cooked breakfast for all hotel guests and free WiFi. Allow yourself to step back into yesteryear, amidst the rich art-deco style furnishings. Ornate chandeliers, velvet flocked wallpaper, beautiful antique furniture, richly embellished ceilings and hand-carved timber panelling, with old-time jazz and blues tunes playing in the background, give Hotel Blue its unique ambience, reminiscent of days gone by. Sink into a comfortable arm chair and bask in front of a roaring log fire in the open fireplace in the spacious Guest Lounge during the winter months, or enjoy a game of pool or cards. Refresh yourself with a relaxing drink in the intimate Parlour Bar, which particularly showcases the produce of regional wineries and breweries. The elegant in-house Sisters Blue Restaurant offers fine modern Australian cuisine, with an ever-evolving menu, and also offers unique dinner theatre experiences. The vibrant street-side Cafe 88 is a great place for a relaxing cup of coffee. UPCOMING EVENTS - contact Hotel Blue's friendly staff for more details! HOLLYWOOD NOIR SHOW $99.00 Includes a three-course dinner and a glass of sparkling wine A 1940s jazz noir show featuring the debonair Jimmy Vargas, the saucy Miss Liliana Scarlatta and original compositions from three-piece jazz combo "The Black Dahlias." Saturday 20 June 2015 Saturday 22 August 2015 Saturday 29 August 2015 Saturday 3 October 2015 Saturday 17 October 2015 YULEFEST with THE GOON SHOW LIVE! $140.00 (discounts for groups of 6+) Includes a a three-course Christmas dinner, a glass of mulled wine on arrival, plus coffee, tea and port after dinner This hilarious and irreverent live comedy show in three rip-snorting acts, each act being based on an original episode of the British radio programme “The Goon Show.” Saturday 27 June 2015 Saturday 4 July 2015 Sunday 5 July 2015 Saturday 11 July 2015 Saturday 18 July 2015 Saturday 25 July 2015 Saturday 1 August 2015 Hotel Blue is conveniently situated only 5 minutes’ walk from Katoomba’s central shopping and dining district, 10 minutes' walk from Katoomba Railway Station, and 15 minutes’ stroll from Echo Point’s World Heritage-listed views of the iconic Three Sisters and the Blue Mountains National Park. Each of Hotel Blue's comfortable Guest Rooms is equipped with a private en suite bathroom, 32-inch LED television with selected Foxtel channels, tea- and coffee-making facilities and fridge. Free WiFi is also available throughout all Guest Rooms and public areas of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.