We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attentive staff, good location and cheap, but in dire need of refurbishing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarendon Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Clarendon Guesthouse to your Saves list
The Clarendon Guesthouse
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   68 Lurline Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 20 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Attentive staff, good location and cheap, but in dire need of refurbishing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

The service from the hotel staff was pretty good overall although we didn't need to ask for much. Staff were quite responsive to any requests and provided the relevant information (e.g. when the opening hours were for breakfast). So no real complaints in this area...

The room however left a lot to be desired - fair enough we picked an "Old World Guesthouse" style room which is allegedly 3.5 star. Firstly, the room had no air conditioning although a pedestal fan was provided for our convenience - and even though it was a very pleasant 16 degrees celsius outside, it was much warmer inside - so much so that with no sheets or blankets on (even WITH the fan on) I was sweating during my sleep. Some spying on the motel-style rooms (the other option you can choose) revealed that they do get air-conditioning and even though those rooms looked smaller than the "Old World" ones (the room we were in had a second single-bed along with the double-bed) they would've probably been more comfortable.

The decor was quite tired too and the bathroom was shabby (tiles definitely needed regrouting). Also the bathroom was extremely tiny, larger people would probably struggle to even fit in. Unfortunately the water pressure/temperature for the shower didn't quite work either making it a miserable skin-scalding experience.

In terms of in-room features, the television only had reception for two commercial stations and the rest was poor. No Foxtel here either I'm afraid. Also the bar fridge made clunking noises every so often which didn't help with us getting any sleep.

The location of The Clarendon itself however is pretty good, but then again, Katoomba isn't a big town. It's situated only a few minutes walk from the main street where all the shops and restaurants of Katoomba are, and it's right next to an RSL. 20 mins walk or 4 mins drive down the road is the famous Echo Point and Three Sisters. Also The Clarendon is an entertainment venue of its own boasting live entertainment in its theatre restaurant every so often. The Guesthouse also has a gym, pool and even a sauna, but we never tried these amenities. Hot breakfast was included in our room price which was a plus.

What I liked best about "The Clarendon" was its attentive staff, good location and its reasonably sized "Old World Guesthouse" rooms.

What I least liked about the place was the lack of air-conditioning, tiny bathroom, and room features in disrepair (e.g. noisy fridge, shower, etc.)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    17
    18
    12
See reviews for
20
37
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

I found the clarendon to very cosy and clean .
Alittle disappointing that our rooms were not
checked for clean towels or more tea and coffee
or that the log fire was not going only put on when we asked
BUT GREAT STAFF GREAT BREAKFAST GREAT LOCATION.
We will be back .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth,
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

We stayed at the Clarendon for the Christmas in July event. We booked 2 rooms a couple of months in advance and specifically asked for the guesthouse rooms. Upon arrival we were told one of the rooms was changed to a motel room as it was given to guests who had arrived the night before. The lady at reception was lovely and tried to make some changes, but unfortunately we had no choice but to take one room in the motel and one in the guesthouse. We were given a discount to make up for this. The hotel itself could do with some renovations in the rooms, the bathroom, tv, heater are all very old, and not everything works properly, it took us a long time to get the shower to a normal temperature as it was either really hot or really cold. The rooms were clean, even though I was a bit worried about that after reading the reviews, so they must have taken the comments to heart.
The Christmas in July dinner was pleasant and the entertainment (Dr Dons Double Dose) was very good, although a few more sing-a-long Christmas songs would have made it even better. Breakfast is good.
You're probably better of spending a bit more on a nicer B&B then staying here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Our biggest disppointment related to the actual standard and presentation of the rooms versus the expected from the website images and the guide price in comparision with competition in Katoomba. More like a cheap and dirty country pub - not what we expected.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

The staff might be friendly, but so are the cockroaches. The Clarendon Guesthouse was probably nice fifty years ago but it needs a good clean, replumbing of the guesthouse rooms and redecoration. Motel rooms had dust that looked a year old on top of wardrobes and under the bed (where we found two cockroaches, one alive and one dead). The manager quickly refunded some money, suggesting that this is not an unusual occurrence. She admitted that her husband proposed a thorough clean once a month - obviously not something yet acted upon. This is unacceptable in a hotel. The door boasts three and a half stars but the pool was closed when we stayed. Katoomba accommodation is all very overpriced, but Sydneysiders say it is better value to stay in a very expensive place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

We spent four days at the Clarendon. The rooms are cosy and have lovely period furntiture. They are comfortable but not flash. The hotel is the place to stay, not the motel. Get a room in the hotel. They serve great breakfasts in the dining room. Full cooked breakfasts. The location is near the main street and not far from the Blue Mountains lookouts. Good value, great breakfasts, check out your room first as they vary. Staff are very friendly and cheerful. I recommend this hotel as a good value place to stay in an old style room with great breakfasts.

  • Liked — old style room and breakfasts
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

My family ans I stayed at the Clarendon and were very disappointed. It was 8 degrees and we had no heating in our room which was outside the guest house, more of a drive in Motel than a cosy guest house. The Web site offered open log fires, there was no warm fire to sit by just an old room with a couple of old lounge chairs and over the 4 days no log fire.
It was close to the main street of Katoomba, but not the cosy Guest House that it advertised.
The beds were clean, the phones did not work , and when I pulled the beds away from the wall to check the electric blankets were plugged in there were the remnants of previous guests belongings behind the beds. accompanined by years of dust.
Only one side of the electric blankets worked so it was a bit of a lucky dip as to who got that side. I did ask for some help as to get the air conditioning to work and was told they didnt know how and had no instructions.
We would never stay there again it was a totally disappointing.

  • Liked — The location to the main street of Katoomba and Echo Point.
  • Disliked — It did not supply what it advertised
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Metropole Guesthouse
The Metropole Guesthouse
#11 of 20 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Guesthouse

Address: 68 Lurline Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Clarendon Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your The Clarendon Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Guesthouse Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clarendon Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.