We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best BnB i've ever stayed at!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
98 Waratah Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
WINTER BLUES?
Ranked #5 of 20 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“the best BnB i've ever stayed at!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

after hiking the blue mountains and still trying to soak in the awesome and overwhelming sights we had just seen, my friend Jason had the inspired idea to skip a hotel and try to find a nice bed and breakfast to fully enjoy the true local experience and add a more human and familial touch to our short road trip. We checked out a few and just as the sun was going down and we were about to give up we spotted the sign for Melba house. As soon as we walked in we knew we had made the right decision as it was perfect. A beautiful and classic character home with a charm and history you could feel. Upon meeting Sue, who was most hospitable and warm, and then finding it was her birthday, we almost felt our path was divinely guided here to add to our journey. Then when Sue promised the best breakfast in town we were elated. She was right, by the way, we are still talking about it. The room had all the perks of being a vip guest at a grand mansion of the roaring '20s. The cake she put out in the hall was delicious and we probably overindulged in that, port, cookies, fruit and chocolates in the room were a nice touch. We watched a dvd she recommended for us about the outback and settled in for a very peaceful sleep. The delicious breakfast we took on the veranda as the sun rose over the trees. We hugged Sue goodbye and hit the road, all very grateful for the experience. Since our return to Sydney, and since then back to Vancouver, we have all raved about this hidden gem and I can't recommend it enough. If you have a chance to, make sure you stay here. you wont regret it.

Room Tip: all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
123
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We had a lovely stay in this beautiful B&B in the Blue Mountains. Sue went all out with catering for my wheat allergy. Multiple breakfast choices, gluten free afternoon tea and even special biscuits in our room. Aside from comfort and decor, these welcoming touches are things that really standout-especially when you get used to not being catered for elsewhere! We hope we'll be back to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We booked from the USA bu email and got quick responses from owner Sue who resolved our questions about beds and location. Arrived in the afternoon to find Melba House better than we had hoped for...interesting decor, great tea and afternoon cake available, close to town, great restaurant recommendations and a friendly welcome. Sue brings you breakfast in your room and she delivers a hearty tasteful meal. We would come back if for no other reason than to see Sue again. She works hard to make this a great stay and it was for us.

Room Tip: Check the website to get the room that suits your interests best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My son and I stayed 3 nights in Melba House while hiking in the Blue Mountains. The owner, Sue, is a fantastic cook and the tea and breakfasts were incredibly good. Sue was also very knowledgeable about the area and helpful in directing us to local attractions. The house is lovely and charming and extremely well located.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed at Melba House for a quick pick-me-up between Christmas and New Year and left feeling relaxed and very well looked after. All the rooms are clean, warm, comfortable and tastefully decorated. I felt Sue couldn't have done more to make me feel welcome, and the lovely Issy was a great ball of energy! Sue cooked amazing breakfasts, didn't need to eat lunch despite all the walking I was doing. A real home from home.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We had a great time in the Blue Mountains while staying at the Melba House. Sue is an excellent hostess and the B&B is well maintained. We had a wonderful breakfast each morning in our room. The house is conveniently located close to town and the parks. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Three friends stayed in the house at the same time, each with their own room. I was in Dame Edna, and it was delightful. The decor of the room and the house were outdone only by the wonderful hostess, Sue, and her adorable pup, Izzy. The food was delicious each morning, and we had an added treat of scones, with all the fixings, after an exhilarating afternoon walk in the lovely Blue Mountains. Had I only visited Sydney, I would never have known the beauty just a few hours away in lovely Katoomba. If I ever get back there, I am heading straight to Sue's lovely Melba house.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 98 Waratah Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your own Open Fire and Spa, King and queen-sized beds, central heating, electric blankets, large comfortable rooms with own sitting and dining areas, sumptuous breakfasts, that's historical Melba House. Quiet and secluded yet close to many restaurants, galleries, antique and craft shops. Also, close to the best-loved attractions of Katoomba and Leura. Blue Mountains World Heritage bush walks abound, some only 300 m away. Easy drive to Blackheath and Wentworth Falls and other mountain townships. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast Katoomba, Blue Mountains

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.