We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced, enjoyable place to stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Troldhaugen Lodge

Troldhaugen Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Troldhaugen Lodge to your Saves list
Troldhaugen Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   13 Cobbodah Street, Jindabyne, New South Wales 2627, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
New South Wales
2 reviews
“Reasonably priced, enjoyable place to stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We stayed last weekend 20th - 23rd May 2011 at the very quaint little lodge called "Troldhaugen" The rates were very reasonable and we enjoyed our accommodation with all the facillities available - compact, comfortable, clean heated room and bathroom; contiental breakfast in the dining room; an open fire in the TV loungeroom; and a pool table downstairs.
We were close to all the snowfields and so we were able to enjoy the recent snowfalls with toboganing, building a snowman and even a stimulationg chairlift ride and walj to Mt Kosiusko. We plan to stay again
ROS AND jEFF dENNISS.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Jindabyne Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay with Troldhaugen Lodge. Staff were friendly, room was comfortable and the views from the breakfast room of the lake every morning amazing. Would come back again.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Troldhaugen Lodge is conveniently located and very friendly B&B accommodation with beautiful views over Jindabyne lake. The owners were kind and very helpful, and have provided us with a lot of information about the local events and attractions. We will be certainly happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

A smallish and cosy lodge, with a homely feel. The hosts were very helpful, especially as I, myself made a mistake with the booking.

Central location and lovely views over the lake. Brekkie is continental-style, basic but good. We would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Terrible customer service. Management extremely unhelpful.
Basic accommodation. Room smelt funny.

Room Tip: Don't even bother. Save your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cob_10, Manager at Troldhaugen Lodge, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
For customer service we have our information desk which is located at the front door as you enter the building.
If guests have further needs then they are encouraged to press our customer service bell at reception, customer service can be obtained 24hrs a day.
If Information sort by our guests is not known by Management then guests are referred to the visitors centre in town.
We do provide basic accommodation which is clean and comfortable at an affordable rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Worst mattress we have slept on in years. Springs digging in all night and sagging. Continental breakfast - choice of Nutrigrain, Weetbix and Cornflakes. 1 tablespoon of muesli - "no, that's all we have". No light milk. How hard it is to ensure that there is adequate supply of muesli and milk? No fruit. Crusts only in the bread packets.

Every sound can be heard throughout the place at night - and all the bathroom noises upstairs. Terrible mould in the shower. No hot water at the end of a day's skiing or even the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cob_10, Manager at Troldhaugen Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2011
Being a budget Lodge we are unfortunately unable to offer a full range of cereals and milk for our breakfast. Any of our guests which have special dietary needs tend to bring there own, the muesli being left over from a previous guest.
Our bread having only crusts left is hard to believe as I do supervise this myself, we always have adequate fresh stock of the range of items we provide.
Troldhaugen Lodge was build in the 1960's and I am aware of the noises coming from the pipes, but surely if your booking budget accommodation then you would be able to overlook this.
Hot water and mould, definitely not.In fact our hot water comes from three new instantaneous
hot water heaters meaning that it is impossible for It to ever run out, although we do encourage our guests to conserve the resource.
Generally your comments seem out of character for our Lodge.
Our Lodge is know for It's great Hospitality,a place to relax on your holiday while still being
good value for money, with many guests returning 2,3 even 4 times per year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BATEMANS BAY
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

Our stay at Troldhaugen Lodge was very nice, with a comfortable, warm, clean room. We enjoyed the company of other guests - English, South African, German and from Chile; played table tennis and got valuable information for climbing the Kosciosku mountain. The Host was very friendly - even offering us a beer. Breakfast was continental - but quite sufficient - and in such a great location with beautiful views.
At such a low price of A$ 70 (with balcony) this was a real bargain. Can't understand how anyone can grumble - you can't expect 5* accommodation at such a low price!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jindabyne
0.5 mi away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#3 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 stars 226 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ski Inn Motel
The Ski Inn Motel
#2 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Ski Rider Hotel
Ski Rider Hotel
#2 of 8 in Perisher Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chalet Jindabyne
Chalet Jindabyne
#2 of 9 in Jindabyne
4.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne
Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Troldhaugen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troldhaugen Lodge

Address: 13 Cobbodah Street, Jindabyne, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Jindabyne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Jindabyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Troldhaugen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Troldhaugen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Troldhaugen Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.