We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, but don't be late for breakfast!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains

Save Saved
You added Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Kosciusko Road, Jindabyne, New South Wales 2627, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Jindabyne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good rooms, but don't be late for breakfast!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed in a 1-bedroom suite with a balcony, which was very comfortable. Only that we couldn't get the DVD player to work; which might have been resolved had we bothered to call for help.

The quality of the breakfast was ordinary, and nothing to write home about. (The scrambled eggs could be cut with a knife and cubed, if required). However, be warned, if you want this ordinary breakfast, you need to ensure you that you do not show up in the last 15 min.. which is when we did.. and some of the food ran out. And getting replenishments seemed a favor that the hotel expended to us. Coffee & juice wasn't topped up, and the grilled tomatoes were MIA.

Except for the breakfast, everything else was quite good.

The location is a short walk from a few restaurants and shops; and central to the town. Its right on the lake, and a lake facing room with balcony has great views!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    49
    32
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
49
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

After reading some of the reviews below I was worried about what to expect. However I was pleasantly surprised. We stayed in an executive room, we booked directly through the resort with breakfast included. (and our price was great considering friends who missed out staying in our resort payed over $100 more per night for a nearby hotel that was tiny and had no kitchen or breakfast included.). We booked 2 units, one for us and one for friends and both units were as pictured on the website. Clean and modern. Fully quipped with kitchen and laundry ammeneties in our unit and 2 flat screen tvs. Beds were comfortable including the sofa bed. The most serene amazing view over the lake greeted us from our balconies and were looking forward to coming back in summer to enjoy the area. The staff and girls at reception were helpful and very friendly. Even though we didnt require it, rooms were serviced each morning. There was also heaps of undercover parking in front of out unit entrance. Buffet breakfast was a bonus before a big day at the snow and there was a good variety of food to choose from.
The resort was situated with easy access to the snowfields and walking distance to woolworths, shops and restaurants.
I will definetely be booking with Quality Resort Horizons again. Having a large family it was a home away from home. And I highly recommend it to anyone staying in the area or spending time on the snowfields.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Fantastic in every way.
Stayed in a deluxe studio which has been recently renovated.
Very central to town. An easy stroll to pubs, restaurants and shops. Easy to get on the road to and from the resorts.
Peaceful and tranquil location. While very central, the deluxe studio was quiet and overlooked the park and had a completely uniterrupted view of the lake.
I noticed another review commenting on the beds, however they are VERY comfortable and roomy!
Unit comes with FULL kitchen, so self catering is easy and convenient. DIdn't try the food at the resort.
Pool is a bonus.
Have also stayed in Summer which was brilliant! SO much to do!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed three days and have no complaints whatsoever concerning the accommodation, location or price. We have stayed here before so I should not have expected the dining room food to be much better than the breakfast offerings. Silly me, but we were tired after traveling five hours and decided to dine in the restaurant. I ordered the barramundi which was dry and the promised vietnamese salad was disappointing to say the least. I thought mint/coriander was essential to the dish? Needless to say I just pushed the plate away. The dessert menu was also a non-event. I think a trained, professional chef and staff could encourage guests to dine there more than once.
The breakfast menu....where to start...revolting coffee, no grain bread for toasting, tinned fruit, forget eggs, unless you like powdered scrambled eggs, dried, overcooked bacon, greasy hash browns etc. The tomatoes were good. Cereal was very commercial package stuff, nothing particularly healthy eg raw muslie, fresh yoghurt, perhaps some fresh fruit eg melon, strawberries, kiwi fruit. I can't be that hard to prepare.
Anyway, the children seemed happy with their Coco pops etc and perhaps management thinks skiers aren't interested in healthly, good food.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I wish there was a comfy beds rating on TripAdvisor as I would book based on that! The king bed (2 singles together) was rock hard & the children slept on a pull-out sofa as we were in a Deluxe Suite. The sofa bed was tough going even for little ones as you could feel the springs just from sitting on it. Food was like camp food really and pretty basic. Having said that the McEvoys restaurant was very good. It's a pretty tight squeeze in the Deluxe suite for a family of four & given it's mostly a ski season town, no drying rooms either in the suite or in the resort, is unbelievable. Lucky we had sunny weather because if your gear was wet each night, it would be tough to get it dry for the next day, let alone not that enjoyable living in a chinese laundry!! For the price of staying off-snow I don't think it's very good value here. If staying in Jindy again would book a house or apartment.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This was a great place to stay, had a balcony with lake veiws and moutain ones to.
Pool was so clean and see through and warm. No spa, or gym. Bistro food was ok, dessert nice. Could hear through walls a bit. Clean with all stuff we needed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

I was really happy with this place. Really excellent value for money. The room was spotlessly clean and refurbished, had great size kitchen to prepare own meals, nice views. The bed was huge and very comfortable. Having researched and researched places to stay in Jindabyne I am so glad I chose this place because in my opinion it is the best accommodation in Jindabyne. Most certainly will stay here next time. Only negative thing was the shower, I hate water saver shower heads!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the lake - Nicer outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains

Address: 10 Kosciusko Road, Jindabyne, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Jindabyne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Jindabyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Horizons Snowy Mountains, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.