We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aspire Alpine Gables Motel Resort

Aspire Alpine Gables Motel Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aspire Alpine Gables Motel Resort to your Saves list
Aspire Alpine Gables Motel Resort
Cnr Kalkite Street & Kosciuszko Road, Jindabyne, New South Wales 2627, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Tumut, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great location and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great location and easy walking to shopping centre (Woolworths, cafe's etc). Took advise of other reviewer and got Room 14, away from reception and Brumby's bar which could get quite noisy. Either rooms 14-20 would be just as good. The room was very large with a great bathroom, perfect for the 2 of us.The bed was the best - huge and very comfy. I have 2 negatives: it is very outdated and hasn't seen a splash of paint for a long, long time, however it was very clean and the staff were terrific.The other is having to get all of your luggage up 4 flights of stairs, fortunately we stayed for 2 nights. It was really quiet for sleeping and the fully equipped kitchen made it a lot easier for meals, especially breakfast. Loved the scenic country and the weather was just perfect for early January. Would go back, in fact hope to go back!

Room Tip: Request Room 14-20 which are at the quieter end, away from Brumby's Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanne A, Manager at Aspire Alpine Gables Motel Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
So Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Aspire Alpine Gables we are doing many improvements to the property each year, this year we have more new linen, new dinning tables and chairs and bedside tables ordered and the Exterior of the building painted. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    36
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
18
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We took advantage of a Internet special deal so it was very good value at $75/night, right after new year.
We were there to go bush walking at the Snowy mountains.
The loft apartment was very clean and spacious ,some rooms has balcony and view of Lake Jindabyne . Across the street to the right is Jindabyne shopping mall and tourist information center. The kitchenette is well equipped( only a electric frying pan and microwave),you may want to bring bigger bowls if you need to cook more than simple meals
There is a onsite restaurant that seems very well patronized though we did not eat there as we were self catering.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanne A, Manager at Aspire Alpine Gables Motel Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
So Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Aspire Alpine Gables we are doing many improvements to the property each year, this year we have more new linen, new dinning tables and chairs and bedside tables ordered and the Exterior of the building painted. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a deal to stay here and spent 4 days here on holiday. It was a good spot to base yourself in for a break in the Snowys. The motel is a bit dated but the staff are really nice and if you just want somewhere to relax and be close to some bars, restaurants, shops and the lake - its perfect and really good value. They have free inhouse movies in the rooms, kitchen facilities and a sauna and you can walk across the road to the lake and to the shops, restaurants and cinema.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanne A, Manager at Aspire Alpine Gables Motel Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we are currently doing things to update our property and make improvements, feedback is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

As the title says, the look of this place really reminds me of the style you'd find in Jasper, Alberta. In fact, the rooms very closely resemble those of a particular hotel with loft rooms that I stayed at when I was there.

Overall, we had a very good stay. Visiting the area outside of ski season is absolutely fantastic and best of all, Aspire Alpine Gables Motel Resort only charged $80 per night for a massive loft apartment. Shops and other facilities such as an indoor heated swimming pool are within a 30 second walk from the motel. There were very nice views from the room's balcony and we found the Brumby Bar & Bistro adjoining the motel to be a very good place to have a few beers or even cook your own steak! I'm a vegetarian so I didn't partake and therefore can't comment on how good that experience would be, but it seems very popular with the locals.

Back to the motel, there were a couple of issues I observed. First, the entire room has only one small heater and the doors and windows had somewhat inadequate glazing and seals to prevent us from feeling the cold (yes, it's still reasonably cold in October). They provide extra bedding, so you can get around the problem by wrapping yourself up, but that's not generally the favoured solution by paying guests. We only had one night in our stay where the temperature really dropped so much for us to take some notice, but I can imagine in the winter this might be a bit unbearable.

The second issue was the maintenance of the kitchen facilities. While everything was washed and clean, the dish cloth provided was absolutely ancient and unusable, so we bought our own. Inside the kettle we observed a coating of black residue which came off with some scrubbing or even rubbing it with your finger (yuk!). I would suggest that the motel should descale the kettles upon guest check-out as part of their house keeping to address this problem. Other than that, the fridge was turned off and left closed, so it stank up the apartment with a mildew smell every time we opened the fridge door. The simple solution to this is to make sure that housekeeping leave the fridge open after the guest checks out. Of course, in the winter this probably isn't an issue as I'm sure the hotel fills up enough to see that the fridge isn't turned off all season.

As mentioned, we had a great stay overall and only add that the front desk reception staff we encountered were super friendly and genuinely nice. The issues we encountered were quite small, given the time of year, and at the price point the rooms were offered at we felt we could endure them.

Room Tip: We had room 14 - this is an upper floor room at the end of the building and is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deanne A, Manager at Aspire Alpine Gables Motel Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, this is very helpful in ensuring we provide a better service to our guests. We do start our spring clean process after the long weekend in June and these are some of the issues we address, as you can imagine the rooms get a real work out over winter. The heating issue is not as much of an issue in Winter as heating is on to all rooms and the motel does retain the heat, even to the point of people turning off their heaters. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the Staff were friendly and helpful. Thank you for your feedback once again and hope you will consider us on your next visit to the Snowy Mountains. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here end of September/ October 2012. We have stayed at many places being a snow buff and decided to give this a go. We were not disappointed. Every room in the hotel was with a loft. This is really great when you don't go to bed at the same time. We had the 2 bunk beds in the loft and queen downstairs which suited us fine as the kids sleep earlier. They were comfortable large single beds but it made it quite squashy getting in and out, almost no space b/w the beds. Our friends had another one with a double and a bunk in the loft with the queen bed downstairs. This would have been better providing you don't have very young children as they could easily fall off the double bed bouncing on it but I have only one kid and that would be more comfy.
The rooms were so spacious compared to like Horizons deluxe studio or any hotel rooms. It had a microwave and kettle and an electric frypan and more than enough mugs and glasses, etc. For food, there's always Brumby's downstairs and they had a big screen. The food was okay, big helping, friendly staff but nothing to shout about. I would eat there again. The shops was just across the road and we love that pizza place. We always go there and we also used to go Marios but the pasta is lovely here and so were the pizzas. Woolworths was also around there. There was no real need for a car in Jindabyne.
At check in the Alpine Gables reception was very friendly and greeted us with ' We were expecting you last night", looks like I made a mistake with the dates and being not full, did not charge us anything for that.
For Jindabyne. this is a great place to stay, there's great views from the balcony too. We went up to Thredbo and Perisher for some great skiing for that time of the year as it snowed when we arrived. I am now tempted to stay there if I ever had to choose a place in Jindabyne (minus the houses). It's nice and clean with car park right in the front.

Room Tip: If noise is an issue, you may want one that faces the back which however means not much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Alpine Gables is in a great spot, it's close walking distance to pubs the sports club and lots of eateries, that is if you choose not to eat at the Brumby Bar. The rooms are large, clean and warm, the beds are comfy and there is a good choice of channels on the TV.
The only negative is that the Gables is getting a little old and generally the first place that shows is the bathroom. I would imagine that the owners would have bathroom renovations somewhere on the drawing board for the not too distant future.
The Brumby Bar and Bistro (on the premises) has good food, at reasonable prices and good beer as well. It's got a good atmosphere and being under the same roof, very handy if the weather is foul.
Just a little note: If travelling between Oct 1 and Nov 1 a lot of eateries are closed for a post snow season pre-summer season break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs at the front for a view over lake Jindabyne. (You will have to carry your ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I accompanied my students and colleagues on a school trip. Alpine Gables was selected by the tour organiser. It was fantastic - especially the food. None of the 46 children with us complained one bit about anything - only the fact that they had to carry their suitcases up the stairs. We all enjoyed a comfortable stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspire Alpine Gables Motel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspire Alpine Gables Motel Resort

Address: Cnr Kalkite Street & Kosciuszko Road, Jindabyne, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Jindabyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Jindabyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aspire Alpine Gables Motel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspire Alpine Gables Motel Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.