We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Thrilled” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne

Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne to your Saves list
Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   8 Kirwan Close, Jindabyne, New South Wales 2627, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jindabyne
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Thrilled”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

For the price paid, we expected more.
The staff were pleasant enough, but the room was box sized, with hardly enough room to get around the bed. All extras had to be paid for, and the one breakfast we chanced was overpriced and poor, with the coffee machine not even working properly! Not a great start to a day on the slopes.
The rooms did not get serviced once in our three day stay which made it very uncomfortable. The staff didn't seem overly interested in servicing the bar, either.
Such a pity. We will not be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYTHERLEIGH, Owner at Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We will try harder. Always hepls if the snow falls in September.

Thank you anyway for giving us a shot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    15
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Worst experience ever. The bed was rock hard and we could feel the spring coming out from it. We had tiring day after skiing and the bed made it really hard for us to have a good nights sleep. We struggled the whole 4 nights, waking up more tired the next mornings.
There is no cleaning of the room everyday.
All the facilities need to be paid. They are not included in your room charge so if you are choosing this place for all those facilities they advertise for, think twice.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYTHERLEIGH, Owner at Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Sorry that you found our brand new mattresses uncomfortable. I had a look at your tariff and see that you booked in our value season. We do not provide daily housekeeping and a full cooked breakfast in the value season. Hence the term value season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This family run hotel is the perfect place to stay for a ski holiday. We stayed from a weekend through to mid week and the trip was made all the better by the friendly management Lyndsay and Ullah.

The rooms have everything needed for a comfortable ski trip with the cleanliness to match.

The hotel has a bar and restaurant which comes highly recommended. For the amount you'll spend on one pub feed the in house restaurant will provide you with exceptional quality 3 course meal. Do yourself a favour and experience this dinning after a great day skiing. Lyndsay will personally make sure you don't leave with room for more.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYTHERLEIGH, Owner at Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The rooms were clean, comfortable, enough hot water for all six of us and more and there was ample room. The owners were perfect, so eager to assist with any request and very friendly. Close enough to walk to nuggets and just a short drive to the ski tube. Plenty of perking close to the building. Extremely happy with the service and the price, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Jindabyne now! I have stayed at a few other places but they all pale in comparison to Aalberg Chalet, particularly on service. You can't go past friendly and agreeable owners! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYTHERLEIGH, Owner at Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We had a couple of nights here during our recent snow holiday. We were a party of six including 4 children. We were made to feel very welcome and enjoyed the hospitality of our hosts Lindsay and Ula. The rooms were warm, spacious and clean. The breakfasts and dinners were hearty and generous, with lovely staff on hand too.
The Aalberg has a nice, family friendly atmosphere, close to town and an easy drive to the snow fields.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYTHERLEIGH, Owner at Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Stayed for 4 days at the aalber chalet through july 2011 and was the perfect getaway me and my mate were looking for,,,, breakfast included,,, EXTREMELY friendly staff,,, you can't go wrong,,,,, situated in a cul-de-sac so quiet for anyone who's looking for peace and quiet,,,but not too far from the town where party goers can still have a good time,,,,,
HIGHLY RECCOMMEND,
James

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYTHERLEIGH, Owner at Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This hotel was fabulous! We had a 4 night stay, with free breakfast every morning which was excellent, just what you needed before heading off to the ski fields.
The hotel is small, but that was great as it wasn't packed with people or school groups! The staff were always friendly and accommodating, which made us feel at home, and the rooms were lightly serviced every day. They were able to accommodate to our bedding and late check-in requirements which made for a pleasant stay. The rooms are basic, but a good size and featured just what we needed.
The location is perfect, only a few streets from the main town centre of Jindabyne, and It was a pleasure to get back to the hotel quickly after a long day of skiing!
Our only complaint was that the beds were a bit hard, but everything else made it best skiing experience we have had.
We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We made requests from the hotel during the booking process. After this, we phoned them and the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TYTHERLEIGH, Owner at Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne, responded to this review, December 18, 2011
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne

Address: 8 Kirwan Close, Jindabyne, New South Wales 2627, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Jindabyne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jindabyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aalberg is a modern lodge & is close to Nuggets Crossing shopping centre in Central Jindabyne in the heart of the Snowy Mountains. The Aalberg is 15 minutes drive to the ski tube or 25 minutes drive to Perisher Blue Ski Resort or Thredbo ski fields.The Aalberg has 17 guest rooms, all with ensuites, hairdryers, TV's with Austar, Mini-Fridge, Tea & Coffee facilities & in house movies. Our rooms can accommodate up to 6 people through a mixture of twin/double rooms right through to large family rooms, which can be configured to suit your requirements; (doubles or queens for couples or singles and bunks if required). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aalberg Chalet Jindabyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.