We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Happy New Year!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonel's Cafe

The Colonel's Cafe
69-75Little Street, Forster, New South Wales, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 66 Restaurants in Forster
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not a Happy New Year!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went for New Year's Eve dinner and it was a disaster! Limited choice menu at set price looked good, but that is where it ended! Service was shocking and food not much better. Nearly an hour wait for garlic bread and the entree and main course about the same. Food was then unsatisfactory with sauces (which were cold and gluggy) were from a packet.
All in all, very disappointing.
Will never go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    5
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST FORSTER LUNCH & LOCATION!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We arrived here (Forster Marina) looking to hire a boat for 2 adults, 2 kids and a Lab. The boat hire service was top notch. Very friendly young lad who had just finished his HSC. He's going to take the world by storm!!

Anyway, post the 2-hr putt-putt around the lakes, we arrived back and decided to have some lunch.

The cafe itself HAS THE BEST LOCATION in Forster. Lovely little outdoor (covered) jetty cafe, over looking the lake. Stunning.

The Seafood...oh my god, the seafood!!! Yum, yum, pigs something-or-other...

Kids shared a trad F&C. Wife had plate of prawns. I had the fisherman's plate - crab, squid, fish & prawns. All meals served with a really good salad and a serve of yummy chips.

All that was missing for wife and I was a bottle of vino. If you're reading this it's BYO!!

We ordered up the home made desserts. Pecan pie for the wife, Pavlova for me. More of the same. Yum-yum...

Service was EXCELLENT. Friendly and efficient. What more can you ask?

Do yourself a favour and make an adventure of it!! Hire a boat, have a long lunch with the kids!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow Flat, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went here for our girls Xmas lunch on a Sunday (for the second year). Very disappointing this year! The location is probably the best location in Forster, but the service not the greatest. The entree was tasting good, but when they brought our main meals and still eating our entrees, not happy. They didn't seem to bother and just dumped our meals on the table. It was not even busy, I think we were the only table there at the time eating lunch (now i know why!) I ordered coconut prawns for main and could not see nor taste any coconut, only batter - very oily. I friends prawns looked good though. Would probably not go back for lunch again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

After using their 'tinny' for a couple of hours, we stopped for coffee and cake. Very nice location, nice staff, nice atmosphere....good way to finish the day off.
The boat though is a different review.....the fella seem to be 'put out' when I enquired to hire. One of his many 'tinnies'. Wasn't particularly helpful and the boat was almost falling apart.
Summary - would definitely eat here but won't hire a boat again.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallidays Point, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Top location, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Went to this cafe with a group on Friday night. The location, a boatshed directly over the water on the lake, is stunning. We were able to watch the sunset and boats going by. The service was very good and the gentleman playing his guitar and singing was just right. He knew the exact songs to play to please this older group.
The food was pleasing and all arrived with little fuss.
Overall a good evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colonel's Cafe also viewed

Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 
Forster, New South Wales
 

Been to The Colonel's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonel's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.