We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position with vies over Lake Wallis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Bar Grill

Reef Bar Grill
2-6 Wharf Street | Shop 1, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
+61 16 555 7092
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 66 Restaurants in Forster
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, European, Australian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Reef recently underwent a refurbishment to the bar and restaurant and now boasts an eclectic fresh decor, where guests can relax in the ambient and modern surrounds from the best vantage point in Forster. Guests can enjoy a cocktail or beer with friends at the new outdoor/indoor bar overlooking the sparkling Wallis Lake, or they can stay for a delicious meal delicately prepared by head chef Peter Tjornelund. The menu is a fusion of Asian and European cuisine and features mouth-watering meals such as a garlic and lemon marinated pork cutlet with honey figs, roast kumara, goats cheese and pistachio. The menu also includes an all-day dining option with gourmet pizzas along with a carefully selected wine and beer menu to accompany the meals.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great position with vies over Lake Wallis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Modern outlook and decor, The food is well presented and of high standard. The view is great. Wine list is good without being over the top in prices. Service is excellent. A great place in a great spot. A must to try

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    61
    16
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Excellent meal with six friends. Three of us had "deconstructed Beef Wellington" never seen that on a menu before but it was delicious

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Nice place, great views, friendly staff.
It is a little pricey but food is nice, my fav is the crispy duck spring roll.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food, service and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our first visit had us hooked!
Fine dining experience in a casual setting overlooking the stunning lake, shame its only open for lunch and dinner.
Amazing modern cuisine, great taste and very friendly service. The kitchen was able to serve me a fusion of 3 dishes in one, due to my allergies and produced an amazing, mouthwatering dinner.
Their limited selection of cocktails are extremely well done- a must try is the 'lemon meringue pie' cocktail.
Great service during the off peak season :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penshurst NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What a view!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Had dinner here on Monday night as it was just about the only restaurant open in Forster which was amazing with the amount of people still holidaying in Forster. I am so pleased that this was one of my few options as it was wonderful. Because they were so busy (probably because nothing else was open) we had to sit on the terrace which in my opinion was a bonus as the view as the sun went down was just sensational as was the food & the service. The staff were so good, helpful and knowledgeable which is rare. This restaurant was super busy but the staff handled it with ease & gave you their full attention when taking the order & delivering the food. There was a specials board which was displayed so that you could see it not stuck up on a wall where only a few diners can see it. Top marks & I can assure you I will dine here again next time I am in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reef Bar Grill also viewed

Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 
Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 

Been to Reef Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef Bar Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.