We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, great food, friendly service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reef Bar Grill

Reef Bar Grill
2-6 Wharf Street | Shop 1, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
1-65557092
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 65 Restaurants in Forster
Cuisines: European, Italian, Australian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Reef recently underwent a refurbishment to the bar and restaurant and now boasts an eclectic fresh decor, where guests can relax in the ambient and modern surrounds from the best vantage point in Forster. Guests can enjoy a cocktail or beer with friends at the new outdoor/indoor bar overlooking the sparkling Wallis Lake, or they can stay for a delicious meal delicately prepared by head chef Peter Tjornelund. The menu is a fusion of Asian and European cuisine and features mouth-watering meals such as a garlic and lemon marinated pork cutlet with honey figs, roast kumara, goats cheese and pistachio. The menu also includes an all-day dining option with gourmet pizzas along with a carefully selected wine and beer menu to accompany the meals.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Great view, great food, friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We took a part of 6 including a 2yo and 4yo and were welcomed with open arms. Kids were given colouring in sheet and crayons. The chicken nuggets were brought to the table promptly and were good quality not an afterthought. The food for the grown ups was even better. Had the duck spring rolls for entree. Could have eaten another but I am a guts. The blue eye cod "special" was partnered perfectly with feta pumpkin and pinenut salad. The ladies finished with hot chocolate pudding which was plentiful enough for us all to share. My boys loved the ice cream in a big glass with chocolate sauce. The 2yo didn't have a meal but they still offered him the ice cream. Beer and wine were perfectly chilled. Staff were young, efficient and friendly. Bill only came to just over $200. Great experience all round.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    45
    12
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cessnock, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I went here for dinner with my partner and three of our friends while staying in the area. Two of the guests were chefs and the other three of us work in hospitality. We arrived half an hour earlier than when dinner starts to be served but were happy to have a drink. We asked our waitress if we could just have some breads while we waited and she asked the chef. When she came back to our table we were told that we couldn't have any breads because the grills weren't on and it would take some time for them to heat up. Unfortunately, our chefs knew that it wouldn't take very long at all to prepare bread for five people and would only take a short time for the grills to heat up. When it came to ordering one of our chefs asked if the fish for the fish and chips was fresh and we were told that it was frozen (we weren't impressed that a restaurant on the water was serving frozen fish!) especially when there is a co-op within 1km. My Salmon and Risotto was over cooked but the flavours were nice. We probably wouldn't eat here again anytime soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Great seafood restaurant right on the beach. Food was delicious With good service. We normally eat at the cheaper clubs when in town but this place is good for a special occasion.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirroul
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We ate here back in September last year (had posted then but it appears my review isn't there any longer). We went with two little ones during the school holidays and it was a busy night. The staff were young guys and they were on the ball. From the moment we arrived ensuring the little ones were looked after to the end of the meal they couldn't be faulted, and all with a smile.
The food too was very good. I had a fish curry and my husband had the salmon and both were cooked to perfection. It was a very enjoyable evening. Hats off to you guys, there are many restaurants in Sydney who could learn a thing or two from you. Thankyou!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cocktails with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

A few girlfriends and I stopped in after a massage for some cocktails one afternoon. Needless to say we had a hard time leaving. They were perfectly made with a long lost to choice from. The sun beamed in, a light breeze and the lake glistened. We moved onto the extensive wine list (great wines too!). Perfect way to end the day. Relaxing and helpful staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reef Bar Grill also viewed

Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 
Forster, New South Wales
Forster, New South Wales
 

Been to Reef Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reef Bar Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.