We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!! definatly coming again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Cove Holiday Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Smugglers Cove Holiday Village to your Saves list
Smugglers Cove Holiday Village
45 The Lakes Way, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Fantastic!!!! definatly coming again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great service, beautiful room fantastic surroundings and so much for the kids to do best holiday park we have been to we will be telling our friends and family thanks so much :) not far from shops or beach

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    11
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
37
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights were supposed to stay for 3 but cabin was filthy the sheets were dirty and the cabin was infested with huge cockroaches. The room sizes were pathetic - the only good part of smugglers was the pool - we have complained to the owner of the cabin but have not received a reply.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is the first time we've stayed at smugglers, on arrival had to wait several minutes to be served at reception due to staff doing other things! Staff didn't explain much about how the park works (what's on each day, is there a key deposit etc) and our room wasnt ready which is a first for us so we had to wait around for half an hour! It is also rather run down and nothing seems to be well maintained - not a great first impression! Our hot water system ran out every night (and this is in summer) - SO frustrating!!!!!! The kitchen utensil are awful (don't even supply scissors), tiny tiny kitchens and not worth the effort, beds are rock hard and way too small. One night I was cooking dinner the electricity cut out twice. It's very run down and I'm sad I wasted our money :(

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a brilliant place for a holiday or a short stay. We're regular visitors, and love the facilities and the extras. Two hours from Newcastle means we finish work, and get there in time for a swim before tea. Thanks Murray, Sharon and staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The managers of this park are definitely lovely friendly people that are putting on great activities each day. However, they really do need to take the campers into consideration by endeavoring to increase the cleaning of the amenities block. Many people have been complaining and still they only have it cleaned once a day which is not enough during peak periods. There are stop signs placed everywhere asking people to leave the bathroom as you find it- personally I find these signs offensive, because I find the bathrooms filthy every time I have to use them and it's not my job to clean up after other people. If they just employed some extra cleaning staff during this busy period to ensure the bathrooms are cleaned a few times a day, I'm sure everybody would be happy. Unfortunately some people are not respectable, but 95% of campers do the right thing and their time shouldn't be spoilt by dirty irresponsible people. The park was vandalized last night, more signs of disrespect which is a terrible shame because the facilities a great- the pools are fantastic, I would be much happier staying here in a cabin. For campers I recommend you have your own toilet because it's a bit of a walk to the amenities block. Hopefully things will be improved for next years peak periods.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is the second year that my family of two young children and my best friends with 2 children as well have come to Smugglers Cove or 'The Pirate-Ship' as my daughter calls it. We cannot fault the place, and have once again enjoyed our holiday for the second time running. Our children made friends with other children around the park this year and were always occupied with riding their bikes, playing at the park or swimming in the great pool facilities that Smugglers Cove have to offer.

To top it all off, the weekly activities board was crammed with lots of fun activities for children of all ages to enjoy such as jumping castles, movie nights, jewellery making, discos for the kids, and there was even fireworks at 9pm for New Years which my Children were able to enjoy. I know one thing, Smugglers Cove will always have my family and our best friends as ongoing annual customers as we can see our children growing up and enjoying their holidays here for many more years to come.

Thanks once again for the great holidays, see you again next year

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

had the best holiday ever, the place is always kept clean and tidy great facilities at your disposal. the MANAGERS are so friendly and helpful as well as the staff in the office and around the park.
looking forward to coming here again and again

Room Tip: stayed in islanders cabin right on the pool very tranquil
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forster
1.9 mi away
Lakeside Resort Forster
Lakeside Resort Forster
#5 of 13 in Forster
4.5 of 5 stars 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lani's Holiday Island
Lani's Holiday Island
#4 of 13 in Forster
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
1.6 mi away
BIG4 Forster-Tuncurry Great Lakes Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Forster Holiday Village
Forster Holiday Village
#7 of 13 in Forster
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lakesway Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Island Palms Motor Inn
Island Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Forster
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Holiday Village

Address: 45 The Lakes Way, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Forster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Smugglers Cove Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Cove Holiday Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.