We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lani's Holiday Island

Save Saved
You added Lani's Holiday Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lani's Holiday Island
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   33 The Lakes Way, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Forster, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed in a cabin 2 adults 1 child and our small dog. We had everything expected of a basic cabin, and had not problem requesting a replacement fan when the supplied one died. Location was very good, but take bug spray as midges ate us every night. Would recommend for a good budget place with a pet

Room Tip: Very good, and pet friendly cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Lani's Holiday Island, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for leaving your review for us today.
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found your accommodation suitable for your needs. We know how hard it is to find pet friendly accommodation, so it is nice to be able to offer accommodation for travellers and their pets here at Lani's.
It is true that the sandflies and midges do make themselves known late afternoon and night, so that is definately a great tip for anyone staying in Forster to cover up .
Again, thank you for your review, and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    19
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
juliemarkvw
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a villa facing the swimming pools and found the site to be superb.

The villa was compact but plenty of space for our needs and the staff also provided a cot free of charge.

The only downside to our stay was that there was a funny odour in the villa and it was only on the 2nd night we realised it was from the leaking toilet but it was too late at night to tell anyone but told reception on checkout. We do not feel that this is an issue as I am sure if has been fixed after we left.

We had quite a lot of washing to do which we took with us and the washing machines and tumble dryers were fine, just remeber to take a stake of dollar coins for both machines and to use the BBQ's.

Overall we would definately recommend this site!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanis6273, Owner at Lani's Holiday Island, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
It is wonderful to hear that you found our park superb and that the villas facing the pool met your needs. We appreciate the space a cot can take up in a vehicle when you have to pack for a family so happily provide these at no fee for the convenience of our guests. We thank you for reporting the problem with the leaking toilet and apologise for any inconcevience this may have caused you during your stay. This problem was repaired upon your departure.

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We look forward to having you stay with us again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

My girlfriend & I loved staying in Villa Number 30 for One night with our 2 teenage daughters on the way to Coffs Harbour in january 2012. Very clean comfortable & we all slept well. Very quiet . The 2nd bedroom had an L shaped bunk bed so we all got our own bed.
I feel the room was too small to have stayed for a longer holiday but was fine for 1 night.
BEACH --- We saw lots of dolphins at the beach at dusk & had an amazing time body surfing at the main beach at Forster - better than alot of the Sydney beaches with a huge salt water pool & rolling waves.
VISIT No. 2 --- We also stayed at Lanis on the way back BUT only villa 44 & 45 were available, both dog friendly villas. We stayed in villa 44 & friends stayed in 45. They were both clean with no odour & no fleas BUT the mattress in the kids bunks were as hard as concrete . I tried to sleep on the lounge but too short to stretch out so ended up putting the lounge cushions on the bunk bed & then was able to sleep by 5am. I was told they were new villas from another caravan park & that the mattresses will be replaced ... Phew.
Overall loved this park both times & will be back but will check the mattresses first.
PS. If you are checking in after 5pm they stick your boom gate number to the front glass door of the main office near the boom gate.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanis6273, Front Office Manager at Lani's Holiday Island, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Glad to hear you've enjoyed your stays with us at Lani's, and have had the pleasure of experiencing some of Forster's delight's. The dolphins at dusk are really quite special.
Our apologies again for the hard mattress during your second stay with us. You are the first guest to have bought this to our attention. We will be looking into this matter, to ensure the comfort of future guests.
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Lanis is such a special place, the beautiful grounds & pools, the beach & the lake we can take our kayaks by just walking a few metres through the park & putting them in the creek & paddle out to the lake, the free austar to all sites (inlcluding our caravan site) which is why our family (including our dog) return year after year.
The staff are extremely courteous, helpful & very friendly both on the phone & at the park. If you are running late & arrive after 6pm the staff are always willing to do whatever it takes to have your keys.boomgate code ready for you so you can enter.
Unless you need to get groceries (only up the road, Woolies, Coles, Aldi etc) you never have to leave the park!

The school holiday activities with Captain Tony are always a great hit with our children.

We have stayed in a hut, powered site, ensuite powered site & a family spa cabin - all have been absolutely fantastic trips all at different times of the year, the accommodation, park & amenities always very well maintained.

We have just returned from our Christmas break 2011 & again have enjoyed it thoroughly & have booked a week in a spa family cabin for my husbands 40th in June.

We can't wait to go back again! See you in June 2012.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanis6273, Front Office Manager at Lani's Holiday Island, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
We are so happy to hear that your family has had another enjoyable stay with us here at Lani's.
All of our staff work hard to ensure that everyone has a memorable and enoyable stay and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know that we have acheived this.
We look forward to having you stay with later in the year for hubby's big 4-0.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011 via mobile

This was my first stay there and I can't wait to return. It had everything I needed. The room had everything I needed for a weeks+ stay, the pools were clean and relaxing, wonderful BBQ area, lots to do and the hospitality/service was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanis6273, Owner at Lani's Holiday Island, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Lanis Holiday Island.

All of us at Lanis are glad to hear that you found us absolutely fantastic and cannot wait to return. We are pleased that you found the room you stayed in to have everything that you needed and that you were able to relax in our pools and enjoy our BBQ facilities.
We love to hear positive feedback as it is great encouragement for all our staff who continually strive to meet the individual needs of our guests and to provide a positive experience so they will want to return time and time again.

From all the team at Lanis Holiday Island, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to having you stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuncurry, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

You could never go wrong staying at Lanis. I've returned there year after year during summer and for a reason. The prices a great, the staff are friendly and helpful and the park is beautifully maintained even when fully booked out. The atmosphere of the place is wonderful - whether you are only staying for one night or three weeks, you're guaranteed to have a good time. My experience of the accommodation and services provided in the park has always been exceptional, with it always being clean and well kept.
I have never missed a Christmas there, and I definitely recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable family getaway.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanis6273, Front Office Manager at Lani's Holiday Island, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
We thank you for your kind review.
The team here at Lani's Holiday Island do our best to ensure that all our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay, and it is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed many holidays here wth us.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kandanga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

supplied 4 cotton thermal blankets for three people, no spare blanket supplied

very cold nights in spring, temperature dropped very fast late at night and only acess to staff was an emergency use only buzzer,

very reluctant to supply adequate bedding.

Room Tip: rooms must be throughly inspected for bedding and appliances that work before payment, numerous ment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanis6273, Manager at Lani's Holiday Island, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
In consideration of the matters raised every effort was made by Lanis Holiday Island at the time to correct indifferences and ensure your comfort. At the time of check in your cabin was supplied with sufficient bedding for the amount of guests staying but immediatly upon your request it was our pleasure to supply additional bedding together with an additonal heater.

Air conditioner and general appliance instructions are supplied within our compediums located in every cabin.

To suggest a member of staff tried to enter without permission is unacceptable. Staff of Lanis Holdiay Island only ever enter cabins upon invitiation from the guest which was the case on this occassion. As our first attempt to address your maintenance issues was not at a convenient time to yourself our maintenance man later returned to inspect the airconditioner finding no fault. A proffessional air conditioning specialist has also inspected and tested confirming no faults.

It is unfortunate that you felt our efforts were inadequate considering the circumstances surrounding the break down of your vehicle and unexpected need for accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lani's Holiday Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lani's Holiday Island

Address: 33 The Lakes Way, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty lodging in Forster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lani's Holiday Island 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on beautiful Wallis Lake in the heart of the seaside town of Forster, on the mid North of NSW just two hours drive north of Newcastle and 3 ½ hours from Sydney. Our caravan park is a member of Top Tourist Parks of Australia, offering a range of holiday accommodation to suit all budgets and tastes and for those who choose to travel with their own Caravan, Motorhome or RV a choice of sites, some with their own personal bathroom. For the tent camper who wants that natural camping experience then our additional 25 hectares of natural bushland Tony’s Point Island is for you.Whether it be business, pleasure, a weekend away or for your next family holiday, come and enjoy the must see and dos of the Great Lakes area or simply relax and enjoy the facilities and activities that Lanis Holiday Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Lani's Holiday Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lani's Holiday Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.