We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sails Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sails Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Sails Luxury Apartments
4.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   7 - 9 Head Street, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Dinner plus Wine!
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here recently for two nights in apartment 902 - this was undoubtedly the best apartment in the building. The views were spectacular, the apartment was large & clean and had a lovely homely feel. The management were helpful, friendly and keen to ensure that we had a great stay in Forster. The bed in the main bedroom was super comfy. Sure, the apartment is a little dated, but it is certainly clean, comfortable and it was a pleasure to stay there. Can certainly recommend a stay at Sails to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnWeir, Manager at Sails Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We're so glad you had a good time staying with us. Also thank you for taking the time to write a review, as new Managers guest feedback is very important to us and will certainly help us improve our overall service. We'll look forward to seeing you again on you next visit to Forster.
Regards
The Sails Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    29
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
56
38
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Toongabbie
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We visited Sails with our New Zealand friends and found this resort was in a great location with excellent size apartment and great views. The apartment was really clean and spacious. The Inhouse managers were most helpful and always smiling Our NZ friends didnt want to leave and hopefully will be back next year to visit with us again..

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnWeir, Manager at Sails Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we're very happy you all enjoyed your stay and we'll be delighted to welcome you back to Sails on your return visit.
Regards
The Sails Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Spent the weekend in Forster and stayed on the third floor at Sails apartments. We have stayed there before and have found the apartments to be great. Very spacious, clean and well located in Forster. Staff were very friendly and efficient. We arrived after hours on Saturday and our keys etc were waiting exactly where we were advised they would be. Overall no complaints. We are definitely staying there again hopefully with a water review next time.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room on the higher floors with a sea view. Very nice. We have stayed on the 7th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
247 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

No effective WiFi despite the big bold print out the front advertising fast broadband and the ad on their web site. We were on level 9 and it didn’t work. The transmitters are on, I think, 3 of the nine floors and it would appear that it is just bad luck if you are not on one of those floors. A useless arrangement, false advertising and out-dated.

The customer service is great from payment of deposit, to payment, to a phone call to discuss checking in, to texting after hour security codes, to providing a mobile number to call if you have any problems during your stay and in the event that the reception is closed. It was Just a wonderful service experience.

Unit 902 is terrific, very nice 270 degree views over main beach and the lake. Caution; the views over Main Beach are not uninterrupted with a unit building obscuring, only to a degree, what would otherwise be a spectacular view. The unit takes full advantage of its northern and western aspect.

This unit has a large screen TV with sufficient enough subscription to Austar to keep up with sport. The furnishings are quite nice and there are only a few areas that show wear and tear.
Air-conditioning is in the lounge/dinning/kitchen area and the main bedroom, but not in the second bedroom although there are pleasantly quiet ceiling fans in both bedrooms.

A good sized balcony takes advantage of the views to the north and west, has a small electric BBQ and outdoor dining setting for 4.

Communal facilities are very good with a pool (not heated and quite cold), spa, infrared sauna, small gym and tennis court.

A single lift in the building seemed to service all floors adequately. The rooms are only service weekly.

I recommend Sails (Unit 902) to anyone who wants a relaxing, holiday unit with a view BUT who doesn’t need or want WiFi access?????

Room Tip: Unit 902 has good views and modern fitout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We recently stayed at Sails along with many others in our extended family as we were attending a family reunion near Forster. Between us we had several 2 and 3 bedroom apartments and we all thought they were fantastic. The service from John was great as was the space and cleanliness of the apartments. Very well priced and fully equipped, with comfortable beds and the best views from all rooms and the massive wrap around balcony.
We would all highly recommend Sails for short or long terms stays - we would have loved to stay much longer and hope to return on day!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 602 - great views and huge balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Reservation was handled efficiently. Check in was fine. We were pleased with the 2 bedroom apartment on the 6th floor which had terrific views. Bed was a little soft for me. Also noticed that in the master bedroom - sleeping in might be a problem - as the sun radiates in through the spaces between the roller blinds (agreed that it might not bother some people). I would have enjoyed a greater number of stations on the AUSTAR TV (e.g. FX). They also have free to air tv available. The apartment was very spacious and we appreciated that we could book for just one night as we were travelling south. Many places require 2 or 3 nights which would not have been convenient for us. We looked a the pool which seems fine. Sauna seems like a small little box which was a bit odd. Overall - thank you Sails - . Rate was 220 at Sails which seemed very good for what we received in terms of cleanliness, facilities, and location. Nearby we enjoyed a good Mexican meal at Aztecs. It is a short walk to the beach from Sails. Time permitting - we would have enjoyed staying a longer time. Overlooking the nearby beach we had a delightful breakfast at a place with open air seating and a terrific beach-ocean view.

Room Tip: We had 602 which had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Admittedly we stayed here in the off season - the kids had just gone back to school - but what a bargain! A huge apartment - 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, wrap around verandahs, lounge room, kitchen, laundry - SO much room - for the price of an average motel room. My only problem was with the internet connection - it wasn't reliable and we had to ask a couple of times for the management to re-boot the system, which they very happily did. But this is the only way to go. The apartments are bright and airy and you can request a view if you'd like. Forster itself is a beautiful town with a ton of things to do and explore - stunning beaches, an amazing lake system (rent a boat for a day - fun!) etc. My hint is - don't visit in the busy season - the place quadruples in size - and when you do visit, stay at a place like Sails.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forster
0.1 mi away
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
#6 of 10 in Forster
3.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
10.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
#2 of 2 in Diamond Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sevan Apartments
Sevan Apartments
#3 of 13 in Forster
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beaches International
Beaches International
#1 of 13 in Forster
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
1.7 mi away
Island Palms Motor Inn
Island Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Forster
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lakesway Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Luxury Apartments

Address: 7 - 9 Head Street, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Forster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sails Luxury Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sails Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sails Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.