We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abysmal rip off” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dorsal Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dorsal Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Dorsal Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West Street, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Forster
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Abysmal rip off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Overpriced and soulless. Stayed 2 nights and our "luxury boutique room" came complete with dead coackroach, a toilet that wouldn't stop flushing and a bathroom that flooded with water when it rained. Toiletries were rubbish - no shampoo or conditioner just soap and a dispenser of lurid body wash in the shower that looked like Jif cleaner. Self service breakfast "buffet" was absolutely basic toast, cereal and instant coffee - for the money we paid ($200 a night) I would expect at least some fresh coffee and croissants. This was meant to be my birthday "treat" and I thought it was the worst value place I have ever stayed in. Steer clear until it has had a complete renovation and change in management.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    15
    15
    16
See reviews for
5
55
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in an Ocean View room. Room was a standard hotel room with double bed and a single, a couple of sofa chairs, balcony with a little table and chairs with a great view of the beach which is directly across the road. Staff were very friendly and helpful, the continental breakfast was what it says it is, coffee, juice, cereal, fruit, toast or yoghurt. I would definitely stay again and had none of the issues other reviewers seem to have had.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The problems other reviewers have complained about have not been solved at all- keys that don't work, being locked out of rooms, air-conditioning not working, hostile staff and less than average food-allin all I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Dont book on Wotif
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Driving by saw this building that looked quiet pleasant it had boutique hotel, room our at $180 start price overnight which is quiet expensive for a small hotel but the pricing must be due to the location because, it is next to the beach. Check-in and got given a room for handicap person, where the light didn't worked, got back down to reception and told a pleasant young lady name Jasmine who came up and couldn't fix it, so got another room. Book in the restaurant the food was acceptable for a small hotel restaurant the menu were filthy which doesn't aspire to great hygiene but the food was pleasant, the wine list was limited and the waitress told me the wine that I ordered is not in stock so chose another one. The décor of the restaurant is very worn carpet has bold patches , table and chairs you can see have been well worn from usage. Continental breakfast give it a miss not even percolated coffee but a big hot water urn and instant coffee and square bread .Got to reception early which is 730am and reception disorganise tried to charge me for another three main course as I was only by myself mistake on my meal order finally got everything sorted out from the man at reception. Room average for a boutique hotel ironing board but not with iron in your room so cannot iron clothes, it's seems lots of potential right location but lack of professionalism, a pitygive it a miss not worth the money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very basic motel style room
Checked in and housekeeping was checking room to see if it was ready, she poked her head in the door and said yes it fine
Went into room and there was no towels, a used soap in the shower and used dental floss on the floor
There is a dispenser on the shower wall for shampoo conditioner and body wash all in one (weird!)
Chris was very friendly when we checked in and checked out though
The hotel was fine for us as we driving through Forster but I wouldn't recommend it for anymore than that, I imagine you would be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

In my opinion was usually separates a 5star from a 4.5 star is 24 hour room service, In this case I would say this hotel is a world away from it's rating and closer to a 3.5 star!
Stayed here on my way back down the coast, Firstly it is expensive $230 for a Monday night?? I can get a better rate at a 5 star hotel and I have!
The explanation by the rude cow on reception was they are the only "hotel" in Forster.. Well, Good on you Dorsal Boutique Hotel because I really hope a great hotel opens and and knocks you down a peg or two!
We bit the bullet and checked in hoping for greatness, sigh!
The air-con didn't work and the safe was locked shut.. Seems that we were checked into an "out of order" room so we had to move.. No floor staff or trolley to help you gather up and move either..
Somehow we went from 5th floor to 3rd which was disappointing to say the least.
The location was perfect, great view and within minutes you are downstairs with your feet in the sand and that's where the good ends..
Ice machine located on level whatever, That's great if there were ice buckets provided, perhaps I'll pop them in my pocket?
Iron and ironing board are on each floor in the emergency fire hose cupboard - not joking! and in my case no ironing board..
The place is grubby, the vent over the shower is full of filth just above your head, No nice amenities for your $230 Monday night special, Instead an almost empty dispenser bottle in the shower full of what can only be described as dishwashing liquid! They do try to make up for it with 2 coin sized bars of soap and 3 shower caps!
We skipped continental breakfast because as we all know that's not really a breakfast at all.
Secure parking? Why bother with a swipe card if you leave the roller door up all night!
The rooms were grubby, didn't bother with the restaurant (the menu was boring)..
This hotel should not be rated 4.5 stars, It needs a total refurbishment and get rid of the bumpkin staff and hire some professionals..

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Excellent location overlooking Forster Beach. We would thoroughly recommend staying at the Dorsal Boutique Hotel. We stayed in room 502, on the top floor. We ate dinner on our first night in the restaurant and couldn't fault the food and the very friendly service.
After dinner it was just so relaxing sitting out on the balcony with a glass on red watching and hearing the waves crash onto the beach. We even left the door open all night which was a wonderful experience hearing the sounds of the ocean as we drifted off into a comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: Top floor room 502
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forster
10.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
Ramada Resort Diamond Beach
#2 of 2 in Diamond Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lakesway Motor Inn
0.1 mi away
Sails Luxury Apartments
Sails Luxury Apartments
#2 of 13 in Forster
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Island Palms Motor Inn
Island Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Forster
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Sands Motor Inn
Golden Sands Motor Inn
#5 of 10 in Forster
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sevan Apartments
Sevan Apartments
#3 of 13 in Forster
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsal Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsal Boutique Hotel

Address: 1 West Street, Forster, New South Wales 2428, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Forster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Forster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dorsal Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Dorsal Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorsal Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.