We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good except for a couple of things...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Imperial Hotel

The Imperial Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
The Imperial Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   16 Kendal St, Cowra, New South Wales 2794, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Cowra B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good except for a couple of things...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Staff were very friendly. Room was spacious and clean but the access to WIFI wasn't working. No phone in the room to ask for help except to go downstairs to the noisy pub. Again, very loud music until after midnight so try to avoid staying on nights(Fridays and Saturdays maybe) when there is a party downstairs in the pub.
Other than that, very good so ask staff if there will be any party before booking?!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel was clean and had tea, coffee and milk, but no microwave, cutlery or crockery. The bistro downstairs was very pricey. The toilets were very clean but separate to the rooms. Ok for a quick stay passing through, but rooms had no bed lamps, bed tables or anything to give them ambience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed at this place, rooms are extremely small, dark, barely fitting two beds, toilets and showers were combined but were quite dirty, the room did not have tv. Pub downstairs is ok with good atmosphere. Staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel is conveniently located on the main highway and at the Main Street with restaurants.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stopped in after a long day on the road. All the staff were really friendly and accommodating, and the meals were delicious. Large portion sizes, a variety or specials, great garlic bread, and tasty desserts. We were surprised the place wasn't overflowing with customers - didn't have to wait long and left very happy. Thanks to Carl the bartender (seriously ladies - he's lovely!), the helpful waitress and the talented chef!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toukley, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

For a small town Cowra still supports a lot of Pubs & Clubs. Sometimes you should check out pubs more for coffee, town history and characters than beer. I was pleased that the Impy had some different beers on tap- other than Tooheys etc.
Super clean, great beer garden and quiet... pub closed early but that was OK!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our overall experience of the Imperial Hotel was Terrible. Although the rooms were neat clean and tidy thats where it ends. Upon arrival the bar staff were very helpful, efficient and knowledgable, I have to give both the ladies behind the bar the credit for that, I specifically asked one of them if we needed to book a table to have dinner in the bistro and she said no. After we had put our things in our room we went downstairs to the bistro, the menu looked great, but that's as much as I can tell you about the food as we didn't get to try it because of the rudest restaurant host we have ever come across. We walked in the door and asked if we could have a table for 3, to which he asked do you have a booking, I said no, he replied well you won't be eating here tonight! I told him we were told that we didn't need to book and I turned around, to which he said to me don't turn around and walk out of here like that! He swiftly shoved a couple of menus at us and said oh and I suppose you'll need a kids menu too! We stood there for a few minutes in disbelief whilst no one came near us to offer us a table or seat. The next couple who came in after us coped the same reception from him and he also continued his rant with the kitchen staff saying to them oh someone has told her she didn't need to book! So we put his menus down and walked out of there with our money still in our pockets. I have never received such rude behavior from the front of a restaurant in my life, obviously he doesn't need anymore customers or their money, they hadn't even been open for service for 1 hour, so I say if you can't stand the heat buddy, stay out of the kitchen. Oh by the way there is another hotel and bistro just across the road to the right, also another nice looking restaurant directly across the road, a lovely man and his wife cooking Chinese just to the left across the road and subway a couple of shops up or if all else fails there's Maccas. Was not worth the money we paid for the room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheImpy, Owner at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
As owners of the hotel we would just like to reply to your review dated 28th April 2013. We would sincerely like to apologize for the behavior of our bistro host on Saturday night the 28th April. His conduct was out of character but does not excuse his manner. He has been addressed by us & he would like to also pass on his sincerest apologies to you & your family. Our venue is known for its family friendly environment & customer service & we do hope this incident does not discourage you & your family from visiting us in the future.
Col & Jannelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a surprise we got to see so much fresh seafood on the menu, and it was fresh and cooked just right, with a bottle of chardonnay a good night was had before we set of west. we'll be back for more on our retturn home.

Room Tip: book a room with an ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: 16 Kendal St, Cowra, New South Wales 2794, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cowra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cowra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Hotel established in 1905 is a family owned business offering great food and a friendly atmosphere which caters for the whole family. Open Monday to Saturday for lunch and dinner (will open Sundays for functions and also special holidays or occasions e.g. Easter Sunday and Mothers Day). The focus is on relaxed dining and providing a venue to meet friends over a drink, complete with lounge bar, sports bar and an extensively remodeled outdoor entertainment area. The Imperial Hotel also has accommodation available at very reasonable prices with many rooms boasting en suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.