We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet room with great outdoor area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20-22 Lynch Street, Cowra, New South Wales 2794, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
AUD4 off room rate
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Cowra
Yass, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quiet room with great outdoor area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

A colleague and I stayed in rooms 7 (2 bdroom) and 9 (single room). The hotel was quiet, however, air conditioner in room 9 was a little noisy to wake me during the night. Great with renovated bathroom and room was a great size. One very nice feature is that all the rooms open onto a common outdoor area where you could sit (if you had the time) with a drink and look out onto the scenery. A little distance out of town so we chose to drive back in for dinner. Certainly worth the money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top level are quiet. Room 9's air conditioner was a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    30
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
38
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tenterfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great sized room at back of motel - Pay the extra for deluxe as it's worth it. We didn't hear a noise from the highway at all. Staff were friendly and the dinner was filling and it was great not to have to go out again to get something to eat. Every room has a microwave which should be standard in motels wherever you go but isn't. The shower was amazing with super water pressure and great temperature control. Definitely the best value for money in Cowra.

Room Tip: Choose one of the deluxe at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Visiting Cowra in the middle of summer with a stopover in the Alabaster Motel in a deluxe queen room (number 14) was clean spacious and quiet and recently renovated and air conditioned. The room was located at the back of the Motel with under cover parking provided. Overall a pleasant night with all amenities accounted for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: One of the rooms out the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

First time in cowra, must say this hotel is top quality. Its under renovation, but the rooms is with bright clean toilets. Brand new bathing area with water proof doors, no more wet toilet floors.
Large flat screen tv and good reception. Opens put to a huge balcony with great view of country side. Will not hesitate to stay here again. Price is cheap too.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

As a regular visitor to Cowra who has stayed in every motel in the town over a period of years, I stay at the Alabaster as a matter of choice. I always choose a deluxe queen room since they are spacious and very quiet.

Room Tip: Deluxe queen rooms are more spacious and are located at the back of the Motel away from the Mid-West...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Good accommodation in general, but if you're planning on sleeping in later than around 10am during your stay beware of the noisy cleaners. They made so much noise unnecessarily chit chatting (with complete disregard for the fact that some paying customers weren't checking out) that my blood started boiling. It was so noisy it sounded like they were doing burn-outs out the front of our unit with their vacuum cleaner. It must have annoyed my elderly mother as well, who promptly opened the blinds giving the cleaners the shock of their life (perhaps they automatically assume that all their guests are travellers who don't stay more than one night). I recall just making a smart comment to the effect that we'd just came to the country to pay for peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of city life and construction works that had stationed themselves out the front of our place, and likening their lack of noise suppression to a jack hammer or aircraft noise.

Also, if you expect a decent meal here, look elsewhere. We ordered a pre-packed lunch (tuna sandwich, cake, drink, etc). What arrived stunned my mother. They had done little more than emptied a can of tuna between two pieces of bread, and nothing else was delivered. Fortunately they gave us our money back (~$12).

Final warning - If you pay up-front for accommodation on arrival and decide to stay extra nights, don't assume their computer management systems will only charge you once for the extra nights. When we checked out they charged us for the extra nights (valid) and also charged us again for the first few nights (double payment). I only spotted this by double checking the receipt manually myself. So watch out if you're a too trusting member of society or a vulnerable senior (always maintain your suspicions).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanCowra, Owner at Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry that our cleaners woke you during one of the mornings that you stayed with us - however cleaning is an everyday part of a country motel, and all our cleaning is done each morning between 9.30am to 12.30pm.Our cleaners do talk to each other, and I'm not sure we could place a ban on all talking in the workplace - we may come to the attention of the Fair work commission.

The cleaners do not do burn outs with the vacuum cleaner, however it does make a noise when it is pulled along the balcony.

In regards to the pre packed lunch we apologised at the time for the mis-understanding and immediately told the lady with you that is was a mistake - the refund was done immediately.

We are training a new staff member, and she mis-understood what a pre-packed lunch package was - our mistake, and it is our policy not to charge for our mistakes.Incidentally we consider that a tuna sandwich is tuna placed between 2 slices of bread - otherwise it would have to have another name eg: tuna salad sandwich.

Your comments in regards to our accounting are somewhat stretched, as I understand the situation you booked in under another ladies name and paid for two nights, and then stayed two more nights. The lady came in and said that she would like to settle the bill - we asked if any payments had been made, and she said the full account was to be paid.We then assumed that our trainee had made a mistake with the first payment and collected full payment from the lady - you then came into the office and produced a receipt for the first payment - we apologised for the mistake and refunded your money immediately.

I know your family has stayed at the Alabaster previously and we greatly appreciate your business - sharp practices do not happen at this motel - but stuff ups can occur, for which we will apologise for again.

Regards,

Ian and Agnes
ALABASTER MOTEL
COWRA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed one night passing through and were delighted to find a very spacious, clean and tastefully decorated room. The bed was lovely and comfortable, great pillows, lovely linen, and a beautifully renovated bathroom. Very large TV, sofa and table and chairs in the room. Very large terrace with beautiful country views. Unfortunately was 40 degrees, but made tolerable with the comfort of the room and aircon! Wonderful country hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms located at the back very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel

Address: 20-22 Lynch Street, Cowra, New South Wales 2794, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cowra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Cowra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel - a 3 1/2 star property situated on 20-22 Lynch St.,Cowra approx 1 km east of the Post Office, offering a quiet location and friendly atmosphere with the best views in town! It is a 10 minute walk to local clubs, restaurants and shops.The motel consists of 13 rooms, 6 standard, 5 deluxe and 2, 2 bedroom units. All rooms have reverse cycle air-conditioning, electric blankets, tea/coffee making facilities, Austar, refrigerator,complimentary wireless broadband internet, direct dial phones and ironing equipment. All rooms are also non-smoking, but ashtrays have been provided in convenient locations outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Alabaster Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.