We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous resort for kids and beginners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Selwyn Snowfields

Selwyn Snowfields
Private Bag 2, Cooma, New South Wales, Australia
(02) 64549 488
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 Attractions in Cooma
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing
Attraction details
Sydney
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous resort for kids and beginners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have been to Selwyn for 2 holidays now and it was great. It is a very family friendly resort and the kids club is great. As the resort is small kids can explore with safety. The lessons are great and the ski tube and toboggan park are awesome. The picnic tables are great so you can take lunch in an esky and picnic saving heaps of cash. Not a ewsort for advance skiers but fab for families and begginners.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Snowplay and Learn to Ski!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Selwyn is a great resort for those who just want to play in the snow, or want to learn how to ski or board for the first time.

The terrain at Selwyn isn't to challenging, and the resort s easy to navigate.

If you have young kids this is the ski resort to visit, very child friendly!

However, if you're looking for a thrill seeking ski trip, you might want to try Thredbo or Perisher.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Cheap Snow Play”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

If you want to go to the snow with minimal cost then this is the place. The facilities are basic with eco drop toilets however if you don't need bling then this will do. You wont find as many hardcore ski nuts here, mostly families. The slopes are gental and the wait on the lifts not too long or crowded. We are a family of four and it was a cheap day on the snow for us! With the park entry fee ($27 per car per day) + toboggan park fee ($10 per toboggan), hiring toboggan ($10 per day) great family fun for around $100. If you have everything which we did go straight to the info desk located in the main building and you'll get served straight away.
The road is an easy drive approximately 1.5 hours from Cooma, bring a picnic as there are ample tables to sit on or a water proof picnic blanket.
The snow (02/08) was fantastic and the snow wasn't compacted, icy or slushy - great for snow fights and snowman building competitions!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Waverley, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Went to snow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a great day, went to Dead Horse Gap, Thredbo and then caught ski tube to Perisher and then up to Blue Cow. Light snow all day.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachmere, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Great for beginners/families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Have just come back from our second trip here.

We have kids aged 8,10,11 and it's perfect for beginners or children.

We prebooked through the Snowy Mountains Holiday Centre and if you do this by the end of May each year, you get good deals. We got a 4 day ski pass and the kids ski pass and ski hire was free. There are a number of good deals to suit your family. We hired our gear from the ski fields as we got this great deal, but you can also hire from Cooma/Adaminaby/Talbingo if you don't get the pre-booked deal.

3-4 days is enough for beginners, you really don't need a 7 day pass unless you're a keen skiier, in which case you'll probably want to ski at a more advanced ski slope like Perisher etc.

We did lessons as it's been 4 years since we last visited. We booked 4 lessons but really 2 or 3 would have been enough as our kids caught on quickly. If your kids are unco-ordinated, book a lesson for each day. Instructors were all lovely with kids and adults alike.

There are a few green runs, few blue runs and I think only one black run. So if you're a beginner it's great, if you're experienced forget it. We like it because it's small and the kids are able to go off and ski by themselves without getting lost! There's a small Milo terrain park which our kids also loved (so did I) where they can do small jumps/tricks, and a trickier terrain park but didn't see anyone using that one. There's also a toboggan area and a tube ride if you're not into skiing.

As expected food is expensive, most people seem to pack an esky with their own food. There's plenty of picnic tables outside and a warm indoor area to eat your own food. Kids in lessons get free hot chocolate half way through their lesson, which is otherwise $4.50/cup.

There's a small gift store on site, which also sells gloves/goggles etc if you lose them out on the slopes.

We have stayed at Adaminaby where most people stay (about 40 minute drive) but this time stayed in Talbingo (about 50 minute drive). Nice drive from either location, really depends where you're coming from and your budget!

You'll need either a 4WD or carry snow chains for a standard car, just in case there's ice on the road.

Costs $27/day for your National Park Pass - don't forget to add that to the cost of your trip!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selwyn Snowfields also viewed

Narrabri, New South Wales
 

Been to Selwyn Snowfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selwyn Snowfields, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.