We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not awful, not great either” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nebula Motel

Save Saved
You added Nebula Motel to your Saves list
Nebula Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nebula Motel
42 Bombala St, Cooma, New South Wales, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Cooma
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“not awful, not great either”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Room is ok, a bit small. I would say very very 3 star
I am paying 105 a night (one night) for a Tuesday (non weekend)

Sheets and pillow cases are old (clean but old), mattress is old too

bathroom has been renovatted, is nice, taps are at the back of the shower, so you get wet arms when you turn the water on. There is no proper soap, just liquid soap, which looks cheap.

If they updated the bedding and mattress it would be a much much nicer place to stay. I would much prefer to pay an extra 10 or 20 dollars for something a bit better. A couple of weeks ago was in Bairnsdale, really really nice motel for about the same price. This one is dissapointing, should have gone somewhere else

Dont get me wrong, room is clean, bathroom is nice, tv is good, but furnishings and bedding pretty old. Room is very small.

Would not want to spend another night here

Room Tip: if you want something very nice, go elsewhere, if your on a budget it should be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    29
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
13
19
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The motel room was small but well maintained and suited our overnight stay. As we had no car with us, the motel situation was perfect for walking to everything in town. The heating kept the room warm on a winter's night and the electric blankets were a good addition. The shower was strong and hot. We were easily able to walk to Rose's Lebanese restaurant for dinner and Lotte for morning coffee; both great options. Easy walk with bags to the bus stop.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jones Hill QLD
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We have just returned from staying 10 nights at the Nebula Motel. We were in Cooma to visit family and chose the Nebula for its location. It is just one block form the centre of town and walking distance to everything we needed. The complex is small and very quiet and there was nice undercover parking for our car in a designated spot just outside our room.We were very pleased with our stay and would return to this motel. The motel was very neat and well maintained. We had asked for a larger room as we knew some family members might be visiting us at times. We were given one with a queen bed, single bed, sofa and small table and chairs. The room was not huge, but more than adequate for our needs. It had been recently refurbished with a flat screen TV and included a small but nice bathroom with a good shower. There was a cold snap in Cooma during the week and the room heater worked very quickly and efficiently. We did not try the electric blanket but noticed it was provided. As we were staying for 10 nights we were given a long term rate and felt that it was very good value for money. I cannot comment on breakfast because we did not eat there, but it certainly smelled delicious as it was being delivered to other rooms. The main thing that impressed us was the fact that the managers Alan and Marcela were so very friendly and helpful. They arranged for our room to be tidied early so our grandchildren could come and visit during the morning. They even brought their charming little dog over to entertain our grandchildren and were happy to stop for a chat with us. Cooma is a small town but is delightfully friendly and we enjoyed our visit. Great options for coffee and lunches included Cathy's Lolly Shack, The Lott and PD Murphys. There are other good choices for restaurants and a movie theatre in town as well - all friendly. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if you need space - there are also family rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

This place was recommended by the Information Office in the town. The room charge was more than they quoted which got reduced slightly when queried. The room was tiny There room information quoted that there should have been a cupboard with hangers and free Internet. Too small for a cupboard and no wifi signal! I wouldn't go near this place again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed for one night and really didn't have any major issues. The TV reception was a bit hit and miss with the colour etc but the sound was good. The bathroom window was open and let quite a bit of cold air in. I wouldn't want to stay in winter as the bathroom would probably be freezing. The bed moved around a lot whenever my husband or I turned over but other than that we slept ok. If I needed a motel in Cooma again and it was the only one available I'd sleep there again but otherwise I think I'd try somewhere else just to compare. It's old but it's clean and cheap so I really shouldn't complain. The manager was very pleasant and his receptionist "little dog" was very cute.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tumut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Small but serviceable for what was required. Good interaction with relaxed staff and they enabled an early get away. Close to main street.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

A small motel in the town of Cooma. Walking distance to the town. The room was very clean with all amenities. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Affordable and I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in Cooma.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nebula Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nebula Motel

Address: 42 Bombala St, Cooma, New South Wales, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Cooma
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Cooma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Nebula Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nebula Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.