We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Five O's Bar & Restaurant

Five O's Bar & Restaurant
Level 1, 186 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
(02) 9665 3663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 61 Restaurants in Coogee
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We are new to Sydney and were in Coogee trampling the bars and restaurants. We came here for a drink but were told we had to order food if we wanted a drink (licensing law related). I ordered medium rare T-bone steak ($18) and my other half ordered a Works burger. The burger really was poor. It cost $13 and his verdict was you get what you pay for. My T-bone steak was nicer than the burger..but only just. The steak arrived "medium" at best. We were given a buzzer and had to collect our meals at the hatch. Be warned, if you don't order sauce with your chips when you first order you will need to ask at the bar for it...at which point you are told you should have ordered it with the initial order. We are in no rush to return. Urban Bites in Newtown offered so much better value on food and alcohol was only $5 a glass!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of our favourites in Coogee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Ive reviewed this place before, but feel i didn't do it justice, with only 3 stars. For what you pay and what you get, this is a great place to come for a relaxed casual feed and drink.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great cheap food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

By far my favourite restaurant in Coogee. I've been lost since the fire and have just discovered they have reopened. Yay:) The food comes out so quick sometimes I've only just sat down from ordering and the menu is extensive. I take all my guests here. Love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good cheap eats in relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Five 0's is a a great place with pub like counter meals around the $10-$20 mark. It has a relaxing chilled out atmosphere that makes it ideal, cheap drinks. They have a $5 meal deal before 5pm but you have to buy a beer or soft drink, doesn't include wine. I really like this place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Brilliant Coogee Beach option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Coogee's long golden beach is one of Sydney's great charms but where's the best place to look over it with a cold beer in hand? The Coogee Bay and the Beach Palace are the main beachfront watering holes but both sadly are noisy charmless barns.

Halfway between the two, opposite the bus stop on the main drag is the unassuming Five O's, reached by a stairway on a side street. The particular attraction is the little terrace overlooking the beach which nicely catches the breeze. I enjoyed the cold beer and delicious hot chips (many other menu offerings were available), cheerfully served when I visited by charming Irish backpacker barmaids. A very pleasant place to spend a couple of hours reading the newspapers. No canned music - an added bonus.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five O's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Five O's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five O's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.