We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renato's - CLOSED

Renato's
237 Coogee Bay Rd, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
(02) 9665 8975
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had a lovely meal here in December whilst visiting Coogee. Two of us had the crab and prawn ravioli which was delicious, hubby had the fettuccine marinara and my daughter had the swordfish special which was also very good. The service could not be faulted, all the staff were polite, cheerful and worked as a team including the owner Pete.
We also visited a few times during the day for coffee and cake which was very good. Try the tiramisu it was the best I've ever had. Will definitely go again on our next visit.
Top marks to you all.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    31
    7
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NSW, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great service superbly cooked food generous servings all faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a superb meal herelast week. The food is of excellent quality and cooked perfectly. We had scallops with blue swimmer crab mash and they were the most beatifully prepared i have eaten. My wife had salt and pepper squid and the portion was so large we took it home for later. I can say it was as good cold as it was hot!
I had lamb shanks and they were supetb.
We are regular Coogee visitors and shall be returning to sample your other delights.

The staff were slick and very polite. The young waitressfrom Manchester UK was excellent. All round great experience guys. Well done!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Definitely the best restaurant in Coogee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Had a fantastic meal here - such fresh tasty food! Really enjoyed the Moreton Bay bugs and Oysters. Crab ravioli was superb along with a beautiful garlic pizza. Portions are generous which is much appreciated. Shot of Lemonchello after the meal finished it off nicely. Will be back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This little place has a fun atmosphere, excellent food and good coffee. Service is really good, which is hard to find here, and the food comes quickly. Everything we've had here has been excellent. Close to coogee beach and on the Main Street, so lots of people watching while you wait

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best restaurant in coogee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great service, friendly staff - very big portions.

Excellent all round, portions were very generous, so did have struggle clearing my plate!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Renato's also viewed

 
Coogee, Randwick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renato's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.