We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good boutique hotel but not near train” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dive Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dive Hotel to your Saves list
Dive Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 Arden Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
September Spring Deal
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good boutique hotel but not near train”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is place has a great location, right near beach and Coogee is a beautiful hike to Bondi Beach. Only downside of location is that it isn't near train lines so going to other parts of Sydney requires taking the taxi. But Crowne street has tons of great restaurants and the beachfront location means you could just spend all of your time in the local neighborhood. Great place to stay if you have any reason to do anything at the University of New South Wales.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    59
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
82
15
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just returned to the UK following a 3 week stay at the Dive. The Dive was my holiday base in Sydney and everything about it was ideal. Location, service, and value for money. Situated a stone's throw from the beach and within easy walking distance of all local facilites. I loved the friendly and relaxed atmosphere created by the owners and staff, nothing was too much trouble for them, it made me feel very comfortable. Great to be able to chill in the breakfasting area (served until 12 noon) and outside on the patio when the sun shone! The family pets added to the experience and were such good fun and company. Would recommend this hotel without reservation and would love to come back again one day. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Warm staff, great breakfast (if I had had the time, I'd have spent all morning drinking coffee on their patio!), clean, comfy room. The only thing I would note is that the walls are a wee thin... but that didn't keep me from sleeping like a baby. And they shipped me the phone charger I left behind for free. It's so nice to deal with people and not corporations! Will definitely return.

Room Tip: I was in room 8, which is right next to the common area. I'd go upstairs for a quieter option. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We only stayed here one night and wished we had been able to stay longer. We loved the character and feel of this place slap bang between the Crowne and Coogee Bay Hotels on the beachfront. The location is brilliant for a bit of beach time and access to some lovely restaurants. There is also parking out the back (albeit tight) for $20 a day. We had a room with a king size bed with glimpses of the ocean from our window. We could hear the sounds of the waves crashing at night which was very soothing. The bathroom was compact but the shower recess was very spacious. We were on the first floor and the only access is via a narrow windy staircase inside the house or a broader metal one from the outside. Difficult if you are unable to climb stairs.

Breakfast was included and served in the communal kitchen area - room around a large table or at another large table just outside under cover. The continental breakfast included a choice of cape seed or sour dough breads, muesli, yoghurt, fruit, spreads, coffee (black) and a choice of tea leaves to use in a plunger - bliss.

Loved the pets being around, George the elderly labrador, Lucas the young gun standard poodle and Bob the cat, made it feel like home. Loved, loved, loved this place and we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Small boutique/chic style hotel across the road from Coogee beach.
My room didnt have a sea room, but was clean and spacious.
Hotel had a cool beach vibe, and loved the dogs:)

Excellent location for exploring Coogee and the Coogee to Bondi walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed two nights at the end of Autumn. The Dive Hotel is perfectly positioned opposite Sydney's premier beach and in easy walking distance of other famous foreshore amenities around Coogee. The room was extremely comfortable, and well thought out. Breakfast with other guests and the owner's pets was so relaxed. The decor was impressive yet cosy, and our hosts were friendly and helpful in the extreme. A totally enjoyable expereince.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

I love the TA reviewer who said Dont Stay If You Dont Get It. That sums it up. It's an older building, cosy, clean, huge rooms, two dogs and a cat. Loved my stay, loved Coogee and will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
0.2 mi away
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Bondi Junction
0.0 mi away
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 7 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
2.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dive Hotel

Address: 234 Arden Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#3 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dive Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If it's a Sydney beach hotel you're after, there's none better located than Dive Hotel. It's 20 minutes drive from Sydney Airport and the City. It's a door-to-door bus ride away to the City, Opera House,NSW Uni, Randwick Racecourse, Aussie Stadium, and Cricket Ground.And it's a frisbee throw away to parks and pools, clifftop walks and Coogee's thriving restaurant, pub, club and cafe culture. It featured in Travel & Leisure USA, Conde Nast Traveler, NY Times,Time Out, Lonely Planet, London Observer and Guardian.Surf the net to your heart's content, thanks to free Wi-Fi. It's just one of the practical things that a Dive room provides. No expensive mini-bar, but a well-equipped kitchenette, with a fridge, microwave, tea, coffee and milk etc. There's free-to-air cable television, and a portable CD player. All rooms have aircon and a state-of-the-art stainless steel and blue tiled bathroom with a decent-sized hairdryer and a grown-up iron and board.Please note that there are 2 dogs on hotel premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dive Hotel Coogee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dive Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.