We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the dive - a dive!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dive Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dive Hotel to your Saves list
Dive Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   234 Arden Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
September Spring Deal
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the dive - a dive!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Recommended to me this "boutique" hotel fails to deliver on all but location. The room was dark and depressing and noisy and nothing like the photos on the website. The pipes from the rooms upstairs keep you awake and the "general" use toilet is situated on the other side of the headboard of the bed and is very noisy - especially when the sign in the toilet tells users to flush 3 times. The room is airless and dark and with a "four poster bed" is old fashioed and not what you would expect from a beachside location. This is the worst room that I have stayed in over 4 years of travelling here and overseas. Staff showed no interest in dealing with issues when they were informed of them. Breakfast is hardly up to scratch - and there was no yoghurt or freshly made orange juice when I attended the communal dining area. Very dissappointing!!

Room Tip: All I can say is avoid Room 6!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    59
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
82
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Starcross, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The dive hotel is perfect for those wishing to chill out and relax in Coogee and on it's beach. Staff were friendly and helpful with any queries we had. There are many nice places to eat and drink within walking distance too. If staying in Coogee, the Dive hotel is my recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I come to Sydney for work, when i am in Sydney i stay in coogee, Last time i thought i should try dive... lucky i have tried..." excellent place to be, so peaceful, so quite..friendly, efficient staff, staff never stop smiling " highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at The Dive the night before flying home from Oz after a month gtravelling around. We wanted somewhere comfortable and reasonably close to Sydney airport, and a location where we could enjoy a couple of hours' sunshine and fresh air before our flight to cold, grey UK. We deliberately paid the extra to have a larger room, since we had all our luggage with us. We got a very big room, with masses of space for all our gear, and space to enable both of us to spread out and repack. The shower room was smaller, but more than adequate. The welcome was warm, and breakfast the following morning was very pleasant, sitting in the courtyard in the sunshine. The dogs, and cat, were also very welcoming! It was an easy 20 mins' drive to the airport (and finding our way to the hotel from north of Sydney was also straightforward). Parking at the back of the hotel was limited - we arrived early and got a (paid for) space. Coogee Beach offers a range of cafes and restaurants, and also the very pleasant cliff-top walk to Bondi - about 5.5kms one way if you do the whole distance. Buses from outside the hotel go to Circular Quay in the city centre. All nin all this ticked all our boxes very satisfactroily, and we would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very homely hotel. Breakfast around communal table which helps you to socialize with other guests, breakfast is help yourself with good choice.
Bedroom very large, four poster bed, and large wetroom with lots of toiletries.
Very good quirky comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I visit Coogee fairly frequently with work and have so far stayed at a different hotel each time. The Dive has to be the best so far. Much less commercial and corporate than other hotels in the area. Much more homely and welcoming.

The outdoor courtyard and dining area are refreshingly different. The hotel is very relaxed and only metres from the Coogee Beach or a beautiful 6km walk to the infamous Bondi (highly recommended also). A taxi to Circular Quay will set you back approximately $30.

I hope to stay here again on my next visit. I especially liked the cat Bob and their two dogs.

Room Tip: Save yourself some money and don't get a room with a sea view - The Dive is lieterally 20m from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

great stay here for one night. self serve breakfast around comunual table is a highlight. friendlt staff and able to get into our room when arrived early from airport which made a huge difference as we needed a nap from our night flight. great styly fitout with ply desk and nice blue tiles in our room. right across the road from coogee beach made easy to walk to bronte for lunch around coastal path and 5 mins to main shops in coogee. cost $36 for taxi from airport but more expensive on way back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
0.2 mi away
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Bondi Junction
0.0 mi away
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 7 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
2.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dive Hotel

Address: 234 Arden Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#3 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dive Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If it's a Sydney beach hotel you're after, there's none better located than Dive Hotel. It's 20 minutes drive from Sydney Airport and the City. It's a door-to-door bus ride away to the City, Opera House,NSW Uni, Randwick Racecourse, Aussie Stadium, and Cricket Ground.And it's a frisbee throw away to parks and pools, clifftop walks and Coogee's thriving restaurant, pub, club and cafe culture. It featured in Travel & Leisure USA, Conde Nast Traveler, NY Times,Time Out, Lonely Planet, London Observer and Guardian.Surf the net to your heart's content, thanks to free Wi-Fi. It's just one of the practical things that a Dive room provides. No expensive mini-bar, but a well-equipped kitchenette, with a fridge, microwave, tea, coffee and milk etc. There's free-to-air cable television, and a portable CD player. All rooms have aircon and a state-of-the-art stainless steel and blue tiled bathroom with a decent-sized hairdryer and a grown-up iron and board.Please note that there are 2 dogs on hotel premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Dive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dive Hotel Coogee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dive Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.