We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unclean & Noisy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Surfside Backpackers

Surfside Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Surfside Backpackers to your Saves list
Surfside Backpackers
186 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Unclean & Noisy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I did not choose this hostel myself-I stayed as part of a group tour organised by Ozintro, a company that gets you started on a working holiday in Oz.

We stayed there for a week, all of us solo travellers and we were all desperate to get out by the end of the week!

The main problem was that it simply wasn't clean- I did see the cleaners coming in on a daily basis but I think they must have done the minimum. The bathrooms were not clean and there aren't enough for the number of dorms they have.

Dorms themselves are not actually cleaned, the only thing is a linen change which is done at the end of your stay when you take your used linen to reception.

No air con- I know it's a hostel but there are many others in central Sydney for the same price that have this!!

No lockers in rooms- again other hostels of similar price have this.

I didn't realise this until I got there, but Coogee is a very noisy, party suburb of Sydney, so it was noisy at night with drunk people shouting etc, and as there was no air con we had to leave the windows open ALL the time.

Would not recommend as there are so, so many other, much nicer hostels in Sydney for the same price. If I had know this was the kind of place I would be staying I wouldn't have booked with Ozintro either!

Room Tip: There are no lifts and no ground floor rooms so be prepared to lug your bags up a few flights of sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    10
    15
    44
See reviews for
Families
0
6
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This place was awful! not clean and the 6 bed dorm was the entrance to 2 other dorms so in reality a 14 bed dorm with one bathroom! Blankets and beds were taken in the middle of the stay! could not wait to leave this terrible place...worst australian hostel I've ever stayed at!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Bed bugs, cockroaches and no proper staff it appears, just backpackers doing the cleaning, odd jobs and reeception in return of a free bed! As a result the dorms are filthy and the kitchen is pretty gross too! There are lots of other places in Sydney that cost around the same, try somewhere else!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I originally planned to stay here for 2 weeks but ended up getting trapped in coffee and stayed here for around 2 months. The price of this place is way to high for what you get and the management are useless, one manager stole my iPod and refused to give it back for a week because he didn't like the music we were listenening too. I ended up leaving because I was kicked out and banned from the hostel down to the pure fact the management didn't like my group of friends. BUT as much as I hated te management and the way this place is run I would still recommend it, hands down the best days of my life where whilst I stayed here

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We could have stayed in the crowne plaza for the same price- i was told the error in charging would be refunded but the member of staff able to do refunds wasn't there. Now they ignore emails and surprisingly I have seen none of the money. Locked out on arrival due to office times. Shower had no lock. Disappointed really.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Dirty.....yes, not the best service....true enough.....best times of my life......definitely! Come on people it's a HOSTEL not a HOTEL. I will always look back at my time with real affection and a fondness for the memories that are up there with my wedding and child being born! Surf side rocks!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

My boyfriend and I arrived at the Hostel at 9.45pm. Upon arrival we soon realised that we had been locked out of the Hostel and were left waiting outside for 20 minutes. Luckily another guest arrived who let us into the building. Furthermore we were left to wait another 20 minutes as we were informed that the receptionist was "getting pissed" at the bar across the road. Finally we were given our room keys but told that we would have to check in in the morning as the receptionist was eager to return to his bar. We walked into our room to find filthy, slept-in bedding on both beds (They actually had flakes of skin in!!!!). In addition the room was boiling hot and combined with the lack of cleanliness in the room - it made it completely unbearable. There was the smallest windows and no AC or fans on a 30+ degree day!!!!
We attempted to have a shower but the bathrooms were even worse than the filthy room. Inevitably we left the hostel without even staying a night but were unable to check out properly as the member of staff had headed straight back to the bar.
We lost all our money and have recieved the worst customer service from the manager since!!!!!! RUDE RUDE RUDE!!!!!!

Photographs to follow...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
0.1 mi away
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#2 of 7 in Coogee
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 7 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
2.7 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Zetland, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Backpackers

Address: 186 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Surfside Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Backpackers Hotel Coogee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfside Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.