We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Coogee Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Coogee Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Coogee Bay Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   253 Coogee Bay Road/9 Vicar St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Coogee
Oz
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great location”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

It is very close to the Coogee beach. Great location to walk around the beach. However, when you book with them, you need to be very cautious to check your credit card. The last time I booked with them, they charged me twice. Once was for my stay which was correct bit the other charge was for a penalty of no-show on the same month. I tried disputing this but they keep claiming that they have the right to charge me for not cancelling when my actual booking was for a week later. Since then I have refused to book to stay there..

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    48
    29
    12
    23
See reviews for
14
40
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
KL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Following the advice of many reviewers I booked myself into the boutique wing with beach view. Good advice. Great view.

Room was nice and clean. A good size too. Get a bottle of wine from the liquor shop downstairs and settle down on the balcony. Wow, I could sit there for hours just looking at the ever charging sea.

In the morning I was back at the balcony this time with a cup of tea. The free breakfast was not worth going for. You would do better to have tea on the balcony with some biscuits (bought the day before at a nearby shop) and save tummy space for one of the lovely restaurants around Coogee.

Location wise it can't get better. Shops and restaurants abound. The pub downstairs is also a great place for an ice cold beer and people watching. And it faces lovely Coogee Beach.

I didn't need to go into the city. Coogee is lovely and this hotel is so well placed.

Note to management-perhaps you could request the rubbish collectors and delivery people to make less clanging and banging noise in the morning. The noise didn't go well with breakfast and the view.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I just spent three night at Coogee Bay hotel for a wedding. Our group was scattered between the Crowne Plaze, the Dive and the Coogee Bay Hotels, which enabled us to compare rooms and service. I stayed in room 407 with a beautiful view over the beach and the ocean, that is, if you down look down, because then you're looking at the loading dock of the bar. From time to time you could hear trucks backing up (beep-beep-beep), but apart from that, there was no trouble. The rooms were confortable, and the bar and restaurant lots of fun.
I did compare the rooms at the Dive, and I don't understand why that hotel is rated so high in Tripadvisor. The Crowne plaza was a step above, but lacked the charm of Coogee Bay Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on our return to Sydney after a trip up the east coast. We were pleasantly suprised with the size of the room, in the Boutique part of the hotel. It was lovely, fresh and open with a spacious bathroom. We had paid the extra for a spa tub which was a nice addition. It did overlook the loading bay but we didn't stay here to sit on the balcony and look at the views, we were out exploring them! The breakfast was a bit disappointing, but as it was included in the price we tried it once and then decided to go to one of the lovely cafes around the corner, there is plenty of choice. Bus stop is right there to transfer to the City, it takes about 30 mins.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

This hotel is one of the nicest we have stayed at. We stayed in the new Boutique Wing at the rear of the large Coogee Bay Pub. The staff were helpful and friendly on our arrival and when we could only stay 2 nights and needed 3 nights they phoned around to find us somewhere else. The main room was 'huge' with a marble bathroom with bath and seperate shower. There was a neat and useful desk and large settee with coffee table. We had 4 friends come up and heaps of room to sit and chat! They had all you could ask for with self controlled a/c. Could not fault this and we have travelled overseas and this hotel is far better than many. Go and enjoy this friendly immaculate hotel a 2 minute walk to the beach.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Clean room in boutique part of hotel. However, only airport standard. View of sea interupted by two massive "At At" Star Wars look-alike air conditioners and balcony overlooking loading bay. Disappointing. Breakfast served in separate building open to public. Would definitely not stay there again. It was very expensive and I expected more. Staff detached mostly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We stayed in a ocean view room. The room was great , just what we wanted. It was very well laid out and spacious with a balcony over looking the beach - this is somewhat blocked by the pub in front but we loved it anyway. Not a magnificent hotel but light, airy, fresh and well maintained.
The rooms were thoroughly cleaned every day - including our dishes Plenty of towels left .The staff were always helpful and courteous. Breakfast was good and they kept it well stocked - free continental or you can pay and order a la carte. They even have breakfast later at the weeked. Everything is geared towards what suits the guests and not the hotel.
Location was great. There is a bus stop outside with buses running constantly to the city centre. It only take about 15 mins to get into the centre and it doesnt cost much.
The hotel has a really busy bar - packed with locals so handy for a few drinks before bed. When you get back to your room you cant hear the noise. Only negative is that there are stores staff making noise early in the morning in yard below the rooms - but you will want up early anyway to get out and see the sights. Coogee itself is a lovely village - not much to do but a great beach and a few shops, places to eat - enough to base yourself here. Prices for food is reasonable.
I would really recommend this hotel for a sydney stay. You get the best of both worlds- mornings at the beach and then a convenient bus ride into the city for the afternoon. Loved this hotel and would love to go back. Im so glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coogee Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Bay Hotel

Address: 253 Coogee Bay Road/9 Vicar St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#5 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms offer a refreshing beachside option, incorporating natural timbers, soft blues and crisp white tones.Located behind the main hotel is the Boutique Wing offering stylish, modern accommodation for corporate travellers and those seeking a relaxing retreat. The Boutique Hotel offers 4 star luxury on the shores of one of Sydney's most famous beaches with competitive rates and a range of weekend packages to entice.If you're seeking 3 star affordable accommodation, our Heritage Wing, located within the main hotel building, is perfect for those wanting to be close to the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Coogee Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Coogee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coogee Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.