We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay amazing customer service and view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 - 167 Dolphin Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic stay amazing customer service and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

I looked at this hotel on the internet before travelling to Sydney and was not sure of the bed configeration as we needed a bed for our young son,The room pictures were also not the best making the room look a bit tired. We moved to this hotel after visiting Coogee and were very impressed by the customer service particularly from Michelle, the receptionist. Nothing was too much trouble and she allowed us to look at the room before booking to check the balcony as we had concerns with a small child.
The room was clean, airy and we had a view of the beach. The photographs on the internet do not do the room's justice and there is no mention of the amazing terrace on the top of the hotel where you can sit and enjoy the view. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    139
    52
    7
    10
See reviews for
93
136
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level Contributor
132 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed at the Coogee Sands Hotel as a stopover on a recent trip through Sydney on our way to the Hunger Valley. Coogee Beach is reasonably close to the airport and certainly beats staying in any of the airport hotels where there is nothing to do.

The hotel has a great location right next to the beach and close to lots of restaurants. Our room had a very nice view of the beach and town, but unfortunately also overlooked the "backpacker" bars next door where the music blares into the small hours and the drunk bar patrons yell at the tops of their lungs. This hotel would be fine for young people planning on a big night out and not intending to sleep much. Double glazing or hush glass would be useful if the place is to get a face lift!

The room itself was spacious and well appointed but very tired. The bathroom really needed a re-do as it was worn and dated with a bit of mold around. There was a small kitchen, a sofa, desk and TV, so all the mod cons. But also a bit of a smoke smell in the room.

The staff were friendly and helpful, especially at the front desk. We arrived very early in the day due to our flight times but the hotel was very good about storing our luggage and allowing us to use the bathrooms to change our clothes so we could stroll the beach while we waited.

I found all hotels in Coogee Beach to be quite expensive relative to their level of luxury and this one was no exception. I guess the location is just an expensive one to stay in overall.

Checking in online created a few hiccups as I made what I thought was a booking, but it was initially rejected by return e-mail with no explanation. I was then contacted separately to advise me that the type of room I picked was not available and did I want to book another type. The communication was all very friendly and helpful, but it would be useful to have some kind of availability system in place to avoid these kinds of back and forth communication.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonthaggi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at the Coogee Sands Hotel. It was a great experience. The rooms are not new but everything was clean and comfortable including great beds. The breakfast we had was continental but was substantial. The location being so close to the beach was fabulous and although we didn't have a beach view, we did check the beach view rooms out and they were exceptional. The views are just wonderful. The accommodation is so close to everything and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Had a room with a balcony overlooking Coogee beach. Beach is awesome for body surfing and deserted in September-too cold for locals-fine for me.
! Room was ok-nothing special and a bit over priced but was a really nice view of the beach with no road to look at. I'd stay here again if the pound ever gets stronger.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Was in Sydney for my brothers wedding and stayed at this hotel, thankfully for just the one night as we experienced incredibly bad and upsetting customer service from the woman on the check in desk. She was sarcastic and rude for no apparent reason, and left us feeling extremely uncomfortable about leaving our room as you have to walk past the front desk every time you exit the building. This was all because I turned up to check in at 2pm, and because the room wasn't yet ready was snapped at with that this meant check in was 'FROM 2pm - NOT ACTUALLY AT 2pm'. I was then told to leave the hotel and come back later with no indication of when this should actually be! We turned back to see her making faces and rolling her eyes!! My cousin and his partner with with us at the time and we all felt incredibly embarrassed and humiliated, and as though we were stupid tourists.

I gave this feedback in writing when I checked out and asked for a manager to contact me to discuss in more detail, but I've heard nothing back at all. What a joke - and for over £200 a night. It really did leave a bad taste for the next week of our holiday.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesandsdolphin, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, May 23, 2010
This review was first responded to via email March 8, as soon as I became aware of it. Subsequently I called the guest and discussed all aspects of their comments and extended our most sincere apologies.

The need for even temper, smiles under pressure and general welcoming attitude whatever the circumstances has been re-enforced to each member of our Front Desk team.

Our guests’ thoughts and feedback help us to maintain the high standards of service and accommodation facilities that we pride ourselves on.

I apologise that your experience did not meet your expectations this time and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

We stayed here for one week with a 4 month old baby. A great location right on the beach with a lovely walk along the coast to Bondi beach. Very handy next to cafes, laundry, bus stop etc. A 30 minute bus ride to the city to Darling harbour and to circular quay. Staff were very helpful emailing to answer my questions within minutes of my booking (directly through the hotel website) they were helpful with our baby, providing a baby cot etc. Rooms were kept clean and facilities appropriate. My only complaint was the bin lorries behind the hotel making a loud racket every morning at 6.30 am (but we didn't have any problem with noise from the bar which other reviewers have commented on!) We would certainly consider staying here again - mostly due to the great location and friendly staff. We didn't have a car but they let our friends park in the car park when they visited.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We recently returned to QLD after a lovely holiday in Sydney. We booked into Coogee Sands and were pleasantly surprised when we saw how close it was to the famous Coogee Beach. Our spacious room offered impressive views to the beach and the ocean. Our room was immaculate when we arrived and serviced everyday. The staff that run Coogee Sands were very helpful, professional and informative about the local area. We could walk to the shops, cafes and restaurants and found this very relaxing. We look forward to returning to this great hotel again! (The free parking was an added bonus!)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
0.2 mi away
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#2 of 7 in Coogee
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Bondi Junction
0.2 mi away
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 7 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
2.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Address: 161 - 167 Dolphin Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#1 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 20 metres from Coogee Beach, Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments is a 4 star property with a selection of Studio rooms, all with kitchenettes (microwave, sink, crockery, cutlery) and apartment style accommodation. The Hotel offers complimentary undercover parking (subject to availability), wireless internet, 24 hour Reception and a Rooftop Sundeck and BBQ overlooking the ocean for guests to enjoy. Enjoy the vibrant local cafe culture of one of Sydney's most picturesque beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coogee Sands Hotel And Apartments
Coogee Sands Hotel Apartments
Coogee Sands Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.