We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Coogee Sands for a fantastic holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 - 167 Dolphin Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland
1 review
“Thanks Coogee Sands for a fantastic holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We recently returned to QLD after a lovely holiday in Sydney. We booked into Coogee Sands and were pleasantly surprised when we saw how close it was to the famous Coogee Beach. Our spacious room offered impressive views to the beach and the ocean. Our room was immaculate when we arrived and serviced everyday. The staff that run Coogee Sands were very helpful, professional and informative about the local area. We could walk to the shops, cafes and restaurants and found this very relaxing. We look forward to returning to this great hotel again! (The free parking was an added bonus!)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    142
    52
    7
    10
See reviews for
93
138
16
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

Overall we had a nice week in Coogee, but the Coogee Sands Hotel was a disappointment. As others have noted, the location is excellent, and the staff are very nice. But the rooms are old and poorly maintained, the bedding and mattresses were very old and uncomfortable, and the entire place was a little crummy.
I think there would be a huge improvement if they would just invest in new mattresses and sheets, although the rooms could do with a full renovation. The bathrooms were moldy and the shower door fell off while I was in mid-shower 3 times. The cleaning staff (which I think consisted of one very overworked woman) was in-and-out - we had very few towels to begin with, and some days they would disappear entirely.
The staff were nice and helpful, but unfortunately that didn't make up for the condition of the building. The lift was also incredibly slow.
We tried to stay in the Dive Hotel, although it was full the week we visited. We walked by it a few times while we were there, looking longingly at the building.
Coogee was a great suburb with a beautiful beach, and if you don't have other options, the Coogee Sands was ok for the price, but I was definitely itching to get back to my bed and shower at the end of the week.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

The one bedroom apartment with kitchenette that we stayed in was small, very basic and dated. The main issue was the poor sound insulation with continuous noise of the lift and of other hotel guests. The location of the Coogee Sands is great, front desk was very friendly and helpful and the accommodation was kept very clean and tidy.
We stayed in Coogee Sands for a week in middle January. It is the holiday season, so it was difficult to find accommodation. Two months in advance I tried to book a one-bedroom apartment with full kitchen and balcony overlooking the sea. Unfortunately these were already fully booked, so we ended up with a one-bedroom apartment with kitchenette and “no view”.
The apartment turned out to be small, very dated and very basic indeed. The one-bedroom apartments like ours are apparently all situated in the central part of the building with view over the courtyard. No balcony and unfortunately next to the exhaust of the kitchen of the next door restaurant, so opening the window resulted in the room being filled with the smell of all kind of fried produce. But what was most annoying was the lift being situated adjacent to the appartment, resulting in a penetrating noise, continuing through most of the day and night. Any sound insulation is absent so lots of noise from other hotel guests and from the next-door nightclub.
The kitchenette was very basic (just sink, fridge, microwave). Furniture was basic and dated, the bed old and very soft.
On the positive side: the Coogee Sands is situated next to the beach in an ideal location. If you have one of the rooms with a view it is indeed fantastic. The majority of the rooms are single rooms with kitchenette, which are in general nice (sneaked in to have a look). If you are not bothered about the view these are good. The rooms with the view are very nice, but I guess all will suffer from lack of sound insulation.
The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly indeed. And the accommodation was kept very clean and tidy. The roof terrace, accessible to all hotel guests, is very nice and with great views. There is a modern bbq that can be used by hotel guests.
Looking back, our apartment was probably the worst of the accommodation offered by the Coogee Sands. Although quite unhappy this time we might return, but only to one of the better apartments.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

I booked Coogee Sands Apartments on the strength of its website, checked the reviews on Trip Advisor which cautioned regarding noise, rang the apartment 24hr reception no less than twice to enquire about the position of the room allocated etc but I had the wool pulled completely over my eyes. As it was the New Year period Coogee Sands insisted on minimum 3 night stay and funds upfront. Cost was almost £600. I booked a deluxe room with a balcony - well let me tell you more .... on checking in we were greeted by the receptionist who sheepishly told us about an accident that had happened in the building the previous night. She explained that there was some blood at the top of the stairs but it would be sorted out soon. She was pleasant enough. We walked up to our allocated room where outside there was a massive pool of blood on the carpet and blood splattered up the walls (absolutely no exaggeration here), not sure how any accident could happen in this particular spot! We were later told by another guest that there had been a fight - am I building the picture for you? We entered the deluxe room which was nothing like deluxe! It had a small worktop area and sink and crockery and opposite the bathroom. Both of these areas in a clean state. The remainder of the room was like going back to the 1970's, so very dated and tired looking. Smelly bedspread, saggy bed, hoovered area in the middle but it looked as if nothing else had been moved in months. The so called balcony was the width of a conference chair side on, again dirty. Patio door had a faulty lock and the windows hadnt seen any cleaner in ages. WE considered what to do next and decided we had made a dreadful mistake and neither of us wanted to stay. We checked out at reception, explained the reasons for our departure. The receptionist promised to have the manager ring me the next day - 22 days later, I am still waiting for that phone call. But of course they had my money up front and are obviously not concerned about my comments or indeed a good level of customer service. Would I recommend these apartments to others? - Definitely not!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesandsdolphin, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, February 8, 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your email and your comments on Trip Advisor.

I would like first of all to offer you and your husband my most sincere apologies for our failure to deliver the quality and comfort of room you were entitled to expect from our hotel.

The issue of cleanliness of your room is inexcusable and this matter has been taken up with the housekeeper and the housekeeping team. New procedures are being implemented.

Without seeking to find an excuse I would like to explain the reason for the blood stained carpet in the corridor to your room.
One of our guests, returning from New Year’s Eve celebrations in the early hours of the 1st, punched and shattered one of the corridor windows on the 5th floor. By doing so he opened a large wound in his forearm which subsequently required an ambulance, emergency treatment and about 40 stiches. There was no fight. Friends of his were staying in the room across from the room allocated to you. He rushed to their room to seek assistance. Being a public holiday we were unable to find a professional carpet cleaner on the day.

I do concur with you on a number of points mentioned in your email. We live in an internet world, it is a powerful means of communication and communication is paramount. Negative feedback or complaints help businesses improve their processes.

As a matter of course I deal with issues as they happen. The information I received was that you were travelling and were getting back in contact with us. I should have been proactive and contacted you immediately and for that I am very sorry.

I would like however to correct one point in your review and your email. We believe in delivering what we promise and in making amends when we are wrong.

To this end we have now refunded the full amount of your payment to your credit card.

Once again, I would like to apologise for your experience with us and thank you for the time you took in providing us with your remarks.

With best regards,

Jean-Claude Niederer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

On the advice gleaned from previous reviews, we asked for a quiet room, and ended up with room 602 on the top floor towards the back of the block. This had a side view of the ocean, over the top of the bar next door. The bar was quiet the two nights we were there, but it was mid-week and wet. It must get very noisy at weekends, especially in the summer. The room was good, with twin beds, a sofa bed/couch (although the cover was worn in places and not entirely clean), a small kitchenette area, and a decent bathroom. The building is located right on the edge of the beach, and close by you can pick up the coastal walk to Bondi, which we did (it was fabulous). We don't know the rate as someone else paid. We were also able to charge back food from some of the local eateries to the account at the hotel. Don't go for the in-house breakfast. It's expensive and disappointing, given what you pay. On our second morning, we had a great cooked breakfast at the Coogee Bite round the corner, for the same price as a continental breakfast (one croissant and two pieces of limp toast between two) at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

The staff were really nice and extremely helpful. Our plane got in early and the staff were great to go out of their way and get us our room early. The hotel is bang smack on Coogee beach and the staff knew all the local spots to eat and drink, so make sure you ask them. We stayed in a courtyard room and it was a perfect size for what we needed, the kitchenette was really handy for making a cuppa or a quick bite to eat. We took advantage of the roof top sun deck and had a BBQ up there with some other friends, it has fantastic views, especially at sunset. The free parking was a bonus and we only regret not staying longer. We will definately return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
290 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Booked through wotif.com and got their most basic room for AU$115.

It was perfectly adequate and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The bed was just as soft as my wife likes it ... and the pillows were medium firm just the way I like them.

The room had a small kitchenette, sink, fridge, microwave oven, jug, plates, cups etc, and was suitable for making tea/coffee, a snack or a sandwich, etc. Note: No toaster due to smoke detectors.

The rooms are not the most soundproof I have stayed in and you can occasionally hear noises from adjoining rooms ... but at the price we paid that was acceptable.

They are as they claim "just 20 metres from the sand and surf" - and you can reach the beach without crossing a road.

If you're staying for more than a night or two check out their rooftop terrace - outdoor tables and chairs, a bbq to cook your own and a fantastic view over Coogee Beach.

A great place to base yourself for a Sydney holiday, or a weekend "getaway".

Likes - Free parking and free newspaper.

Dislikes - Watch out for the high pressure bathroom cold water tap - sprayed all over the bathroom (and self) if turned on too quickly (I did leave them a note advising that an aerator in the outlet would fix the problem)

Overall - A good choice at a bargain rate.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
0.2 mi away
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#2 of 7 in Coogee
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Bondi Junction
0.2 mi away
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 7 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
2.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Address: 161 - 167 Dolphin Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#1 Business Hotel in Coogee
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 20 metres from Coogee Beach, Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments is a 4 star property with a selection of Studio rooms, all with kitchenettes (microwave, sink, crockery, cutlery) and apartment style accommodation. The Hotel offers complimentary undercover parking (subject to availability), wireless internet, 24 hour Reception and a Rooftop Sundeck and BBQ overlooking the ocean for guests to enjoy. Enjoy the vibrant local cafe culture of one of Sydney's most picturesque beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coogee Sands Hotel And Apartments
Coogee Sands Hotel Apartments
Coogee Sands Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.