We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments to your Saves list
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   161 - 167 Dolphin Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We only stayed one night but we loved it and wish we had spent longer!

We stayed in room 317, an ocean view room and it was perfect, ample room, a super comfy bed, generous size lounge, large shower and a balcony providing a view that is simply stunning looking out over Coogee beach, across the park and up the hillside that is bursting with apartments.

We arrived at 12pm but check in is not until 2pm, we had just collected a brand new car that didn't have plates so we didn't want to drive around or leave it on the street, so we checked with reception and they advised our room was ready and there were carparks available and let us in early, this was so appreciated.

The staff are all so bubbly and friendly and you get the sense that nothing is too much trouble, they are happy to help and happy to welcome you.

Coogee is a beautiful place and this would have to be the best location, a stones throw from the beach and an easy stroll to the main shopping strip - but the pub next door serves a wonderful pork ragu!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get an ocean view room, it really is worth it, the view is priceless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear MelbourneKimberley,

Thank you for your recent feedback. The views from our Ocean View Rooms are quite spectacular at any time of the year. . I was pleased to note that you were impressed with our check-in service, hotel position and the general ambience of the hotel on your recent stay with us.

I will pass on your comments to our staff as they are sure to appreciate your wonderful feedback!

I hope to welcome you and back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments in the near future.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    139
    52
    7
    10
See reviews for
93
136
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Lovely property close to the beach and shops. Restaurants of choice, absolutely loved our stay.
Staff well presented and polite. Enjoyed the apartment facilities. Undercover car-park a bonus.
Brilliant base to explore Coogee and walk to Bondi an iconic and healthy option.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Sybilla96,

Thank you for your feedback. We agree Coogee is a fantastic location right on the beach and just a short bus trip into the city centre. Our staff especially love hearing about a guests positive reviews so we will be sure to pass yours on to them!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

First lets start with Justine who was really helpful and welcoming- she is lovely! The hotel room had a great view and the location was literally on the water- throw in parking and this is a great place. Only downside is single beds rather than king single- I was with my mum so needed singles! But you cant beat clean and quiet and as the owner of Canberra's 4.5 star self rated Studio Q Apartments that is what matters most to me, Narelle

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear StudioQ,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We certainly agree that we have a lot to offer our guests and think that Coogee itself is a fantastic location. We will pass on your comments to our staff, including Justine, as they are sure to appreciate your wonderful feedback!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments.

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is the best hotel in the Coogee area, I have stayed in most of the other hotels. Rooms are very clean, spacious and well laid out. The kitchenette with microwave, crockery and cutlery is a great addition to a lovely room.Staff are very friendly and always ready to help make your stay comfortable. A fantastic location with the beach just a few steps away. Coogee Bay road is only a few minute walk away with a good selection of dining options. Loved the cafe right opposite the beach for breakfast. Coogee Sands is the best value for money, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms with balcony are great, very quiet and wonderful ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coogeesands, General Manager at Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Kash B,

Thank you for your feedback. We agree Coogee is a fantastic location right on the beach and just a short bus trip into the city centre. Our staff especially love hearing about a guests positive reviews so we will be sure to pass yours on to them!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to The Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Warm regards,

Tracy Whitelaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a top floor room with great views. Room wasn't ready at early arrival. However they rang without prompting when it was ready. Food had already been unpacked for me. A nice touch. They will not let you use toaster in the room. Very annoying.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is where I usually stay when in Coogee. Comfortable rooms and very well located. It's also quieter that staying at the Coogee Bay hotel. Good staff and an excellent location right next to the beach.

Room Tip: Something that faces the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I organised a 3 day work conference at this hotel - and whilst the conference room lacks natural light - the hotel provided fantastic alternatives for break outs with the roof top and surrounding locations as a great resource.

The lunches we organied through the hotel were yummy and the check in ond check out process of our attendees were seemless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
0.2 mi away
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#2 of 7 in Coogee
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Bondi Junction
0.2 mi away
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 7 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
2.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments

Address: 161 - 167 Dolphin Street, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#1 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just 20 metres from Coogee Beach, Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments is a 4 star property with a selection of Studio rooms, all with kitchenettes (microwave, sink, crockery, cutlery) and apartment style accommodation. The Hotel offers complimentary undercover parking (subject to availability), wireless internet, 24 hour Reception and a Rooftop Sundeck and BBQ overlooking the ocean for guests to enjoy. Enjoy the vibrant local cafe culture of one of Sydney's most picturesque beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coogee Sands Hotel And Apartments
Coogee Sands Hotel Apartments
Coogee Sands Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.